[NAS] Synology NAS owner club!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 1, 2003
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
Hey guys, I just gotten a ds213j with a 3TB WD red but I am
experiencing some issues now...

1) Cannot access the NAS from the Internet (outside of home network) - My router is Asus RT- AC66U and I have done port forwarding for the router, with ports such as 5000, 5005 and 5006 opened. However, I still cannot connect to the NAS with the IP address. Upon using the open port check tool, it says connection timeout.

2) After I have done port forwarding yesterday, today the synology assistant and replicator is unable to detect the ds213j. However, I am able to access it using the IP address. Why is this so!

Please kindly advise!
 

ducky_88

Master Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2006
Messages
4,968
Reaction score
0
Hey guys, I just gotten a ds213j with a 3TB WD red but I am
experiencing some issues now...

1) Cannot access the NAS from the Internet (outside of home network) - My router is Asus RT- AC66U and I have done port forwarding for the router, with ports such as 5000, 5005 and 5006 opened. However, I still cannot connect to the NAS with the IP address. Upon using the open port check tool, it says connection timeout.

2) After I have done port forwarding yesterday, today the synology assistant and replicator is unable to detect the ds213j. However, I am able to access it using the IP address. Why is this so!

Please kindly advise!

1. If your ISP is starhub, You need to port forward to some other numbers not used in NAS configuration. I'm using port 82, and to remote access you need to create a DDNS account follow by setting up the configuration in DSM.

2. This I'm not sure as I don't use synology assistant & replicator. I usually key in my IP:5000

Hope this helps.
 

Egoistee

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2011
Messages
1,968
Reaction score
0
1. no
2. depends on how you define safe.
3. yes, if you configured it as it is.
My definition of safe in this case would be "No one else can access my NAS from outside... and have access to my files"

My NAS is now holding a lot of important contents.. like my CC, documents etc..
 

Gribber

Banned
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
11,563
Reaction score
0
My definition of safe in this case would be "No one else can access my NAS from outside... and have access to my files"

My NAS is now holding a lot of important contents.. like my CC, documents etc..

Once you go online, nothing is safe.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2003
Messages
262
Reaction score
0
1. If your ISP is starhub, You need to port forward to some other numbers not used in NAS configuration. I'm using port 82, and to remote access you need to create a DDNS account follow by setting up the configuration in DSM.

2. This I'm not sure as I don't use synology assistant & replicator. I usually key in my IP:5000

Hope this helps.

Hi ducky thanks for the help!

1) Hmm my ISP is MR...I have set up the DDNS account but if I cannot access it via the IP address then even if I set up I also do not have remote access, right?

2) I see, alright hope others can help
 

Gribber

Banned
Joined
Apr 6, 2012
Messages
11,563
Reaction score
0
Hi ducky thanks for the help!

1) Hmm my ISP is MR...I have set up the DDNS account but if I cannot access it via the IP address then even if I set up I also do not have remote access, right?

2) I see, alright hope others can help

1. That is correct.

2. Check your router settings
 

zer0ne

Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2000
Messages
7,337
Reaction score
1
Hi ducky thanks for the help!

1) Hmm my ISP is MR...I have set up the DDNS account but if I cannot access it via the IP address then even if I set up I also do not have remote access, right?

2) I see, alright hope others can help

Did you apply for MR static IP? Else no way your DDNS going to work.
 

ducky_88

Master Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2006
Messages
4,968
Reaction score
0
Any people know how I can create a folder such that it can be synchronize with cloud station folder?

F0Hj4jx.jpg

vBSMrP4.jpg


As u can see folders with the cloud on it. Trying to create one.
 
Last edited:

akiden

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2004
Messages
211
Reaction score
0
Using Download Station mobile on iphone within LAN, the BT search function doesn't throw up any search results at all. But BT search works well on Download Station in Mac.

Is this the same experience for all?
 

xJeris

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
17,126
Reaction score
4
Hi ducky thanks for the help!

1) Hmm my ISP is MR...I have set up the DDNS account but if I cannot access it via the IP address then even if I set up I also do not have remote access, right?

2) I see, alright hope others can help

you got do port forwarding bo?
 

tazzycorner

High Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2004
Messages
32,245
Reaction score
73
Good News for iphone users!

New update of the DS Video app supports VLC Player.
Now can stream & play rmvb and avi thru VLC.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top