Netizens react as Indranee says Singapore has no plan to revise parental leave policy

JustForFun

Is PAP started replacing citizen from LHL era and towards super low tfr or extinction ?

ShinnAsuka

If revert back to old days, mums can stay at home be housewife. No issue. But i know col is higher, thus the need of dual income. And especially for single parents.

While i try to empathise with (dual) parents, at the same time i feel there is this self entitlement element. having kids is yours and spouse own decision so whatever comes have to be responsible to take up. If kids below upper primary maybe still reasonable. Dont pass the self entitlement to your kids.

Your colleagues dont get paid extra while parents get these additional parental leave.

alvincy

Now kid also very cham. Very young already start whole day at infant care, childcare, after school care.......... basically same 9-10hrs as their parents at work.

surfman

Govt too soft alr… must be hard now
Those married couple with 4 or 5 room bto if 5 year no kid… bto repossess by hdb and sell at sbf to those with kid.
Those dink can go move to singles 2 room flat or buy condo outside.

Medicated Oil

That's the problem, they ask the ministry to come out with ideas, then they just read off it like it's their doing. You get paid so much but other people do the work for you and you just read without understanding.

People of course shoot you la. It's just like one is not a teacher, but ask to be education minister, you think people will laugh or not.
Their tour of duty is only for a few years.
Then, it is a musical chair.
If you performed too well, you will be stuck in the same chair.
So, what do you think you will do ?
There is no drive or motivation for them to do well.
Just dun screw up and it is ok.

If you carry a portable fan, then you will still be fine if you screwed up.

yellowkit

giving too much parental leave is not realistic.. honestly will just make parents harder to hire.

buzzlightyear852

The problem is high cost of living that most Singaporean are facing that require all to work till death with high pressure from superiors /bosses/ society as well as family (including schools etc) ?

Many already break loose and eating mental medications ?

Dumb voters don't be realise what is happening ?

Last time single income can support a family until stupid feminist pushing for wife or ladies to go work and have dual incomes that push up housing prices and ownself locked down by current situation ?

Produce a baby and no one at home to take care can auto grow till 18 years old to work ?

Same for CPF started as good saying for saving and promise to release (55 years old) when one reach retirement till locked till death ?

Leaders and businesses get richer and richer while commoners work till unbreathable and many break out with mental issues just to live in small public housing and daily needs or daily meals ?
suggestion:

the incumbents can introduce a govt assisted maid scheme so if they want everyone to work until 70yo and have children at the same time, then subsidize our maid employment costs so we can hire maids to help out

otherwise how they expect us to work until 70-80yo, do housechores and raise kids at the same time? they demand us this and that, we can demand also

yellowkit

Govt too soft alr… must be hard now
Those married couple with 4 or 5 room bto if 5 year no kid… bto repossess by hdb and sell at sbf to those with kid.
Those dink can go move to singles 2 room flat or buy condo outside.
yes. its hard for the carrot approach to work without a stick to follow through. unfortunately pap does not have strong mandate now.

JustForFun

suggestion:

the incumbents can introduce a govt assisted maid scheme so if they want everyone to work until 70yo and have children at the same time, then subsidize our maid employment costs so we can hire maids to help out

otherwise how they expect us to work until 70-80yo, do housechores and raise kids at the same time? they demand us this and that, we can demand also

It's definitely will not work to have 1 or more babies while both couple work.

It is either extinction falling tfr or 1 person stay home to look after babies till 18 years old.

Dumb feminist striving for career ended no family or no children family or single. All towards money-minded and work like economic slaves with no emotion or kinship and eventual death in this sad country ?

Country or nation wise it's towards extinction.

Maid or stranger I should called will definitely not work. No good parents will "dump" own children to strangers or care centre after birth and work with mind in peace at all (with so many cases of "accidental injury or even death" ?

Direction from leaders and rich is import human and replace citizen ???

neutralph

no pay leave. parents need to decide which is more important.

parent leave alot already. any more might as well fire the person and hire someone else.

people are asking for too much. worse is most abuse such leave.

many consume such leave as entitlement. regardless kid sick or not..

then add in MCs and leave .. half a year no need to work..then expect to be promoted and ranked exceed expectations.

humans are amazing , demanding.

in the past , many of us came out fine. this is just entitlement, woke , demanding ridiculous stuff for pure selfish reasons. and you expect a company to pay your salary ? the scheme should be half pay then no pay past xx weeks.. the choice is up to parents. which is more important in their lives.

Ya. Also all these benefits are just to get your votes. Don't think our garment really bother with this. They already had an answer to the low tfr: Import!.

Erode the local culture and identity? Not a problem because the locals are already sterile. If force had to be used, so be it.

luffix7

Even if she's married and has a kid, she will never understand the difficulties of a peasant parent what, she wants to take a day off Vs chao peasant want to take a day off, you think same meh?
ya she can hire 10maids to take care of the kid instead of chao peasant like us

miko66

That's the problems with our current leaders ..

Kns asking LW and indranee to talk about low fertility rates

They can't even lead by example

muji4832

Exactly. The high and mighty mini-stars are within a very much closed & privileged group, which almost guarantees their everlasting tenure once they ever gets in.

No blunders are too big. My signature summarized it all.

Their tour of duty is only for a few years.
Then, it is a musical chair.
If you performed too well, you will be stuck in the same chair.
So, what do you think you will do ?
There is no drive or motivation for them to do well.
Just dun screw up and it is ok.

If you carry a portable fan, then you will still be fine if you screwed up.

buzzlightyear852

It's definitely will not work to have 1 or more babies while both couple work.

It is either extinction falling tfr or 1 person stay home to look after babies till 18 years old.

Dumb feminist striving for career ended no family or no children family or single. All towards money-minded and work like economic slaves with no emotion or kinship and eventual death in this sad country ?

Country or nation wise it's towards extinction.

Maid or stranger I should called will definitely not work. No good parents will "dump" own children to strangers or care centre after birth and work with mind in peace at all (with so many cases of "accidental injury or even death" ?

Direction from leaders and rich is import human and replace citizen ???
what i suggested is of course not the best scenarios for parents.
however its impossible to raise children without both parents working in the current economy and still lead quality life. the best course would be to hire a helper to alleviate abit of the burden and then give more parental leaves. if the incumbents is asking for the impossible, then we can ask for the skies too. if they cant give us what we want, we will not support their ridiculous policies too, they can f off

JustForFun

what i suggested is of course not the best scenarios for parents.
however its impossible to raise children without both parents working in the current economy and still lead quality life. the best course would be to hire a helper to alleviate abit of the burden and then give more parental leaves. if the incumbents is asking for the impossible, then we can ask for the skies too. if they cant give us what we want, we will not support their ridiculous policies too, they can f off

Quite clear it's to let citizen extinct ? Your brain cannot see all factors ?

Even those with 1 children will also towards extinct when they grow up ?

PAP simply only care about their power and fixing as utmost importance ? Import is to hold power ? Import unless rich else will towards extinction too ?

Tfr is not really most important as import is the solution for power ?

buzzlightyear852

Quite clear it's to let citizen extinct ? Your brain cannot see all factors ?

Even those with 1 children will also towards extinct when they grow up ?

PAP simply only care about their power and fixing as utmost importance ? Import is to hold power ? Import unless rich else will towards extinction too ?

Tfr is not really most important as import is the solution for power ?
That’s y need to vote them out

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.