News| Future support system for the elderly: "Fictive kinship" and external help

snapp

As more couples are saying no to more than one child, Singapore will have to rethink support system for elderly​

As family units become smaller, Singapore will have to prepare for a future that may rely more on what experts call "fictive kinship" and external help, instead of one's own offspring for caregiving needs.

... ...
... ...
... ...

Assoc Prof Ko pointed to the reliance on fictive kin – kinship that goes beyond biological family. She noted that there are already many helpful Singaporeans who help to provide some form of caregiving to their elderly neighbours who live alone.

In the future, as family units shrink further, there may be more of such cases of seniors relying on close friends and neighbours for their caregiving needs, she said.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/today/big-read/only-children-shrinking-family-sizes-5242916

BlackWing1977

Assoc Prof Ko pointed to the reliance on fictive kin – kinship that goes beyond biological family. She noted that there are already many helpful Singaporeans who help to provide some form of caregiving to their elderly neighbours who live alone.

In the future, as family units shrink further, there may be more of such cases of seniors relying on close friends and neighbours for their caregiving needs, she said.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/today/big-read/only-children-shrinking-family-sizes-5242916
Stop pushing responsibilities away lar... they refused to build more nursing homes for these old people and push for maid.. then now these old people some maybe too poor to afford a maid.. try to push for neighbors and friends?

Zinna

Stop pushing responsibilities away lar... they refused to build more nursing homes for these old people and push for maid.. then now these old people some maybe too poor to afford a maid.. try to push for neighbors and friends?
Gst 9% liao, if need spend more money on these elderly, need raise gst by how much more?

Full_Cream_Milk

That’s my first thoughts too.

Neighbour noise issue they also suggest other neighbours to step in resolve.

Basically just want to wash their hands clean :s22:

BlackWing1977

That’s my first thoughts too.

Neighbour noise issue they also suggest other neighbours to step in resolve.

Basically just want to wash their hands clean :s22:
I tell you lar.. these people can think of such thing is never be caregiver before one.. it is not simple, it is extremely tiring both physically and mentally. That is why can open mouth say until like sibei simple to ask friends and neighbor to take care... :sick:

Itsthatguy

In before, you want 50% income tax?

Full_Cream_Milk

I tell you lar.. these people can think of such thing is never be caregiver before one.. it is not simple, it is extremely tiring both physically and mentally. That is why can open mouth say until like sibei simple to ask friends and neighbor to take care... :sick:
Exactly.

For caregiving there’s so much involved.

What if the kind neighbour volunteer to help out then accidentally clumsily fracture the poor elderly?

Now the responsibility rest solidly on that “kind” neighbour.

Even professional nurses get tired and shag from rendering their duties.

Much less to mention untrained neighbours who could be lao funkers lao aunties.

Disclaimer: I didn’t read the full content so I don’t know if the initiative is really about caregiving at home, and to what extent this “caregiving” entails.

Medicated Oil

They dun have any trouble in collecting more money.
When it comes to spend MORE MONEY on the residents or reducing the COE collection, it is VERY DIFFICULT.
This is the kind of greasy admin that we have now.

They are just arrowing the "experts" to be their baddie now for all the wicked ideas.
As a caregiver myself, I already told the guys here to be the other kids who just give money and give orders.
Never be a caregiver.
(Those that are in my shoes should know cos they are suffering from the same predicament.
Dun come at me about the filial nonsense cos I am already doing it.
I am not a saint and dun want to be one.)
Now, they want the friends and neighbors to do it ?
Please lah.

Tackle the aging population face on.
Dun just enjoy all the benefits yourself and make the residents suffering the shorter end all the time.
We can see what are your intentions.

Medicated Oil

Gst 9% liao, if need spend more money on these elderly, need raise gst by how much more?
Dun forget that they are also amassing some more earnings from all the other levies and free increase.
So, where did all the money went to ?
Dun tell me that they donated all of them into vouchers.

Visor9999

Very risky. Usually people will just help them for inheritance these days flats worth 1 million.

Jian19

Pap motto is

"U die your problem"

MynameisS

Oso always the fault of others - not the rulers who see elderly as an expense item in their list of priorities.

Medicated Oil

gahmen need to import more talented jhk, pinoys and cecas to love and care for our elderly!!!!
Nope.
Export the elders to JB nursing home.
They are no value to the local economy and take up too much HDB units.
Think from their POV.

Medicated Oil

useful if u abuse yr kids when they were young and nx time they dont wanna hiew u :(
Does not make any difference.
Even if you dun abuse your kids, they will have no time for you when you are old and poor.
The reality of life.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.