[News] Girl died after being flung off fixed-gear bike at multi-storey car park

mocax

some years back oso got someone ride bicycle in multistory carpark then fly down... :(

stewpig

What is a fixed gear bike? Whats the diff it and a normal
Bike like those ofo bikes?

banbleh

Always see secondary school kids riding these bikes without brakes, thin wheels.. Riding fast and without the ability to brake. It's a hazard for both pedestrians and riders.

stewpig

Fixie bikes no brakes one. Then the pedals will keep turning even when you stop pedalling. If take foot off pedals cannot catch back then jialat already.

Not very safe.

But why would anyone ride something with a brake

erwinrommel

What is a fixed gear bike? Whats the diff it and a normal
Bike like those ofo bikes?

Fixed gear bicycle is known as fixie.

Single gear with no brake. And cannot free wheel. Must keep cycling to go forward or back peddle to stop. E.g even if going down slope, one must keep cycling and cannot coast like normal bicycle.

Normally those young teenagers will cycle on this and put bling bling lights and Liz music and cycle without helmet.

As someone who has been cycling for 8 years, i will never cycle near a fixie.

android17

Time to ban fixies!

Always see those si ginna no monr buy road bikes so they buy fixies instead cos it looks similar to road bikes and cost way cheaper
Those kids should just get a mtb and stop acting like a road bikers

jumping_pea

Fixed gear bicycle is known as fixie.

Single gear with no brake. And cannot free wheel. Must keep cycling to go forward or back peddle to stop. E.g even if going down slope, one must keep cycling and cannot coast like normal bicycle.

Normally those young teenagers will cycle on this and put bling bling lights and Liz music and cycle without helmet.

As someone who has been cycling for 8 years, i will never cycle near a fixie.

how come so weird one. usually is invent or improve to enhance safety but bicycle is other way round. invent to increase the danger.

tidalstorm

How to go down slope. Move a bit, leg tarik a bit to stop?

Sounds difficult. Some more she learnt bicycle 1 year ago...

android17

how come so weird one. usually is invent or improve to enhance safety but bicycle is other way round. invent to increase the danger.

Fixes are cheap and light. They don't have gears, deraileurs, brakes etc so they are extremely light.

A fixie that weights 5kg cost only around 1k. In comparison, a road bike that weights 5kg will cost more than 10k.

That's why fixies are popular with kids. They're fast and light and cost a fraction of the price of road bikes

orpisia

Is this the 2nd time or what?

There was an earlier accident which happened at this mscp earlier this year

VII

This almost happened to me when I was in pri 2.
Was learning how to go down the stairs with my bmx on the 8.5 storey. Rammed into the parapet as the bike went too fast and the distance between the stairs and parapet maybe around 3m nia. Half my body went over but luckily I instinctively used "xiang long 18 palms" and somehow managed to prevent myself from superman.

Until now typing this still sweaty palms knn. Will never forget the view when I was about to go over.

Also those low parapet lower than belly button I feel a little uneasy. Maciam like someone will knock into me and I tip over.

Posted from PCWX using GAGT

erwinrommel

Fixie is actually only used in velodrome. Those 4 people per team. They don't need brakes because there is no obstacle to brake. They just peddle for a certain time and then slowly come to stop.

I dunno who the heck start this trend of cycling fixie on roads. I have never really understand how fixie bikes brake while going down slope because the riders have to back peddle very very hard to stop the bicycle from going down slope.

SC8787

For fixed gear bike or fixie, the pedals keep spinning as your back wheel moves, they dont stop, unlike the normal bikes where you can rest your feet on the pedals and the pedals dont move, only the wheels move.

Even for experienced cyclists, the feeling and technique of riding a fixie is different. If you are going downslope, because the pedals are always spinning, and if your legs are not strong enough to control the spinning of the pedals, chances are you will panic. If you have at least a front brake, you can use the front brake, but Im guessing in this case they didn't install the front brakes.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.