[OFFICIAL] Fish keeping lover lounge - Part 2

TehSi99

i am planning to send up a fish tank for 9 goldfishes.
i have a space that is 2 metre wide, shall i get a 5ft or 6ft tank? is it better to have more space allowance?
shall i go for canister filter or sump?

I dont know where you stay. Just be sure the tank is able to go into the house.

Have seen a photo before. The tank goes into the house through the window because it is too big to enter by the door. It was a HDB unit along the corridor.

skytan13

Is 5-6 ft tanks a weight bearing problem for HDB floors?
legally yes..hdb will have issues

but weight wise...erm..i have seen so many huge tanks in HDBs before.

~~~~~~~
not obstructing movement is one of the things
next will be also planning how u do the maintenance i.e water change and all those , so u wont mess the house or flood house.

siakpeng82

thank for the reply
the tank will be placed at the balcony. still waiting for my condo to be ready.
i will go for a 4ft tank.
what is the recommended dimension? do goldfish prefer tall or wide tank?
i used AqAdvisor, and a 4ft x 2.5ft x 2.5ft can stock 9 goldfishes nicely.

perrinrahl

legally yes..hdb will have issues

but weight wise...erm..i have seen so many huge tanks in HDBs before.

~~~~~~~
not obstructing movement is one of the things
next will be also planning how u do the maintenance i.e water change and all those , so u wont mess the house or flood house.

IIRC in the old arofanatics forum there was a story about the tank falling down to the floor below.:eek:

siakpeng82

where to source for 4ft x 2.5ft x 2.5ft tank?

will i go overboard with 2 rack?
one tank for goldies at one rack
2 smaller tanks on another rack.
i got a 2ft tank, with neon rainbow fishes.

might be too heavy?

skytan13

4 x 2.5x 2.5 is very deep and tall.

Tank cleaning might have it own challenges...

Custom bah this sizing not common.

siakpeng82

4 x 2.5x 2.5 is very deep and tall.

Tank cleaning might have it own challenges...

Custom bah this sizing not common.
seem like 422 is the more common size.
i also don't want to burn my wallet for customization.

L77 ok ma?

DragonFire

SWSMfn5_d.webp

Finished gluing the check valves and unions for my 100m3/h bakki shower

FaO1qVf_d.webp

Finished two cans of PVC glue. Mostly 4” ASTM schedule 80 fittings. The riser pipes are 6” hence the 4-6 adapter coupling.

I trialed the use of Fernco rubber couplings for a few weeks, but the pressure from lifting water 2.5m was too much and caused severe distortion. Gluing everything was a last resort as there was no room for error with very expensive fittings. The unions, check valve and 4-6 adapter cost almost $250 for each set.

kazuki666

Just curious. Is medeka Japanese rice fish that uncommon in LFS? My area (Tiong Bahru / Redhill) has around 4 to 5 LFS, but i dont see them.
Would keeping them is similar as guppy?

skytan13

Just curious. Is medeka Japanese rice fish that uncommon in LFS? My area (Tiong Bahru / Redhill) has around 4 to 5 LFS, but i dont see them.
Would keeping them is similar as guppy?
seasonal iirc. You can ask Aquatic Avenue bah..
Sometimes not common usual LFS wont order and put up for sale.

skytan13

i think i once had a tank custom from CRA.
Sometimes they also did custom for LFS in general. Just ask for quote bah now selection is so much much more vs last time.

my 5,2,2 is YOLO taobao one.

Got any people want to adopt my GXB 18" ? :sick::sick:

skytan13

Finished gluing the check valves and unions for my 100m3/h bakki shower

Finished two cans of PVC glue. Mostly 4” ASTM schedule 80 fittings. The riser pipes are 6” hence the 4-6 adapter coupling.

I trialed the use of Fernco rubber couplings for a few weeks, but the pressure from lifting water 2.5m was too much and caused severe distortion. Gluing everything was a last resort as there was no room for error with very expensive fittings. The unions, check valve and 4-6 adapter cost almost $250 for each set.
Ur fitting so big size once sure jin X, my current tank fittings/valve i bought from taobao that time..also not cheap vs MIC brand cos i choose Taiwan SanLi brand their quality is good.

kazuki666

seasonal iirc. You can ask Aquatic Avenue bah..
Sometimes not common usual LFS wont order and put up for sale.
Thats the shop opposite Redhill MRT, right? I have been wanting to pay it a visit after weekend breakfast, but it opens late so I haven't got a chance...
In this area, I think this shop looks the most atas liao.

skytan13

Thats the shop opposite Redhill MRT, right? I have been wanting to pay it a visit after weekend breakfast, but it opens late so I haven't got a chance...
In this area, I think this shop looks the most atas liao.
Yeah..the open late into the night sometimes.
Morning not much hobbyist and also they will have other maintenance thingy to do in the mornings.

i mean...planted tanks already "atas" hobby liao

DragonFire

Ur fitting so big size once sure jin X, my current tank fittings/valve i bought from taobao that time..also not cheap vs MIC brand cos i choose Taiwan SanLi brand their quality is good.

1st week home. Got a bit of a foam problem. Gonna build and install a DIY fractionator.

DragonFire

I get most of my fittings from LNK Trading. They're really helpful and stock a wide range of high quality parts in ASTM and JIS sizes.

Most of my parts are ASTM since I Ebay the most expensive fittings instead of getting them first hand.

I just got parts quotation in for a massive foam fractionator I am going to try DIY. I think I can get it done for under $600. Clear 6" PVC, 2m tall high fed by a branch off my waterfall manifold.

A commercial class FF would probably cost $2-3k.

tankgunner

Mentor
thank for the reply
the tank will be placed at the balcony. still waiting for my condo to be ready.
i will go for a 4ft tank.
what is the recommended dimension? do goldfish prefer tall or wide tank?
i used AqAdvisor, and a 4ft x 2.5ft x 2.5ft can stock 9 goldfishes nicely.
What gf will you be keeping?
Do take note of the direct sunlight.
You may end up with a tank of green water.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.