[OFFICIAL] Fish keeping lover lounge

dark_aLLeY

Ocean Free's New Water Guard leh?

Been using it for the last 13 years.

As long as can remove chlorine and chloramine, it's good enough.

Don't keep worrying about the branding. If not, you might need to drink it to anti-stress instead. :s13:

Fish-keeping should be an enjoyable hobby, not stressful instead lah....

tankgunner

Mentor
The platies are in a 90 x 45 x 50 tank in my study with 120 embers and 10 corys.

I always maintain their water temperature at below 26 degrees.

Each time after weekly water change,I run the AC in my study for an hour per week.Will that help them?

its about consistency.

you need to keep the water parameters consistent all the time including temp.
no point turning on the aircon for an hour at 26C while the rest of the day is at 30C.
it will stress the fish.

AdizeroF50

its about consistency.

you need to keep the water parameters consistent all the time including temp.
no point turning on the aircon for an hour at 26C while the rest of the day is at 30C.
it will stress the fish.

Water temperature wise...It will go up just at most one degree.Ammonia is close to zero based on the Seachem Ammonia Alert on the tank wall.PH is around 7-7.2.

I do add a dose of Seachem Neutral Regulator once a month during monthly servicing of the Eheim Pro 3.

tankgunner

Mentor
For a 3 feet tank(90x45x50),how to see if it is overcrowded?

one is to test the water for nitrate.
heavy bioload will stress your filtration sys and you need to keep up with water change.
also look closely at the water. if the air bubbles don't burst within 10-15 sec or so, that means water getting bad liao.

another way is to observe your fish behavior.
are they keep getting sick?
are they fighting all the time?
is every fish getting enough share of their food?

tankgunner

Mentor
Water temperature wise...It will go up just at most one degree.Ammonia is close to zero based on the Seachem Ammonia Alert on the tank wall.PH is around 7-7.2.

I do add a dose of Seachem Neutral Regulator once a month during monthly servicing of the Eheim Pro 3.

only you can tell whether the parameters are ok or not.
as long they don't swing widely thru out the day, should be ok.

AdizeroF50

one is to test the water for nitrate.
heavy bioload will stress your filtration sys and you need to keep up with water change.
also look closely at the water. if the air bubbles don't burst within 10-15 sec or so, that means water getting bad liao.

another way is to observe your fish behavior.
are they keep getting sick?
are they fighting all the time?
is every fish getting enough share of their food?

Oh ok....if they are breeding all the time?My platies are spamming babies every week.

AdizeroF50

3 feet quite small for your amount of fish inside.

Is it the biggest size you are allowed to have?
always go for biggest as allowed.

My wife only allowed me to have 2 units of 3 feet tanks unless I get rid of both and can have one 5 feet tank.

BTO flat too small liao.

Mila Azul

I miss the old Amazon i used to buy water conditioners from there cheaper than SG

Sadly only a few item ship to SG but the shipping kills

aerosmiths

hey guys, can i ask some questions, first time fish keeper too.

1. one goldfish sudden death for no reason, was hungry for food yesterday. other goldfish and fishes all not affected and healthy. this kind of sudden death got any explanation?

2. anyone know any fish shop in johor? i trying to find channa barca

AdizeroF50

1. one goldfish sudden death for no reason, was hungry for food yesterday. other goldfish and fishes all not affected and healthy. this kind of sudden death got any explanation?

What breed is your GF?Could be internal parasite?

Mila Azul

Check the body see any dmg from there you can know what's the problem
Sudden death also could be ph/ammonia spike

You try
No 182 Jalan Pahlawan 2
Taman Ungku Tun Aminah
81300 Skudai

or

182, Jalan Pahlawan 2, Taman Tun Aminah,
Skudai, Johor, Malaysia 81300

AT0509

I got a 6 Feet Fresh water Tank.
My fishes are ...

2 Red Arowana
3 Tin Foils
5 Albino Suckerfish
3 Tin Foils
3 Fei Fong

aerosmiths

What breed is your GF?Could be internal parasite?

its mystifying me because it was good for 1 year. in fact he was always the strongest of the goldfish. its a normal small fantail goldfish.

Check the body see any dmg from there you can know what's the problem
Sudden death also could be ph/ammonia spike

You try
No 182 Jalan Pahlawan 2
Taman Ungku Tun Aminah
81300 Skudai

or

182, Jalan Pahlawan 2, Taman Tun Aminah,
Skudai, Johor, Malaysia 81300

i check the whole body just cannot notice anything suspicious. he was not bloated, not floating, just at the bottom barely breathing in morning, after a water change, 2 hrs later die.

thanks for the contact will check them out, love channa.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.