[OFFICIAL - GE2020] Sengkang GRC discussions

icebleue

I heard that that Amrin Amin is wildly popular with the malay community. That was a move the rest of us don't catch. We think jamus is enough. We need a strong malay representation as well.

The problem I see right now is whether you want a strong PAP team, with a popular Amrin, or Jamus. Not WP, just Jamus.

Amrin parachute from other GRC.
He being popular elsewhere doesnt mean hes popular in Sengkang.

r8wkus

Amrin parachute from other GRC.
He being popular elsewhere doesnt mean hes popular in Sengkang.

That's where we are not right. The malay peeps think as one, doesn't matter where he come from. They'll vote for him, not Jamus.

r8wkus

Same thing benefits WP, malay votes for Faisal Manap, if he comes anywhere, he's sure to get their votes unless there's a more popular malay MP on the other side.

focus1974

no need analyse so much...
I tell u the mentality of the sinkie voters ...

I see PAP , I vote.

Ghostleader5

The fact they have to rope in lee hsien loong to speak on behalf of the pap candidates during the online rally shows how desperate and fearful pap are. :(

Sent from The Future using GAGT

Xiaomehmeh

Just attended the FB live for PAP SK candidates earlier. They keep harping about jobs and childcare centres.

Are SK residents really in need of jobs and childcare centres?
I saw back the comments. I wonder why they reply those simple questions like job and childcare. To me I don't see a need to have so much childcare except those FT living in fernvale. Those amenities questions no one answer. So far never see a master plan for sengkang. What excitement they spoke to?

Also, anchorvale village after seeing the map nothing to be hyper. A quarter of bto used to build 2 storey + 1 greenery. At most 20 shops there. Likely its going to be a white elephant and worse than kopitiam square

pohw0008

Even so.. i would think that there are more malay in sembawang grc than sengkang grc.. the bto st sengkang is $100k more expensive than sembawang.. :o

That's where we are not right. The malay peeps think as one, doesn't matter where he come from. They'll vote for him, not Jamus.

Scrabby

I heard that that Amrin Amin is wildly popular with the malay community. That was a move the rest of us don't catch. We think jamus is enough. We need a strong malay representation as well.

The problem I see right now is whether you want a strong PAP team, with a popular Amrin, or Jamus. Not WP, just Jamus.

You are absolutely spot on on Amrin Amin!

Sibei_lowprofile

I agree with u. From the tone he's taking, he sounds threatened by wp team in sengkang...

Probably they didn't expect Jamus to win so many people over in the debate and come off looking even better than their own seasoned debater Vivian Balakrishnan. After that they probably realised that there's a chance that they could lose Sengkang so need big boss to come down and talk personally, like how he always spoke at CBD during the lunchtime rallies in past GEs :o

LLiipp

SK has the highest food price among the hdb estates in SG. Is that a result of over supply?

Sent from My Butthole using GAGT

Depends how you view over supply lah. If you have only 1 coffee shop near the LRT and all the surrounding estates view one coffee shop, there will be more customers. Hawkers no need to price themselves so high to cover the cost.

If there are 3 coffee shops around the LRT at different estates, the stalls have to factor that they can sell lesser per day and increase they price.

The current problem is that this area being a pure residential area. The peak hour for the coffee shops are only dinner time. For day time, you will see more crowd during weekends only.

So with this low demand, they can only sell higher to cover the cost. For me, I that the only way out is to moderate the rental cost to help keep the hawkers break even.

Not very sure which coffee shop you are referring to when you complained the food cost its high, but I notice there are some operated by Koufu compassvale, SKGH and kopitiam group near seletar mall which tends to be higher. If u visit the coffee shops further from LRT, they can be cheaper as well.

So far my complain about food is more on the quality. Can't find a decent hokkien mee, chwee kuey, chicken rice, laksa... prawn noodle must go Ang mo kio.....(Jalan kayu ) then can...

haremdevil

Jamus and WP in Sengkang is better than NCM and PAP...its not even a fair fight...Jamus CV is enough to tank ALL of PAP sengkang team...

LLiipp

Just attended the FB live for PAP SK candidates earlier. They keep harping about jobs and childcare centres.

Are SK residents really in need of jobs and childcare centres?

You parent? For new estates those less than 10 years, yes, child care issue is a must as I previously explained.

Rather disheartening part is the main focus is one local heartland issues rather than the individual candidate's vision and plans for the greater good of the nation. Unlike oppositions who will champion some cause, they are rather sticking to the PAP scripts of Post covid, without really sharing any concrete plans.

oolongteaster

Just saw these on the Internet about Raeesah Khan :eek:

her twitter feed reads like the journal of a teenager, where she has been focused on the toll the elections is taking on her personally, and her parents who have “substantial amount of power” in society

her words, not mine: https://mobile.twitter.com/RaeesahKhanwpsg/status/1279212207310430209

if you are in her ward, please be more mindful of your vote. having attended mps sessions, i know that the MPs will have to see their own residents first, before addressing the needs of residents from other wards (and that is assuming that they want to)

so while i have absolute faith in Jamus...

blurwulf

PM Lee personally talking in the Sengkang PAP rally shows that they are threatened by WP's presence there...come on fellow Sengkang voters, make your vote count and send Jamus and co to Parliament! :s12:
Maybe only make pap lose SK in this election then they will start to serious abt making better town planning for the area...well, maybe not, I don't know. But hey, no harm trying. SK can't get any worse liao, nothing to scare.

Sent from My Butthole using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.