[OFFICIAL] Lawrence Wong 黄循财 Fan Club

Okeirkkire

We do have a problem and it's a national level problem. If a couple had produced three ore more children, their children could replace or even more than replace them in the workforce when they retire.

However, as the TFR had fallen for already a few decades, the effects of this are now felt deeply and badly. Without the (never born) children to work, going forward, it is those who didn't make babies who have to do the work which their (unborn) children would otherwise be doing. They have to work longer/retire later to make up for this shortfall in manpower. If not, the only solution is to being in more FTs and FWs, and if we do that, you will whine.

It will take time for employers to change their mindset, their prejudices, their preference for only younger workers. The government can set the ball rolling by starting to extend the re-employment age to all "civil serpents". In fact, it is already a common sight, if you visit any ministry, or even a community centre, to see boomers and xoomers sitting behind the desk.

Such a change has to have the government initiating it, as the private sector will not initiate it. If you are fair and not clouded/blinded by your deep hatred for the PAP, for reason only you know, you should support the government's effort. I would be very surprised if LMW or PS stand to oppose or question this.
Too late...gobalisation start during lhl time...he fail to realise this during his watch...
Edit: no way out already tat the reason they will keep importing and two hands up for gobalisation...

lastsamurai

if the older workers keep staying on, how will the younger ones move up? they see layers and layers of workers 55, 60, 65 hanging on.

wonder if the garmen had considered how the younger ones think

lasnoblur

Retire age 65 , reemployment age 70. goalpost shift to 70/75. 60 then can withdraw ur balance instead of 55? if u still got money after paying ur million dollar flat .Good luck to our next generation.
ya ppl to work to fund many policies.

Healthcare and education taking up the bulk recently.

polyclinic wait getting worse each year.

and the insurance cost go up every year! hospitalisation co-payment with rider is already a step back , further still increase cost every year.

cet87

Why not? Hog more for their descendents mah.

Boomers are well known for kicking or pulling the ladder once they get to the peak.

images
Well. I can confirmed that. My present company boomer HOD had to give up cos of health reasons. Before that, he was nasty and make life difficult for those with potential. Ensuring nobody can take over his position.

windwaver

He should go tell all the employers.
Whether they want to retain older workers or not.

Bear in mind, if older workers get retrenched or terminated, we are dead.

Upskilled for older workers? Joking? Learn what? Wash toilet?

Stay relevant, yes to work as a cleaners for $1k per month jobs.
50 year old got problem already even with legit experience.

70? :ROFLMAO:

Sure have lah, the few lucky ones.

TA20222025

Well. I can confirmed that. My present company boomer HOD had to give up cos of health reasons. Before that, he was nasty and make life difficult for those with potential. Ensuring nobody can take over his position.

I heard there's one boomer Senior FD in my company who is like that as well. Nobody can work under him longer than 3 years because he will deliberately find faults and shame him/her in the presence of other leaders. Damn toxic person.

cet87

I heard there's one boomer Senior FD in my company who is like that as well. Nobody can work under him longer than 3 years because he will deliberately find faults and shame him/her in the presence of other leaders. Damn toxic person.
Ya. It’s to protect his rice bowl and ensuring nobody can take over.

toxic but it works.

Multiversal

Too late...gobalisation start during lhl time...he fail to realise this during his watch...
Edit: no way out already tat the reason they will keep importing and two hands up for gobalisation...
The Trinity consists of the Father, the Son and the Holy Ghost.

At one time, I remember this very well...oppies chanted Father, Son and Holy Goh. Son was LHL lorh. Who else?

That being said, this "trinity" is not God. It cannot foresee what you demanded in your above post.

Globalisation, yes. It presented a new set of challenges along with the opening up of China...slow pace of growth at first but as it gathered speed, China upended a lot of age old assumptions. The West almost went broke, even the US...it ended up with trillion dollars debt owed to China.

Amidst the cross-fire, we gave up old industries and old jobs, which we could not compete. Our grandfathers were happy to be mechanic, factory hands, storemen, machine operator. Some here lament the loss...oh! the good old days, they cry! Do we really want back the Singapore of the 1970s? Boomers might say yesss, zoomers will say yucks.

We had to move up the value chain and not compete with China. It takes 20 years to being up a baby girl, and longer to bring up a baby boy because the latter has to do NS. Globalisation did not happen over 20 to 25 years. It came like a tsunami. How to meet a new paradigm for manpower needs in a new world order. Our children, if at all we even produced enough of them, were still in primary school, and old jobs were lost, new jobs were created...

I think LHL did very well to steer Singapore through it.

It was inevitable that we had to bring in FTs. Do we like to have so many foreigners. I, for one, don't, to be honest. Do I have any choice? I don't. Suck it up! MYBFD.

fulaien

Those going to vote pap this year better ask this question can the party guarantee the cpf withdrawal age will not be delayed
Nothing to ask if you give them 2/3 majority. They can say something and change as and when they like. Eg. Increase gst, let president do part-time, etc

junlove

If our poorer tiers are earning enough, in an ideal situation, they all can retire early and we get FTs (non-PMETs) to do menial jobs (they can be evergreen, we cannot, we grow old in this country)... and most ppl can retire with hobbies and spend money. It's not about the % of FTs, our people need to earn... alot more

jumpthepig

I have saving / investment for my retirement . even without the cpf life payout I can survive . But cpf is my money . I want it in my pocket not someone else. Whoever delay shift goalpost of paying my hard earned $ is unacceptable.
Shifting of goalpost - No good.
Those who had worked hard deserved a proper retirement…..

junlove

i don’t understand why are EDMWers so critical of this.
many people after retiring lose sense of purpose , get depressed. dimensia
define MANY. no data no talk.

from the various reports, already so contentious. some report in 2013 1 out of 11 dementia from 60yo, nowadays 1 out of 10. weirdly ppl working longer and longer, so only marginal improvement? Then another report says increasing. So working help or not?

worst still, if dementia onset age and probability doesn't really shift much. the delay in retirement actually means your LAST 10 to 20 years will most likely kenna dementia as compared to the past.

my laopeh work till 55/65, see lord at 75, if i work till 65/75 and see lord at 85, would i have retired better?
i worked 10 more years leh, and my retirement period is when i might not even stand properly liao....

BradenHeat

Trump not helping the Americans la.. he is helping his fellow million/billionaires to get richer... BUT at least he makes an effort to sound/lie like he helping the Americans.
If you're anti-trump is fine,

USAID is the prime example, followed by the illegals. so how is that not helping the americans ?

Cali-fires ? executive orders for water...

theres so many examples to rebuke your Pov, but im just seeing you as trolling at this point.

makes effort ? dont need to compare and make our useless whites here less bad...... the strawman is not gonna work.

Potato_Wedges

CpF definitely will increase.
Just wait & see all the increment after ELECTIONS.
Same old tricks but many fools will fall for it. Then come edmw kpkb.

tsnd01

We should have seen this coming as long as the ruling party is in charge. Haven't we learned anything from history?

janxsg25

I think most ppl 40yo already tired no energy dark thoughts daily

Where are all these healthy mentally sound 65 or 75yos lol

kimsix

CpF definitely will increase.
Just wait & see all the increment after ELECTIONS.
Same old tricks but many fools will fall for it. Then come edmw kpkb.

Yes i dont trust pap

they always test ballon, show half ball first, media bias praise this half ball

confirm will have second sided dark side embedded

Confirm every new things will want to socialise the costs. In end give us $100 but hidden costs booby traps

i cannot think of any fully altruistic policy they come up

Smiley smiley play guitar but reality is different

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.