[Official] WP Alexis Dang's Fan Club

Hyruga

In Sg, there are also teaching assistants.

They are all allied educators. Existed for many years already.

AuraKUPO

your problem also doesn't represent the whole Singapore's issue.

you want her to focus only on your own issue ? you go and touch grass la
Didn't voters vote based on who can solve their issues? If not, you vote for what? Might as well balik kumpung don't waste a vote

eeLoyH

Thats your view. What about the views of the teachers?

And its not that the admin work is very hard, we just have quite a number of teachers who are asked to conduct certain task in an improved manner which involves creating homework or tests via computer. I know someone who help the teachers convert their material to this online platform. It's not that difficult, but it is a steep learning curves to some ageing teachers.

So yea, very easy to talk and say, "hire admin for what? Very difficult meh admin job?" But at least she's in contact with the teachers and what their complaints are.

People who dismiss these issues are doing the exact same thing we hate politicians for, not being in tune with the ground.
I didn’t say hire admin for what. I’m saying it creates more work through the interactions and more cost

so assuming you do teacher assistants they would also think I should be teacher as well.

just because it’s from Alexis doesn’t mean it’s the best thing since sliced bread.

I have close relatives that are teachers as well so the problem isn’t admin the problem is mostly they implement new changes at whim and teachers have to quickly react.

you read post #49 first before you think you actually understand

Capitalist

sagu suggest this female WP candidate doesn’t know what’s happening with MOE changes in the last many years but sagu is more concerned with how Pritam decided with fielding this quality of candidates, not to mention Andre Low and others 😎
#saguwisdom :vijayadmin:
Not surprising ... looking at the 'exceedingly high standards' he imposed upon himself, .. to remain as Secretary-General in spite of a criminal conviction which severely questions his integrity & honesty, ... speaks much. :s13:

coyote

Now government mix up with those groups.
All classified under talents

Those are the dirtiest political smearing... Disgusting... and those spreading those campaign will not come to good ending.

Capitalist

So yea, very easy to talk and say, "hire admin for what? Very difficult meh admin job?" But at least she's in contact with the teachers and what their complaints are.
If/when I'm running for public office, ... I will also diligently surf EDMW, ... pick up the 'noise from the ground', .. eloquently raise them during rallies, .. 'fight against the unjust' ... and some will likely praise 'at least Capitalist is in contact with the ground and what their complaints are.'

ZETMAN

Outsource? Who pay? Gov? Ask u to llst and take on addition job load
remove the 5 mayors. channel the funds from their salary to create a service hub for shared service to provide admin support for sch. then have continuous internship opportunity for students in Business admin or NIE to have their students do internship here so the NIE students when they become teachers in the future will have better understanding and a holistic overview and better appreciate the existence of this service hub.

ZETMAN

If/when I'm running for public office, ... I will also diligently surf EDMW, ... pick up the 'noise from the ground', .. eloquently raise them during rallies, .. 'fight against the unjust' ... and some will likely praise 'at least Capitalist is in contact with the ground and what their complaints are.'
if u just enforce the writing and legalize the concept NPNT, u have my vote.

Asphodeli

teaching students is only like 1 quarter or 1 fifth of the job scope

doing lesson plan, setting homework, marking homework, CCA, meet the parent sessions, giving feedback, events and celebration planning, setting / planning exams, meetings, ad hoc projects, going on courses / workshops, still have additional appointments like form teacher, level head , subject head, HOD and other leadership positions

so want to outsource how much? :s13:

those who cannot take the full load, be adjunct teacher with reduced scope and paycut lor

Exactly my thoughts also, if it's closely related like lesson planning, bobian cannot run. But CCA and events, plan exam dates surely can be done by an aide?

Coffeemate

They need bigger in house IT departments that can develop and maintain own systems to reduce admin work.
Not rely on external vendors that charge for each system amendment and have no ownership of the system they developed.

The ministry likes to use external vendor cuz when things like mobile guardian happen they can always shift blame to outside entity.

Cost may be higher but hey, if you keep the teachers happy, maybe you don't have to pay so much for staff retention. Happy teacher, better padegogy outcome cannot be measured in dollars and cents.

BMWguy

outsource admin: Attendance of students to be taken by a staff employed by the school, thus saving the teachers the trouble of having wasting time to take attendance and focus on other areas.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.