Only 32,000 take home less than WP's proposed $1,300 minimum wage

sizzy6

It is uncompassionate for anyone to claim that 32,000 is a small number and hence refused to provide help. It is also stupid for people to say these 32,000 spreads over different sectors/jobs and hence decide not to help.

If PAP feels the PWM is better, then go ahead to use it to solve the problem. There is no need to be fixated on minimum wage. Let PAP push out their "plan" so voters by the next election can understand what PAP has done to solve the problem. For incumbents, election time is the time to showcase their "report card".

bo bian... most pple not in that category so they wont care much if got min wage

their concern is whether their chicken rice gonna increase 20 cents or not

******* ** scums

Pewpewking

jiao wei

already say able bodied. do food delivery also can according to you

and yes still alot of jobs pay less than that..

go flip newspaper classified.. esp zaobao etc..

this kind of job you wont see on jobsdb, jobsstreet

thats why pple say where got such thing.

I have people in my family doing these jobs. Food delivery cannot do meh? Aren't you the one in ivory tower?

pureice

It is uncompassionate for anyone to claim that 32,000 is a small number and hence refused to provide help. It is also stupid for people to say these 32,000 spreads over different sectors/jobs and hence decide not to help.

If PAP feels the PWM is better, then go ahead to use it to solve the problem. There is no need to be fixated on minimum wage. Let PAP push out their "plan" so voters by the next election can understand what PAP has done to solve the problem. For incumbents, election time is the time to showcase their "report card".

bo bian... most pple not in that category so they wont care much if got min wage

their concern is whether their chicken rice gonna increase 20 cents or not

******* ** scums

is true~ i am a realife scum~~ i see in the 32k of people their sectors and conditions of employment/situation, hence a careful approach and study is needed instead of a blanket law approach. For them, any impact or loss of income is a big deal, a real immediate livehood issue. Not only on the 32k, but any future people falling into that group and has to rely on part-time work, on lower wages but lesser responsibilities. Why do you wan to implement a blanket price floor to disincentives their employment??

Or you truly belive in your heart, employers got NO choice. They die die need to hire singaporean lowly educated/low skill/disabled/health issues etc people? I mean, if you truly belive that their employment is 100% secured then i think wadever people say its moot.

Sinkie

I have already gone through the Govt job search portal to find jobs that are offering $1300 (take home) and below jobs, and these are job that are related to Food courts, supermarket, education, and are these the so called employers that are exploiting low wage worker to maximise their profit margin?

And so let’s just implement this min wage, to reduce these foodcourts, supermarkets and educator profit margin [under the assumption these employer will not increase their food and service]

flying.elephant

is true~ i am a realife scum~~ i see in the 32k of people their sectors and conditions of employment/situation, hence a careful approach and study is needed instead of a blanket law approach. For them, any impact or loss of income is a big deal, a real immediate livehood issue. Not only on the 32k, but any future people falling into that group and has to rely on part-time work, on lower wages but lesser responsibilities. Why do you wan to implement a blanket price floor to disincentives their employment??

Or you truly belive in your heart, employers got NO choice. They die die need to hire singaporean lowly educated/low skill/disabled/health issues etc people? I mean, if you truly belive that their employment is 100% secured then i think wadever people say its moot.

one advantage of min wage is to eliminate the creation of low value jobs which increases SG economy on cheap labour and put our own citizens in jobs which they will be stuck financially and potentially create social issues. if you don't already know, SG has been trying for a long time to wean off business whose only competitive advantage is cheap labour

it also gives a little bargaining power back to employees who may not have unions to help them prevent being exploited

:)

sunzoner

You cannot read? Ask PAP to push out their plan instead of just saying "no" to Min wage.

In fact, you cannot think as PAP has been in power for how many years? Yet they cant even point out what was already done to help these 32,000.

sizzy6

I have people in my family doing these jobs. Food delivery cannot do meh? Aren't you the one in ivory tower?

can do .. there are alot of circumstances that makes pple want or dont want to do certain jobs

maybe the person low iq .. cant navigate ? disability ?

you said its very easy to find jobs that pay 1.3k per month take home ..

so the assumption should be .. then why companies still advertise hiring people at much lower wages? simply because they are able to also easily find pple who accept that wage

there are jobs does not mean it is readily available or suitable for everyone

there are still limits how many job vacancy .. what looks like abundance to you is not enough for the grand scale of things

i just ask you .. there are 100k people below that wage(excl PWM) .. can the food delivery industry take in 100k and all are suitable ?

pureice

one advantage of min wage is to eliminate the creation of low value jobs which increases SG economy on cheap labour and put our own citizens in jobs which they will be stuck financially and potentially create social issues. if you don't already know, SG has been trying for a long time to wean off business whose only competitive advantage is cheap labour

it also gives a little bargaining power back to employees who may not have unions to help them prevent being exploited

:)

You cannot read? Ask PAP to push out their plan instead of just saying "no" to Min wage.

In fact, you cannot think as PAP has been in power for how many years? Yet they cant even point out what was already done to help these 32,000.

aiyo....really eliminate creation of low value jobs?? is that really even possible?? really?? for the disadvantged, health issues, lowly skilled/uneducated this law helps them to stay employed?? This is an advantage to you? I dont know about compassion, but making poor singaporeans less employable doesnt seem to be the right direction.

vietnam/myanmar/china/australia/US has minimum wage for many years liao~ but they still doing so many "low value jobs".... got eliminate? instead the real feedback is increase in hours, reduction in youth employment, chasing of minimum wage to inflation, decrease in other benefits to make up the cost.

sometimes somethings we imagine in a perfect scenario, but the reality effect on these disavantage grps is real. They are not being exploited or forced to work, they are trying their best to find employment suited for them based on their circumstances.

I have reading problems.....and ya pap must be wrong la ok? why they canot point out many things? AWesome la WP definately can.

sizzy6

when they implement min wage for cleaners and security .. what happened ?

all kena fired ? or did it happen ?

so now all the cleaners and security you see is all foreign worker i guess ..

because their wage from below 1k kena upgrade to 1k+ .. so all the sinkies kena sack already .. replaced with fw .. :s13::s13:

sizzy6

not bad .. now they tell you .. we dont increase your wage because we scare you jobless

what will you reply if your boss tell you that ?

"ah ming arh .. you know arh .. now foreign talent v cheap you know .. 4.5k i can hire ceca .. if i increase your pay to 5k .. then u may lose your job ..if you lose your job .. your family how .. so your pay will be freezed until they increase the EP criteria ok ?"

******* kias .. ownself salary increase they never say will affect employment ...

increase low wage worker salary they say scare they become unemployed. ..lol

Pewpewking

can do .. there are alot of circumstances that makes pple want or dont want to do certain jobs

maybe the person low iq .. cant navigate ? disability ?

you said its very easy to find jobs that pay 1.3k per month take home ..

so the assumption should be .. then why companies still advertise hiring people at much lower wages? simply because they are able to also easily find pple who accept that wage

there are jobs does not mean it is readily available or suitable for everyone

there are still limits how many job vacancy .. what looks like abundance to you is not enough for the grand scale of things

i just ask you .. there are 100k people below that wage(excl PWM) .. can the food delivery industry take in 100k and all are suitable ?

If the person low iq and disabled, then with min wage will get the same pay as my family member working a harder job. Your min wage make both of them lose.

Plus if it looks like abundance to me...then its enough? You go back to your ivory tower please.

sunzoner

aiyo....really eliminate creation of low value jobs?? is that really even possible?? really?? for the disadvantged, health issues, lowly skilled/uneducated this law helps them to stay employed?? This is an advantage to you? I dont know about compassion, but making poor singaporeans less employable doesnt seem to be the right direction.

vietnam/myanmar/china/australia/US has minimum wage for many years liao~ but they still doing so many "low value jobs".... got eliminate? instead the real feedback is increase in hours, reduction in youth employment, chasing of minimum wage to inflation, decrease in other benefits to make up the cost.

sometimes somethings we imagine in a perfect scenario, but the reality effect on these disavantage grps is real. They are not being exploited or forced to work, they are trying their best to find employment suited for them based on their circumstances.

I have reading problems.....and ya pap must be wrong la ok? why they canot point out many things? AWesome la WP definately can.

Reality effect is real so no need to do anything? Noted.

maxmike

😄😄😄😄😄 the data very fishy, what age group is the 32000? The way the government presents the data seems like it only target on certain age group not across the board.

wwenze

If the person low iq and disabled, then with min wage will get the same pay as my family member working a harder job. Your min wage make both of them lose.

Min pay needs to work alongside social security...

You don't wear underwear without trousers right

sizzy6

Plus if it looks like abundance to me...then its enough? You go back to your ivory tower please.

either your english got problem or mine .. i dont understand what you trying to say

but if 1.3k SO EASY to find .. then why people still dont take home 1.3k ?

100k of them(without pwm) ..

ohhhh i know .. maybe they dont want higher wages .. they purposely find lower wage job so can get help from gov !!!

and **** .. this is cfm low IQ of them to do that ..

Richliao

not bad .. now they tell you .. we dont increase your wage because we scare you jobless

what will you reply if your boss tell you that ?

"ah ming arh .. you know arh .. now foreign talent v cheap you know .. 4.5k i can hire ceca .. if i increase your pay to 5k .. then u may lose your job ..if you lose your job .. your family how .. so your pay will be freezed until they increase the EP criteria ok ?"

******* kias .. ownself salary increase they never say will affect employment ...

increase low wage worker salary they say scare they become unemployed. ..lol

Wa...you still posting replies to those 60%...I gave up already haha...

Pewpewking

either your english got problem or mine .. i dont understand what you trying to say

but if 1.3k SO EASY to find .. then why people still dont take home 1.3k ?

100k of them(without pwm) ..

ohhhh i know .. maybe they dont want higher wages .. they purposely find lower wage job so can get help from gov !!!

Let me spell it out for you.

1. My family is worse off than yours, obviously.
2. You're saying my family needs the minimum wage, but I'm against it. It will cause others who work less hard and have less real contribution to get the same pay. This includes low iq and otherwise disabled people. Why should I be paid the same as them if I can do more?

If anyone in my family earns near 1.4k, they are very likely to get a pay cut if they switch jobs.
3. People have multiple reasons why they don't want 1.3k. Maybe they only want a part time job, or they are doing a job just for fun even when they have more than enough money
4. Down with PAP!!! <- this is your argument, pretty much

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.