Only 32,000 take home less than WP's proposed $1,300 minimum wage

Perisher

Most of u not in this category but keep kp about minimum wages...

I have been in this category before. Btw, you only think on surface.

This minimum wage affects all the way up.
Once you have a floor, many jobs will maybe pull down their salary to minimum but even more will pull up. And it’s a domino effect all the way up.

Imagine you earn $2000, minimum wage is $1300.
10 years later you still earning $2000 because your boss exploits you, no pay raise no bonus.
But minimum wage rose to $1800, your boss will feel the pressure to increase your wage above minimum wage. And this thing should grow yearly too.

Konnichiwa

As they should? Sg has produce what big corp? Every bosses just wanna exploit low wage workers?
Do you see the bigger problem is that Miw hasn’t actually solve any unemployment issue?
They are simply letting 32000 share the hiring price of 10000 or even lesser?

Maybe we start from construction and manufacturing line...
If send all the foreign workers home... who is going to replace them? :(

U earn lower than $1300 meh? Why u keep kpkb about wanting Min wages?
WP did so for brownie point one... they want to be seen as a political party for Sinkies... the so called uprighteous one...

Konnichiwa

I have been in this category before. Btw, you only think on surface.

This minimum wage affects all the way up.
Once you have a floor, many jobs will maybe pull down their salary to minimum but even more will pull up. And it’s a domino effect all the way up.

Imagine you earn $2000, minimum wage is $1300.
10 years later you still earning $2000 because your boss exploits you, no pay raise no bonus.
But minimum wage rose to $1800, your boss will feel the pressure to increase your wage above minimum wage. And this thing should grow yearly too.
Minimum wage is not the way to go....
other methods should be looked into...

Apex01

increase abit for 32000 workers will cause massive inflation according to ibs

lol .. long before i already said the impact is minimum liao

PAP dogs think 32000 low wage workers get slightly higher pay and 5.7 million ppl here end up paying more for chicken rice, cai png and Macdonald.
PAP dogs learn from their masters to create lies and fear mongering

Perisher

Maybe we start from construction and manufacturing line...
If send all the foreign workers home... who is going to replace them? :(

U earn lower than $1300 meh? Why u keep kpkb about wanting Min wages?
WP did so for brownie point one... they want to be seen as a political party for Sinkies... the so called uprighteous one...

Wrong, I see minimum wage as pushing those low to mid salary up.

Who say send them home? We talking about paying them right. If your company can’t afford to pay minimum wage, that means your company is only surviving due to that. Exploiting low wage workers.

Btw, you don’t have to be in their shoes to argue for them. Just like why are you arguing against minimum wage? Are you the bosses who is exploiting them now?

wwenze

We have bigger and more fundamental problems like the preference to import rent-paying and tax-paying FT instead of machines

Perisher

Sure sure, all ears. If there is a way that sinkies at the lower end can at least earn bare minimum surviving rate without these, go suggest to your MP.

wwenze

PAP dogs think 32000 low wage workers get slightly higher pay and 5.7 million ppl here end up paying more for chicken rice, cai png and Macdonald.
PAP dogs learn from their masters to create lies and fear mongering

Who still remember how data taken from gov stat was labelled POFMA

Konnichiwa

Wrong, I see minimum wage as pushing those low to mid salary up.

Who say send them home? We talking about paying them right. If your company can’t afford to pay minimum wage, that means your company is only surviving due to that. Exploiting low wage workers.

Btw, you don’t have to be in their shoes to argue for them. Just like why are you arguing against minimum wage? Are you the bosses who is exploiting them now?
There is progressive wage already in place...
WP is really really sibei backward leh...

wwenze

How about implement the Progressive Wage Model for all sectors?

How about getting this covid to continue forever just to see how this country will act after reducing essential worker percentage to like 20%

Konnichiwa

I don’t understand why WP keep pushing for min wages...
it’s like your boss... I don’t care how you do it... I just want it get done...
And I don’t know how also... I just want to see the result...

Talk like easy...

reno77

So that means there's no economic impact from adopting the WP plan?

pureice

Hais, why this topic again. Prease rah, stop touting helping the poor.

Don't need go so deep into reading Stanford or Harvard studies. Just go understand the history of minimum wage since 1930s and it's real purpose of implementation, which is to discriminate coloured minorities. Then go see purchasing power of minimum wage against inflation since then. And also, don't come bluff people no impact on unemployment hiding behind big data, the impact is specifically on lower skilled and youth unemployment. This is supported by real data before and after 1930s for blacks and minorities youth.

Takes you 30 mins to go see all these and then stop being make use of by WP being a moral police. Let the poor accumulate capital, give real help for certain stagnant sector.

I know it feels song to see gov implement a number then feel the poor is saved, moral obligation fulfilled. Oh feel so song. But look at reality la, this law was passed in history with malicious intent and then on used as a political tool. That's why Wp is a real shxt party which talkss a lot of half truths

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.