[Review] Asus RT-AX88U

Ah Ken

Can enlighten me what is this HE frame? Noob in this field... Google doesn't say much, maybe I don't know how to google right.. :s22:

AC2

just reflash the firmware lar.( load old version then back to latest)

It just shows that the current firmware for the ax 88 is still unstable .

Anyway this router still new. give them some time. confirm better firmware will be out later.

vaxvms

Ax88u as router, 2 x 5300 as nodes. With HE disable, my iphone wifi speed can hit 600Mbps up 600 Mbps down on 1 Gbps plan.
If i enable HE, straight drop to less than 200Mbps.

actually i thinking Ax88u as node since wifi6 haha

forkie

Fixed it. Have to power off and on the router again. On router page rebooting or re-enabling HE frame cannot work. Speed stuck at miserable 286mbps unless off the whole router.
Phew ! Heng can get back the speed but yah the new wifi6 still need allot improvement.

forkie

Can enlighten me what is this HE frame? Noob in this field... Google doesn't say much, maybe I don't know how to google right.. :s22:

New feature for AX router to enable high speed data transfer which is wifi6 speed. But some equipment and device may be affected by the new feature which may slow the speed instead. Thus got this feature to enable and disable.

forkie

Ran a test on other devices.
My S8 getting good speed as well.
428mbps link rate in master bedroom.
648mbps link rate in living room.
This new AX88U router is pretty impressive.

My old AC88U hardly get anything close to 400mbps on 5G.
300-400 is on very good days.

ksksksks

I got the ax11000u. Not much difference with this ax88u in terms of speed but the range is better.
Just some tips in case some of you guys find ur wifi speed slow or your printer have a hard time getting connected.. Disable smart band steering and make sure 2.4ghz is on 20mhz only. Make sure AX is off and also don’t turn on DFS channel.

ksksksks

2EWZCbF.jpg

Speedtest for close range on Ax11000

athenodorus

ZZZzz KNN the WIFI6 still not ideal.
Now I yaya papaya go Router settings play play toggle HE frame.....
My 1200mpbs rate GONE !!!!!

Initially after firmware update so shiok in room 648mpbs link rate, Living room 1200mpbs link rate.

Then itchy hand go toggle the HE frame.... poof !!!!! WIFI6 gone and link rate back to 286...… Now enable back HE frame but my speed still stuck at 286 !!!!!! :mad: duno why my wow oooo wee speed gone liao ! 气死人 !!!!

Actually the link rate also not accurate one ma.

I always see my devices with 866 link rate but when I do speed test also 200+ mbps.

I also dunno why for some reason during speed tests, when I choose m1 server I will get nice speed (>500) but other server will be just 200+-

renfred89

Actually the link rate also not accurate one ma.

I always see my devices with 866 link rate but when I do speed test also 200+ mbps.

I also dunno why for some reason during speed tests, when I choose m1 server I will get nice speed (>500) but other server will be just 200+-

you are supposed to choose the server related to your provider what... :D

athenodorus

you are supposed to choose the server related to your provider what... :D

that's the thing. i'm on starhub. even my own starhub server gave me 200+ mbps.

only M1 server gave me the highest dl/ul speed consistently (from my multiple observations over quite some time). it's always double the speed of other servers.

makes me wonder if m1 fibre is better. :o

squarepipe

you peeps who buy this router don't stay with parents or spouse one? It literally looks like an eyesore.

AC2

No leh, same look at RT AC88U. Anyway just a router why u so mind the look? I left it one side dont even bother if its there as long got connection.

ksksksks

Think only m1 won’t throttle speed, Singtel at best 500mbps. M1 easily touches 600-68x

that's the thing. i'm on starhub. even my own starhub server gave me 200+ mbps.

only M1 server gave me the highest dl/ul speed consistently (from my multiple observations over quite some time). it's always double the speed of other servers.

makes me wonder if m1 fibre is better. :o

Tony.Manero

My RT-AX88U cannot be powered on after less than 5 months. Expected better from a premium product. :(

My Netgear r6300 v1 is still working after 7 years!!! :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.