Saw some "new Citizien or PR" CECA working in Govtech. New trend?

radish

Emeritus Honorary Member
not new trend 10 years ago already have pr working in govtech... i think earlier also have.

TanKianW

In the IT line.

To be honest. Most Sinkies IT guys failed to self learn and upgrade. Boat had set sail long ago. Take degree and a lot of certs but when put to task, best is project manage and tell people to do, tech knowledge still far from acceptable. Ask them what is the problem, they cannot even use proper commands on the console to check or read the scripts/code of various OS.

Of course, you can say education system fail but in the IT line, education is only a tiny bitsy starting point. If you "ey gan", a lot can self learn. If you blame it on education, obviously you are "bey gan".

tracerguy

We don't have IT people? Failure of education system. Didn't we do very well in all the international competitions and exams.
Gahmen keep on harping shortage of talent. But then keep on bloating how good is nus and ntu and how good sinkieland education is.

You see the irony?

Trader11

In the IT line.

To be honest. Most Sinkies IT guys failed to self learn and upgrade. Boat had set sail long ago. Take degree and a lot of certs but when put to task, best is project manage and tell people to do, tech knowledge still far from acceptable. Ask them what is the problem, they cannot even use proper commands on the console to check or read the scripts/code of various OS.

Of course, you can say education system fail but in the IT line, education is only a tiny bitsy starting point. If you "ey gan", a lot can self learn. If you blame it on education, obviously you are "bey gan".
Sure....reading logs nao with `tail -f`

Trader11

Gahmen keep on harping shortage of talent. But then keep on bloating how good is nus and ntu and how good sinkieland education is.

You see the irony?
Government is full of bullocks.....covid have proven the entire government leadership is weak and incompetent

MiG123

There’s alot more than you think in both ranks and file as well as highest echelons of govt agencies

Ohayo!

jobs, local U for FT

foodpanda, pte U, NS for sinkies!

GunzerX

Govt hire PR which is not Singaporean citizen. Our gahment alrdy said main core they always count PR plus sg citizen into our employment rate.

lucifer

You don’t narrow minded please.

Avoid narrow definition of 'Singapore core', says DPM Heng​

“Some of the CEOs from these banks are as Singaporean as Singaporeans who were born in Singapore and went through national service... in fact, some of them, whom I knew personally, had become Singapore citizens," said the minister, without elaborating.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ow-definition-of-singapore-core-says-dpm-heng
Let's broaden National Service to include these guys too.

think_too_much

You don’t narrow minded please.

Avoid narrow definition of 'Singapore core', says DPM Heng​

“Some of the CEOs from these banks are as Singaporean as Singaporeans who were born in Singapore and went through national service... in fact, some of them, whom I knew personally, had become Singapore citizens," said the minister, without elaborating.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ow-definition-of-singapore-core-says-dpm-heng
Ok la... If got serve NS, it is already a mark of their commitment towards the country. Perhaps they really want to make Singapore their home and even their children's home.

They really deserve to be one of us.

Trader11

Ok la... If got serve NS, it is already a mark of their commitment towards the country. Perhaps they really want to make Singapore their home and even their children's home.

They really deserve to be one of us.
Their kids are in India or send to US or Australia to study.....these buggers want the best of everything and abuse our resources

think_too_much

Their kids are in India or send to US or Australia to study.....these buggers want the best of everything and abuse our resources
You should be referring to those first gen PR and citizen who didn't serve NS?

Then yes. They are simply milking our SG system.

It is obvious why they don't even want their kids to stay in SG.

I have totally no respect for these people.

jack-320

61% voted correctly

it allows GovTech to create more jobs and most importantly, it allows more people from Research and Analysis Wing from India to keep up with the times, and share knowledge around the world

who says no good jobs are created

regionmaster

We don't have IT people? Failure of education system. Didn't we do very well in all the international competitions and exams.
Comp sci now A/AAA course liao
And cohort fairly small, and only smart people. The good one go overseas, remaining work local faang. Then grab/shopee/alibaba next tier

No joke banks totally can't even find any locals, that's why all ceca

And SMU InfoSys is a joke, those fackers only know "project management", all fantasize about taking SD pay while sit there shake leg reply email

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.