Seriously everything need money, life is hard 🙃

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

cyke69sg

Exactly bro. There are no poor people in Singapore, only lazy people

I work very hard in Canada. But the taxes so high every month they take away over 10k of what I earn. One year 120k in taxes just for myself. 2 years that money I can buy a car in Singapore!

In SG I would be able to keep this money myself (or at least most of it).

SGreans dunno how cham it is to have high taxes!

pushtopen

Ya since young trained to be the "perfect sensible child"

who hasn't?

the switch flipped for me when I was young and realized the virtues of doing nothing and generally not giving a **** because most things in life are a forgone conclusion and you can't always control everything so what's the point in doing anything besides adopting the path of least resistance

I hope you find it too

evilduxy

just live within means n be satisfied can liao

this is gonna be a nv ending comparison de

last time young also wanna chase wealth now old bbfa liao learn to relax n lie flat liao since old bbfa single no need to support anyone can just yolo liao

couch.potato

But when people look up to you, naturally more opportunities will come to you too.
then what? I don’t need the opportunities. I have my own and I’m happy with the share.

I don’t even have desire to have 12M. I like my job (that I created myself), I like the stuff and the house I do have. I don’t need more.

if fall from the sky give me I not Kum Gong don’t take. But I’m also not caught up with the chasing of it. I don’t even have things I want to buy for 12M. All the things I desire, I can well afford. Don’t know how to spend more. :s13:

stupid to 20k edmwers, but thankfully I don’t really care about people’s opinion about me and how much I own and have. Hahaha. I find it damn funny people so free to care about other people’s lives.

BlackWing1977

I believe a lot people just spend the money without saving. Once they see money they just spend. They like to follow what everyone is doing to enjoy life. If other people can yolo, they also want to yolo. Whether the money from their own pocket or parents. Just spend and happily post their happy life on social media. Who knows if they really have enough money or not?
I have friend who barely has savings and really spent money away on idols and travelling. No plans for her own future. On the surface u see she enjoying life. But who knows what will happen in the future? I know i cannot live life like hers without savings or plan, so i dun envy her at all.
While all these are true.. but savings and planning is not the goal though... this has be clear so that you will not regret later in life...

couch.potato

Wah piang thread infiltrated liao.
Good luck mei mei. May u find enlightenment. Or not. Maybe you like the struggle as it may build character :s13:

peace out

coolhead

Idk maybe I got the hallucinations that the more expensive I am the more valuable I am. Just like a birkin is 1m people also will snatch and fight to get it. While the same handmade leather bag removed the Hermes logo $100 maybe people also think expensive.

Probably I wanna prove that I'm worth more ba? Idk. I feel like if today I have 12m (example) at least if people look down on me, I'll be like at least I got 12m. Vs reality I can't even afford a 1.2m ppty.

I always compare myself with objects. Like why is that thing even more expensive than me.
I do get the drift. I do somehow understand your past from your conversation. To compare with object is to define your self-worth with objects or material possession. To compare the ability to acquire properties against those who can and those who cannot and then translate it into a measure of our self-worth is also the same thing: Defining self-worth by materal possession. Nonetheless from society's standpoint, it will validate your self-worth by acknowledging your success in acquiring those items.

If you have acquired those items and increased your measure of your self-worth, what other steps will you take to further increase your self-worth? E,g Character, relationships, your personal growth and contribution to society?
Not all steps we take are paved with gold, some maybe a trap that causes us to fall. We have to remind ourselves that wealth is not the only factor equating to happiness or fulfilment. Concentrating everything in one basket is very risky, surely you have known from investments.
If you can look from a different light and redefine what matters to your self-worth, take baby steps to align with what other things can be done to increase your self-worth other than money. Once you have done this step, the obsession of material possession over your self-worth should start to lessen because you have diversified risk.

Last but not least, let's be grateful for what we have currently to help us achieve what we want in the future. The difference in between is ourselves.

Dangojr

Idk maybe I got the hallucinations that the more expensive I am the more valuable I am. Just like a birkin is 1m people also will snatch and fight to get it. While the same handmade leather bag removed the Hermes logo $100 maybe people also think expensive.

Probably I wanna prove that I'm worth more ba? Idk. I feel like if today I have 12m (example) at least if people look down on me, I'll be like at least I got 12m. Vs reality I can't even afford a 1.2m ppty.

I always compare myself with objects. Like why is that thing even more expensive than me.
Hallucinations better check into IMH soon

arsenalfc85

Actually I also same

Born in poor family

my career also going nowhere

sometimes I also feel tired

but I reached the stage that sometimes I dgaf what others think. They enjoy life their daiji. If others look down on me I also dgaf. Other ppl don’t like me I also don’t give a s*** liao

life in itself is already v tiring. Why make life more tiring n miserable for myself

like today, I went to cut hair n the hairdresser cut until I have red lines on my neck now. Dulan la. But sometimes I think about ppl struggling more (eg ppl with cancer) , then Aiya why get upset over small stuff.

just do your best. Earn whatever you can. Save some, invest some, spend some. The rest leave it to heaven/god/divine intervention .

too many things in life not within our control Liao . Really No point thinking so much

zhoholang

Not saying idk nothing is free. But sg living really getting more unbearable lehhh.

And to be fair I know all the first world city has the same problem.

How come so many young people can still be so yolo, happy and carefree?

Everything needs money man. In before i behkan that why hei hei chuan.

From little to big things everything literally needs money. Eat 1 meal want find cheap option also hard. Public transport also keep upz fare though is already the cheapest options.

How to retire like that? How come people my age around me can keep spend money one? While everyday I'm stressing 101 things. And everything is money involved.

Wake up I'm immediately stressed about life. Everyday calculating how to make more money and cut down expenses. Thinking how to invest properly. How to build enough emergency funds, to if my insurance coverage is enough. And all the endless bills. And everything at home also need money. 1 thing spoil need pay to fix. Neighbor from hell do something then need immediately come up with plan B to counter. To looking for next place to move etc.

Is it they got parents support or I'm just tanking too many things alone and too suay? I see ig everyday can eat good food, or do something. Really so much money meh? Even though they are advancing next stage of life on and on also like a breeze one.

I see pregnant mummy everyday party and I'm like huh won't stress about later upcoming all the expenses meh?

I see mothers with kids still can keep go cafe hoping, house, kids all free meh?

I see singles buy 1 bag after another.

I'm really overwhelmed by life man...I can safely say I can feel how a solo breadwinner feels. 我真的很累。我的肩膀真的快扛不起。

Borrow to enjoy. Declare bankrupt or in debt until passed away. Children don't need to pay. Bank pay you to live a life ...

Sylar22

Not saying idk nothing is free. But sg living really getting more unbearable lehhh.

And to be fair I know all the first world city has the same problem.

How come so many young people can still be so yolo, happy and carefree?

Everything needs money man. In before i behkan that why hei hei chuan.

From little to big things everything literally needs money. Eat 1 meal want find cheap option also hard. Public transport also keep upz fare though is already the cheapest options.

How to retire like that? How come people my age around me can keep spend money one? While everyday I'm stressing 101 things. And everything is money involved.

Wake up I'm immediately stressed about life. Everyday calculating how to make more money and cut down expenses. Thinking how to invest properly. How to build enough emergency funds, to if my insurance coverage is enough. And all the endless bills. And everything at home also need money. 1 thing spoil need pay to fix. Neighbor from hell do something then need immediately come up with plan B to counter. To looking for next place to move etc.

Is it they got parents support or I'm just tanking too many things alone and too suay? I see ig everyday can eat good food, or do something. Really so much money meh? Even though they are advancing next stage of life on and on also like a breeze one.

I see pregnant mummy everyday party and I'm like huh won't stress about later upcoming all the expenses meh?

I see mothers with kids still can keep go cafe hoping, house, kids all free meh?

I see singles buy 1 bag after another.

I'm really overwhelmed by life man...I can safely say I can feel how a solo breadwinner feels. 我真的很累。我的肩膀真的快扛不起。
It’s all about mentality

arsenalfc85

Now my motto is just

do what I can, don’t even need to do my best, do agar agar can liao (whether it’s career or relationships or money or health)

if it’s meant to be yours, it will be yours. too many things not within our control. If I’m meant to be rich, I will be rich without putting in too much effort. If I’m not meant to be rich, work until like dog also can’t be rich

I more or less submit my life n destiny to the higher forces / divine intervention Liao

life seems easier when u think this way

Medicated Oil

Actually I also same

Born in poor family

my career also going nowhere

sometimes I also feel tired

but I reached the stage that sometimes I dgaf what others think. They enjoy life their daiji. If others look down on me I also dgaf. Other ppl don’t like me I also don’t give a s*** liao

life in itself is already v tiring. Why make life more tiring n miserable for myself

like today, I went to cut hair n the hairdresser cut until I have red lines on my neck now. Dulan la. But sometimes I think about ppl struggling more (eg ppl with cancer) , then Aiya why get upset over small stuff.

just do your best. Earn whatever you can. Save some, invest some, spend some. The rest leave it to heaven/god/divine intervention .

too many things in life not within our control Liao . Really No point thinking so much
Life itself is not tiring.
It is the limiting belief in your mind that is bringing you down.
If you have to improve your life, dun re-program yourself with it every morning.
Let it go.
And see the change.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.