Used the most primitive method:

image-9.jpg

HD8:

image-10.jpg

image-8.jpg

image-7.jpg

So far just looks like upscaled stuff, not too different from the upscaled (1080i) version of the normal SD channel via scv.

cheong79

Wrong. Sony's panels are likely to be either s-PVA, or if you believe some sites, another tech called PSA (haven't found out what that stands for).

The data you quoted above is just normal manufacturing stats. All panels are ard that range (176-178).

What people really look out for is the angle off centre at which contrast/brightness drop by half. That is another measurement not provided by manufacturers but if you read some review websites like hdtvtest.uk, you can get the data. And that is where ips differentiates itself from PVA. That said, ips has poorer black levels. Today, subject to viewing angle needs, PVA panels tend to offer better performance due to the contrast levels.
Thanks for the info, brother.

stamina

Thats what i just dont understand.In general,all flats, new and old,have scv cable wall sockets readily installed in living room,and the new flats, in bedrooms as well. Why cant MDA then just turn the scv wall cable channels to HD? Isnt that better so that theres no need for new flat owners(with no rooftop antennas) to buy additional antenna to receive DVB T2?
can anyone comment on this?

stamina

So easy. They want every household to subscribe to at least the basic set top boxes from either StarHub or SingTel MIO lor.
no lah.if like that, why waste on making the T2 infrastructure when people jumship to set top boxes for HD.

mrsun18

Hello, anyone knows what if we continue using DVB-T (i.e. old tuners) will there still be any cutoff date for that ? Or all must change to using DVB-T2 ?
quite tempted to quickly get one to try. but then i suppose starhub would eventually have to carry it on its cable. subscribing to scv now so perhaps i dont really need it. itchy backside lah.
The answer is found in the link in post #16 of this thread.

chuppachop

The current test signals are only available from 7pm to 11pm daily.he timings of the test signals were as of the reply given last week.....they may have expanded to full day.

Here is my post, posted on another thread:
I checked with MDA.....officially the T2 signals starts mid this month. As for carriage on both ST n SH, the person mentioned at a later date as they (ST n SH) need to test out the chs on their systems.

The current test signals are only available from 7pm to 11pm daily.

Kiwi8

The current test signals are only available from 7pm to 11pm daily.he timings of the test signals were as of the reply given last week.....they may have expanded to full day.

I checked with MDA.....officially the T2 signals starts mid this month. As for carriage on both ST n SH, the person mentioned at a later date as they (ST n SH) need to test out the chs on their systems.

I see.... thanks for the update. :o

Windowlover

Roof top antenna ca get this digital signal or still need to register for setup box with ST n SH ? I have DVT-T2 but cannot get this signal from HDB ( Northern ) or should try again during 1900 ~ 2200 hrs ?

stamina

ST and SH? Singtel and Starhub? How are they related to T2?

Kiwi8

Roof top antenna ca get this digital signal or still need to register for setup box with ST n SH ? I have DVT-T2 but cannot get this signal from HDB ( Northern ) or should try again during 1900 ~ 2200 hrs ?

Since the signals are only turned on from 1900 to 2300 u should try during that time.

Kiwi8

ST and SH? Singtel and Starhub? How are they related to T2?

Technically not related, but from a layman's perspective like me, the query probably means whether the CH 8 HD, Suria HD, Vasantham HD will be carried by the paid tv service providers subscribers ST and SH.

SilveR1_09

Happy ending, hahaha!
If they have turned on the repeater/relay signals, maybe u have better luck. Hopefully.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.