Singapore Digital TV discussion thread - all related talk, please post here

Status
Not open for further replies.

LobsterX

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2002
Messages
1,866
Reaction score
0
most newer TV have hdmi, composite/component connection. so I think should be okay bah.
 

sunsetbay

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jul 3, 2000
Messages
46,459
Reaction score
26
That's my concern too. Still remember those digital TV in the bus? The reception is so poor and finally they are all gone. vs what you see in Hong Kong. They are doing it very well.

tv mobile~? the reception was quite ok overall~ the initial phase was quite bad with squeak audio distortion~ they took down bcos mediacorp unable to sustain the operation cost with little ads income~

HK one, i thought it was played back thru media or disc player~?

taiwan would be a better eg, sat in their taxi and the cabby was using a GPS with built-in dvb-t~ he was scrolling the channels, many channels to select with no loss of signal~ :s22:
 

yxyxx8

Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2007
Messages
8,348
Reaction score
11
got to use a T2 receiver. no channels yet. not even a trial signal detected. fall back to T had it scanned for the 4 digital channels though.
 

sunsetbay

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jul 3, 2000
Messages
46,459
Reaction score
26
got to use a T2 receiver. no channels yet. not even a trial signal detected. fall back to T had it scanned for the 4 digital channels though.

the trial probably ended~ i was able to detect T2 channel some mths back, they broadcasted a sitcom with HD5 logo also (not simulcast from existing HD5), that repeat every 10min over & over again~ :s22:
 

Maka85

Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
156
Reaction score
0
any usb tuner that support the dvb-t2 format ?
cheap and good one.

my uncle got sell, u can check it out.
costs ard $200 with installation
the box also can record tv shows, boost antenna signal, no snowing.

Currently there are 3 channels available for HD, CH5, Ch8 and 1 more.. forgot which one.

(65) 9 Zero Zero 56 Zero 49 Look FOR PHILIP
 

mrsun18

Master Member
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
2,809
Reaction score
0
the trial probably ended~ i was able to detect T2 channel some mths back, they broadcasted a sitcom with HD5 logo also (not simulcast from existing HD5), that repeat every 10min over & over again~ :s22:
Interesting, are you able to tell which channel was it on?
 

sunsetbay

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jul 3, 2000
Messages
46,459
Reaction score
26
Interesting, are you able to tell which channel was it on?

my tuner does not display the channel no. & freq~ It was grouped under "unknown", while the rest of the existing digital channels are grouped under "Mediacorp"~
 

Silverback84

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
14,453
Reaction score
0
dvb-t/c and also digital tuner. I tried using to digital tuner but to no avail. mine is a samsung ua46es6200.
 

mrsun18

Master Member
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
2,809
Reaction score
0
my tuner does not display the channel no. & freq~ It was grouped under "unknown", while the rest of the existing digital channels are grouped under "Mediacorp"~
Thanks. Guess have to press MediaCorp or MDA for the info as owners, such as those in landed proerties and private condos, who use their own antennae would welcome the details to know if modifcations are required.
 

mrsun18

Master Member
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
2,809
Reaction score
0
dvb-t/c and also digital tuner. I tried using to digital tuner but to no avail. mine is a samsung ua46es6200.
If you are talking about tuning to dvb-t2, then you need a dvb-t2 tuner.

I don't think there is any tv set with dvb-t2 tuner in sg at this moment. I am sure the makers would advertise big big when the time comes.
 

Silverback84

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
14,453
Reaction score
0
If you are talking about tuning to dvb-t2, then you need a dvb-t2 tuner.

I don't think there is any tv set with dvb-t2 tuner in sg at this moment. I am sure the makers would advertise big big when the time comes.

thanks for the info.
 

suangern

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2006
Messages
2,394
Reaction score
0
I wrote to MediaCorp in Jan this year to find out on which chan/frequency they will be trasmitting the new signals. They have yet to reply to me. Whether there is a need for additional antenna or modification is not known until the information is available. Regardless of the transmission, new tv set with dvb t2 standard or set top box will be required except for pay tv customers.
When you're watching under Ch 29, there is a scrolling text telling you to tune into Ch 38.

Old: Ch 29 (now left with black screen liao)
New: Ch 38
 

sunsetbay

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jul 3, 2000
Messages
46,459
Reaction score
26
Thanks. Guess have to press MediaCorp or MDA for the info as owners, such as those in landed proerties and private condos, who use their own antennae would welcome the details to know if modifcations are required.

i just realised i can view the freq setting by changing the channels grouping~
the previous dvb-t2 trial was on 602Mhz~ it was the same freq as the previous TVmobile~

if existing pte ppties owners already able to recv FTA digital channels, i dun think they need special antenna~
 

Kiwi8

Honorary Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
May 3, 2001
Messages
113,554
Reaction score
265
i just realised i can view the freq setting by changing the channels grouping~
the previous dvb-t2 trial was on 602Mhz~ it was the same freq as the previous TVmobile~

if existing pte ppties owners already able to recv FTA digital channels, i dun think they need special antenna~

I reckon the existing antennas will still be applicable since the modulation into analog signals (to send over the air) will still be the same... ie a DVB-T2 signal @ 610Mhz can be received by an antenna that can receive a DVB-T signal @ 610Mhz. It's just the receiver that needs to support DVB-T2 in order to decode the DVB-T2 signals. :o
 

mrsun18

Master Member
Joined
May 30, 2011
Messages
2,809
Reaction score
0
i just realised i can view the freq setting by changing the channels grouping~
the previous dvb-t2 trial was on 602Mhz~ it was the same freq as the previous TVmobile~
Chan 37! This was what a tv maintenance contractor told me, but I didn't believe him then.


if existing pte ppties owners already able to recv FTA digital channels, i dun think they need special antenna~
There are specialised matv systems which cater solely for the channels to be received (read post #1 http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/h...cussion-thread-[consolidated]-3614256-18.html). They will not be able to receive new channels not catered for.

These type of systems ars expensive and are only economically feasible when they serve large number of units, as in the case of hdb or private condo. Landed property owners are not expected to install this kind of system.

On the other hand, there are plenty of bungalows worth $10M or $20M in Singapore. I won't rule out the possibility of such owners installing these specialised systems.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top