Singapore Treasury bills (T-bills)

oric1

yield is so low, wonder if anyone still going for it? The last time i bought was 3%
Yes. Been building ladder every 2 weeks since 2023 and getting average slightly over 3% now fortnightly even though it's on a downward trend, sooner or later it will pickup again.

reddevil0728

Yes. Been building ladder every 2 weeks since 2023 and getting average slightly over 3% now fortnightly even though it's on a downward trend, sooner or later it will pickup again.
Pick up again really depends on whether interest rate will increase lor.

and something must happen to the world for that to take place.

reddevil0728

Sg bill yield 1.9pa☹️
US bills higher cos uncertainty of fed n admin policies?
Not as straightforward as it looks. USD rates are higher mainly because the U.S. Fed uses interest rates to fight inflation, so theirs go up and down a lot.

Singapore’s system is different. MAS controls inflation by managing the SGD exchange rate instead of raising interest rates. So our rates stay lower and more stable.

That’s why you see higher USD deposit rates, but that doesn’t automatically mean you’ll earn more. Once you convert your SGD to USD, you’re taking exchange rate risk. If USD drops against SGD later, the higher interest can easily be cancelled out, or you might even lose when converting back.

In short, the higher USD rate already prices in that risk, markets expect USD to weaken over time.

If got such good deal, will be earning loads liao

reddevil0728

@Cowbellc

anyway like i said in the other thread. what's the point about being sad? we know life is never so straightforward. this is a known thing.

so instead of channeling the energy to feel sad about what's known. might as well channel the energy to do something to make the best of it.

how old are you? any investments other than just trying to put into savings

Cowbellc

@Cowbellc

anyway like i said in the other thread. what's the point about being sad? we know life is never so straightforward. this is a known thing.

so instead of channeling the energy to feel sad about what's known. might as well channel the energy to do something to make the best of it.

how old are you? any other investments other than just trying to put into savings
Actually i allocate 100k for investment.
Dun like to take risk so juz t bills or FD when there's a code
Dun wanna do long term cos body not as gd as b4.
Rest juz in bank earning pitiful interest lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.