Singtel terminate fiber and home phone line together

WWE_Fan

I am going to terminiate my fiber broadband with Stinktel soon too. Already sign up with a new telco and she told me to call Stinktel and say want to debundle the phone line. Hope this is the last thing I deal Stinktel.

Really pissed with their CS. Hotline waited damn long, CS provide inaccurate info, senior CS trying play big boss...

If you cannot port the home line to VQ, you can consider let the line remain under ST.

Henry Ng

If you guys don't believe me, you can call the Singtel Termination department person named 'Mauie' on this as she told me that my home phone line will be terminated if I terminate my internet fiber line.
Yes, it is true because your phone bundled with your internet plan. You must get another new digital phone line to bundle to your plan. Then you debundle your existing number from your plan. Then you go to new isp to sign up and ask for phone number pop in from existing isp to new isp. After successful popin to new isp with the new service up, thwn you terminate the old isp. After termination the new phone which is bundle to the plan will be terminated too.

Henry Ng

I am trying to get a vpn to see whether using a vpn connection can make connection to overseas sites faster. If yes, i will always use a vpn connection.

VanSaim

Just wondering.

Did anyone or somebody informed IDA about this issue that we can't retain the existing number if we move to different provider?

It appears the ISP doesn't inform existing customer about the Fiber voice line and your exsiting Analog voice line.

It appears the ISP just don't care and they terminate your analog line without your knowledge and if you terminate your Fiber, they also terminate your voice line.

IDA design infrastructure flaws again, forgetting about the new Fiber line support for TV and Voice communication.

Allowing ISP to bundle all 3 into one Service is a BIG NO NO.

andr3wyong

Hmm I actually signed up with VQ and de-bundled the line. Checked with VQ and due to "marketing decision" the big 3 will not allow retention of numbers

If you are interested in the technical reason it's not that it can't be done but it is great added cost in infrastructure and complexity do inter-ISP phone call routing to support number porting.

Thus in the interest of prioritizing customers subscription fee on the broadband, service and content experience/value add for VQ, number portability is something that won't be offered by VQ presently.

hmsweethm

Yes, the fiber is already out of contract and yet SingTel's replies seem like they are forcing people to retain fiber line if they want to keep their analog land line....
im on m1 + digital voice. When my vq comes in next wk, I will terminate m1. Cannot port no. to vq.
So now considering whether to get vq one voice.
Recently I called singtel abt land line(analog)
I am able to get it. Just tat now the rental for 3mths is 20plus instead of 10plus.
I dun see why yr analog line cannot maintain. Sometimes these circumstances just forces u to be a bas***d.

xonix

I am considering migrating from my SingNet 10Mbps ADSL Broadband to Fibre Broadband at the end of my current contract.

I've read the information in this thread that in event of termination of fibre broadband service, subscriber cannot keep the fixed analogue line ?

So if I want to keep the fixed analogue line, I have to apply for an extra line when subscribing to the new Fibre Broadband service provider ?

Curious question, if the fibre service is coming thru the fibre optic termination point, why do we need to subscribe a phone line anyway ? Read from Netlink Trust faq that we don't need to a phone line for fibre services.

Link: http://www.netlinktrust.com/help/faq/for-commercial-tenants/

Do I require a fixed telephone line or cable line to enjoy fibre services?
No, you do not require a fixed telephone line or cable line to enjoy fibre services.

Streetwise

I am considering migrating from my SingNet 10Mbps ADSL Broadband to Fibre Broadband at the end of my current contract.

I've read the information in this thread that in event of termination of fibre broadband service, subscriber cannot keep the fixed analogue line ?

So if I want to keep the fixed analogue line, I have to apply for an extra line when subscribing to the new Fibre Broadband service provider ?

Where did u get ur info from? The pple who face a hassle is when they are on miotv and analogue line is bundle with it. I've migrated from ADSL BB(not bundle) to fibre on singtel.My analogue line is not bundle, thus, I do not hve issue.

xonix

Where did u get ur info from? The pple who face a hassle is when they are on miotv and analogue line is bundle with it. I've migrated from ADSL BB(not bundle) to fibre on singtel.My analogue line is not bundle, thus, I do not hve issue.

I see... understand now. I also decided to have my services with Singtel ( mobile, broadband & phone ) remained separate when re-contracting my last broadband plan fearing exactly this kind of problems.

Good to know that my fixed line will not be affected by the switch.

upgrade

FYI, my home phone line has with us for 30 years and when I subscribe to fiber line in 2011, they force me to bundle with fiber line.

I'm still paying both the fiber and home phone line separately even on this bundle. Now I just want to terminate the fiber line without terminating the home phone line which I am still paying. They said cannot, both will be terminated!

I subscribe to ST Home Entertainment Bundle (FEB) in Oct 2013 and they wanted to give me a digital line (new number) as part of the bundle. I told them I wanted my existing analog line to be part of the bundle instead. I no longer pay for the analog 3-monthly subscription when the FEB went into effect. they did not force me in any way. If I wanted, I could have a free digital line and a paying analog line.

So your claim of "I'm still paying both the fiber and home phone line separately even on this bundle." is not possible as a bundled phone line (whether digital or analog) is free. Free, as in no need to pay for it since it is part of the bundle.

VanSaim

I subscribe to ST Home Entertainment Bundle (FEB) in Oct 2013 and they wanted to give me a digital line (new number) as part of the bundle. I told them I wanted my existing analog line to be part of the bundle instead. I no longer pay for the analog 3-monthly subscription when the FEB went into effect. they did not force me in any way. If I wanted, I could have a free digital line and a paying analog line.

So your claim of "I'm still paying both the fiber and home phone line separately even on this bundle." is not possible as a bundled phone line (whether digital or analog) is free. Free, as in no need to pay for it since it is part of the bundle.
The difference for me is that they did not inform me that they will terminate my analog line and without my knowledge. I had to call them to reinstate my analog line back. (Sep 2013 where I upgrade from ADSL to 200/100 fiber optic MioTv home entertainment bundle)

It was after a few days that I notice it when my wife and in-laws complaint they could not received calls. (I think they were trying to link my analog number to digital line, but failed due to infrastructure problems. This number is retained number from my previous home)

Although the digital line is free, at least inform the customer before termination. They did not have the authorized signature of the customer.

If MDA and IDA wants to convert the copper cables to fiber optics for TV and Telephone, they should pre-plan many years ago with separated fiber optics for homes. One for TV/Telephone and one for Internet connection. That way, ISP cannot monopolize everything.

I only know that MDA new digital TV can be wireless but must purchase the Antenna/Digital TV box separately from a Digital TV for homes without fiber optic for now.

upgrade

The difference for me is that they did not inform me that they will terminate my analog line and without my knowledge. I had to call them to reinstate my analog line back. (Sep 2013 where I upgrade from ADSL to 200/100 fiber optic MioTv home entertainment bundle)

Although the digital line is free, at least inform the customer before termination. They did not have the authorized signature of the customer.

Looks like yours is also a Fibre Entertainment Bundle. If you tell them you want to cancel your Fibre and mioTV but keep your analog line which is part of the bundle, I won't be surprised they say cannot.

You see, the front-end staff at ST are no longer intelligent human beings. They are now robots dressed to look like human beings. They don't have a brain programmed to think, but programmed to follow what is Bundle and what is not. To convert a phone out from a bundle to a standalone is not in their brain program.

1688 lead you to a Call Centre and from the sound, I think is in India.

Send in a complain or request using their email submission at:
Contact Us - SingTel

You will received an almost immediate standard computerised acknowledgement with a case number. Now you have a case number with your case in black-and-white in their system and they have to reply you. They normally reply the next working day.

From the names in their reply, it seems this is yet another eMail "Call" Centre in Pinoy Land.

They do have your instruction to do so when you terminate the FEB.

If MDA and IDA wants to convert the copper cables to fiber optics for TV and Telephone, they should pre-plan many years ago with separated fiber optics for homes. One for TV/Telephone and one for Internet connection. That way, ISP cannot monopolize everything.

This is not iDA/MDA decision. All copper wires belong to ST, not iDA/MDA. ST made the request and iDA agreed to the request. Any cost to lay new copper to new estate is ST's, even if it ended up the new home owners use digital lines from other ISPs. Sometime, we have to see the cost of doing business, especially wasting upfront cost that will not bring business. This is not just a line to your home, but an entire copper infrastructure to your whole new estate. This is an unfortunate consequence of Next Generation Nationwide Broadband Network.

I do not know whether new homes still have the coaxial cable output. The infrastructure cost for these used to be HDB's during the time of rooftop antenna, no SCV/StarhubTV yet. But now with SCV/StarhubTV, who bear the costs? All I know is that iDA claim that the new Digital signal cannot be received by the rooftop antenna although I read in the newspaper forum that one home owner claimed he can.

I only know that MDA new digital TV can be wireless but must purchase the Antenna/Digital TV box separately from a Digital TV for homes without fiber optic for now.

MediaCorp digital TV is still Free to Air (FTA). I never like the idea of having a digital tuner box and indoor antenna. I see this as the Govt failure to serve the citizens. The least they should do is to upgrade the rooftop antenna and since they have no control whether home owners have old TVs (no digital tuners) or new TVs (with digital tuners).

VanSaim

This is not iDA/MDA decision. All copper wires belong to ST, not iDA/MDA. ST made the request and iDA agreed to the request. Any cost to lay new copper to new estate is ST's, even if it ended up the new home owners use digital lines from other ISPs. Sometime, we have to see the cost of doing business, especially wasting upfront cost that will not bring business. This is not just a line to your home, but an entire copper infrastructure to your whole new estate. This is an unfortunate consequence of Next Generation Nationwide Broadband Network.

I do not know whether new homes still have the coaxial cable output. The infrastructure cost for these used to be HDB's during the time of rooftop antenna, no SCV/StarhubTV yet. But now with SCV/StarhubTV, who bear the costs? All I know is that iDA claim that the new Digital signal cannot be received by the rooftop antenna although I read in the newspaper forum that one home owner claimed he can.
Why not? It's Government decision. As mentioned, we need separate fiber optic lines since they are moving away from copper/axial. We can no longer put up Antennas anymore in roof tops like the old times unless we get approval.

Why force everything into one ISP? We can separate the Internet and TV/Telephone network, so they cannot force you to terminate other services.

TV/Telephone should be a separate services and independent, i.e one service for one line.

MediaCorp digital TV is still Free to Air (FTA). I never like the idea of having a digital tuner box and indoor antenna. I see this as the Govt failure to serve the citizens. The least they should do is to upgrade the rooftop antenna and since they have no control whether home owners have old TVs (no digital tuners) or new TVs (with digital tuners).
Not all areas have wireless Digital TV signals. Currently, we are on StarHub cable infrastructure for TV. Very soon they will phase out this. But do remember, it's free viewing. The last time the co-axial cables cost was Government installation initiative, cost borne by them as far as I re-call.

So, I don't see why all this cost is borne by private ISP.

Streetwise

All I know is that iDA claim that the new Digital signal cannot be received by the rooftop antenna although I read in the newspaper forum that one home owner claimed he can.

To my limited knowledge, rooftop antennas do rec'd digital signals...but all new HDB do not hve rooftop antenna.....thus, rooftop antennas will disappear as old flats make way for new flats.

Personally, I'm in line with ur thoughts on Gov providing rooftop antenna but bear in mind that all costs comes back to taxpayers and plus the fact that they did away with the TV licence tax. As digital signal is 100% covered in S'pore....do we really need an external antenna or can we rely on `built-in' antenna on the TV is something I would be curious about since the roll out is to ensure all households can rec'd strong digital signals....

Henry Ng

Why not? It's Government decision. As mentioned, we need separate fiber optic lines since they are moving away from copper/axial. We can no longer put up Antennas anymore in roof tops like the old times unless we get approval.

Why force everything into one ISP? We can separate the Internet and TV/Telephone network, so they cannot force you to terminate other services.

TV/Telephone should be a separate services and independent, i.e one service for one line.

Not all areas have wireless Digital TV signals. Currently, we are on StarHub cable infrastructure for TV. Very soon they will phase out this. But do remember, it's free viewing. The last time the co-axial cables cost was Government installation initiative, cost borne by them as far as I re-call.

So, I don't see why all this cost is borne by private ISP.

How do u know very soon cable Tv will be phase out? Where u get the information from? Most people using SH to watch free to air channels.

VanSaim

How do u know very soon cable Tv will be phase out? Where u get the information from? Most people using SH to watch free to air channels.
http://www.mda.gov.sg/PublicEducation/DigitalTvConsumers/Pages/DigitalBroadcastingRoadmap.aspx
In the meantime, consumers can continue to receive free-to-air TV channels in the same way as existing analogue TV signals will continue to be broadcast alongside the digital TV signals for at least another two years.*

Not confirmed yet, you still can hold on to your pants.

MDA - FAQs
When can households expect to receive digital TV signals?
The digital TV network will be rolled out progressively across different parts of Singapore over the next two to three years.
Residents in Bukit Batok, Jurong East, Ang Mo Kio, Clementi, Bukit Timah, Bukit Panjang and Choa Chu Kang South are now able to receive the digital TV channels as these estates are now covered by the new digital broadcast infrastructure. Over the next two to three years, coverage will be expanded progressively to enable all residential homes to receive digital TV signals using indoor antennae.

Doesn't makes sense to use wireless when you can run fiber optic. We are going backwards to the 1950s? I wonder it will affect Home Internet Wireless Network as it can interfere with the signals.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.