Some considerations for selecting the right WiFi device for your wireless network

parmeet_50b

Junior Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2006
Messages
86
Reaction score
0
Help for Infiniti Access Points

Hi guys I am not sure if this the right place to post his but does anyone here have any contact of networking specialists. I had recently used some networking guys to install the infrastructure at my new place. As it is over three floors I was recommended an access point system.

They install 3 Infiniti Pro access points (one on each floor) but I find my internet is extremely unstable. I have asked them to come and after some trouble shooting the internet works ok but when they leave I am faced with the same problem. The thing is that its very costly to keep calling them back and paying per hour charges when the problem is still not resolved.

In fact i dont even have full coverage as I cannot get a good signal at certain spots in the house. Can some kind soul point me towards a more reasonable company or any freelance expert who i can work with. Please help PM me so that I can get a second opinion. Thank you for your help.
 

darkmiel

Junior Member
Joined
Jan 23, 2018
Messages
48
Reaction score
0
I moved from a bigger house (1 story but 2 living rooms/5 bedrooms) to a small 3 room flat recently and my wifi speeds are slow as hell. I never had problems at my old place despite the wifi having to go through 3 walls to reach my bedroom. Here, every night from 7pm~10pm it's almost unbearable and I keep getting dc'd from my games. Netflix drops to blurry 240p halfway through a show. The router is in the living room with the tv, but my flat layout has bedrooms around the living room, so it shouldn't be an issue right?

When I moved the ST guy took my old issued router and replaced it with a new aztech. I'm on 500M plan but highest I've gotten is 20Mbps during non-peak hours and as low as 3-8Mbps during peak hours. It's my fault for not paying to get a LAN port wired to my room, but other than that, idk what's the issue rn. Did my electrician f*ck me over somehow or is this new router just garbage? Should I get a 100 dollar Asus one or something? My family is facing the same issues in their bedrooms too. They mostly just surf fb and watch netflix, no one torrents or anything.
 

Joewyf0713

Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2017
Messages
176
Reaction score
0
Hi guys, is router or an access point better in term of performance when both is on same benchmark ac2600 ? I just bought a D-link DAP 1860 AC2600 wifi extender as this device can be connected to the modem and act as an access point. Currently my service provider is MyRepublic and 1Gbps Ultra plan, going to add-on another 1Gpbs pot so that I can add one more router or access point in my bedroom, as mentioned I bought the dap1860 for extending the wifi from the current MyRepublic Halo router but the speed was not satisfying. While waiting the activation for my add-on, I’m considering to replace the DAP1860 if router performs better speed and stability under same AC. Please share your knowledge with me as I’m new to this network thing. Thank you so much. Peace
 

MyRepublic

Featured Sponsor
Joined
Nov 10, 2011
Messages
200
Reaction score
0
Hi guys, is router or an access point better in term of performance when both is on same benchmark ac2600 ? I just bought a D-link DAP 1860 AC2600 wifi extender as this device can be connected to the modem and act as an access point. Currently my service provider is MyRepublic and 1Gbps Ultra plan, going to add-on another 1Gpbs pot so that I can add one more router or access point in my bedroom, as mentioned I bought the dap1860 for extending the wifi from the current MyRepublic Halo router but the speed was not satisfying. While waiting the activation for my add-on, I’m considering to replace the DAP1860 if router performs better speed and stability under same AC. Please share your knowledge with me as I’m new to this network thing. Thank you so much. Peace

Hey there! Thanks for being our customer :s12:!

We'd suggest getting more access points for larger coverage vs upgrading your router. From a cost perspective, you might be spending much more with low returns. What kinds of speeds are you getting now?

If you're looking at more access points, do keep in mind their positions in your home, distance, walls etc.
 

hellya007

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
29
Reaction score
0
Optimal wifi is possible if every house has a sound Ethernet layout. Best is to use wired mesh. Having stable internet and seemless ssid is best
 

pulp2000

Junior Member
Joined
May 25, 2007
Messages
80
Reaction score
0
Hi folks, want to seek some advice on home wifi enhancement. With WFH and Home based learning via zoom, wifi in my 3 rooms (with aircon)really cannot make it. Got to work at dining hall or living room to stay connected but no aircon there :(

My current asus RT-AC68U is in living room and coverage is good until dining area. What are my options?
1) Get another RT-AC68U to setup AImesh
2) Get some mesh system like deco m5? But that means I got to throw away my favorite RT-AC68U?
3) any other option I miss out?

For advice, please. Thanks
 

kycpokemon

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
66
Reaction score
1
Is mesh really good?

Yes, it's really good. It increases the range without decreasing your speed. I used to have a TP-Link repeater, the range was good, but the speed was around 20Mbps, but connecting direct to router gave me around 130Mbps.
I then switched to Singtel WiFi Mesh, and the speeds are now better, with 140Mbps when connected to the main router, and 70-100Mbps when connecting to my satellite. (the 2nd mesh access point) I also just need to connect to 1 SSID, no need to create 1 more for the repeater.

Although, I thinking of switching to AiMesh as I have an existing AC68u, planning to replace that main unit with AX92u when price drops. As AX92u is Tri-Band and according to Asus, as long as your main router is Tri-Band, there will be 5GHz backhaul for more stable and faster speeds.
 

killachicken

Supremacy Member
Joined
May 31, 2001
Messages
5,251
Reaction score
0
I am currently using an ac88. Signal is strong but speed is seriously lacking at under 20mb/s on my laptop and iPhone on 2.4 and slightly higher at 200 on 5ghz and moving near doesn’t improve things much

I have hard resetted the Router, tried changing channels and have the same speed. Lan cable to laptop is fine going at almost fully claim isp speed

Issit my router gonna kichia soon ? It has been almost 4 years..

Thinking of trying out the ax3 pro or ax3600 if that’s the case
 

kycpokemon

Junior Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
66
Reaction score
1
I am currently using an ac88. Signal is strong but speed is seriously lacking at under 20mb/s on my laptop and iPhone on 2.4 and slightly higher at 200 on 5ghz and moving near doesn’t improve things much

I have hard resetted the Router, tried changing channels and have the same speed. Lan cable to laptop is fine going at almost fully claim isp speed

Issit my router gonna kichia soon ? It has been almost 4 years..

Thinking of trying out the ax3 pro or ax3600 if that’s the case

I saw from the Router thread that AX3 Pro and AX3600 cannot connect direct to Singtel ONT. Because Singtel has VLAN Tagging but the routers don't support it. If getting that, would need to set it to AP mode.
 

That7days

Junior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2013
Messages
24
Reaction score
0
I am currently using an ac88. Signal is strong but speed is seriously lacking at under 20mb/s on my laptop and iPhone on 2.4 and slightly higher at 200 on 5ghz and moving near doesn’t improve things much

I have hard resetted the Router, tried changing channels and have the same speed. Lan cable to laptop is fine going at almost fully claim isp speed

Issit my router gonna kichia soon ? It has been almost 4 years..

Thinking of trying out the ax3 pro or ax3600 if that’s the case
I just changed my ac88u with the ea8100(starhub)..after latest firmware update, the ac88u gave me a hard time🥺with low speeds/missing 5ghz band..Had the spare ea8100, swapped it and getting abt 300 down and up throughout the day.Was going to get the ax3600 or the ax58 but decided to use the linksys instead.😅
 

a120102

Junior Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
I'm also using wired Cat 6 cable but I still have some disparity from claimed ISP speed. Reset modem and router and what not also. Any suggestions
 

xiaofan

Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
9,859
Reaction score
139
I'm also using wired Cat 6 cable but I still have some disparity from claimed ISP speed. Reset modem and router and what not also. Any suggestions

Which ISP? Which test device you use? What kind of speed did you get?

It could be ONT/ONR fault and you may have to contact the ISP.
 

LoneTraveller

Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2012
Messages
5,151
Reaction score
505
I moved from a bigger house (1 story but 2 living rooms/5 bedrooms) to a small 3 room flat recently and my wifi speeds are slow as hell. I never had problems at my old place despite the wifi having to go through 3 walls to reach my bedroom. Here, every night from 7pm~10pm it's almost unbearable and I keep getting dc'd from my games. Netflix drops to blurry 240p halfway through a show. The router is in the living room with the tv, but my flat layout has bedrooms around the living room, so it shouldn't be an issue right?

When I moved the ST guy took my old issued router and replaced it with a new aztech. I'm on 500M plan but highest I've gotten is 20Mbps during non-peak hours and as low as 3-8Mbps during peak hours. It's my fault for not paying to get a LAN port wired to my room, but other than that, idk what's the issue rn. Did my electrician f*ck me over somehow or is this new router just garbage? Should I get a 100 dollar Asus one or something? My family is facing the same issues in their bedrooms too. They mostly just surf fb and watch netflix, no one torrents or anything.
This could be due to various reasons

1. Your old house did not have a high density of families around hence less wifi interference.
2. The walls at Your old place may not be concrete walls but drywood(like the new hdb btos) which does not interfere with wifi signals.

Best if you could show us a layout plan of your current place so people can advise you on your best options.
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top