Standard Chartered annual fee story

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Emperor_Hippo

come across comment in SC facebook. bank can like this one meh, must pay annual fee then cancel .
dont pay annual fee,sc confirm charge interest.
the card i use often going 1 year
better cancel first if not later headache
what happen to SC, full of complaints.

fb comment
Standard Chartered Singapore Updating for everyone to know SC's response thus far: Someone called to repeat the same bs that the bank cannot waive my annual fee, and that if I want to cancel the card, I have to make full payment including annual fee. Only when the balance is zero then I can cancel the card blablabla escalate my case and now I am expecting another follow-up earliest by tomorrow or 3-5 days (by then the annual fee would have been due and if I don't pay, there will be late fees -.- ?!) Still can't believe I'm forced by SC to pay for a service I intend to terminate.. feeling scammed!!! Definitely warning family, friends, colleagues, anyone and everyone of this ordeal. Lets see if this has to get escalated to FIDReC.
I don't even need to request to waive my Citi card.

auto waive + got bonus miles.

:s12:

drkcynic

Did the person cancel card before the due date for the annual fee or after the due date?

I will request cancellation BEFORE due date. If after, means start of the new cycle they have grounds to insist you pay up.

Lolicious

some other big banks also have this practice and they can even guai lan and "threaten" me that i need to clear off my outstanding before i can cancel. my outstanding was big, but it was my monthly expenditure and notcarried from previous month. i guess the cso didnt do his work properly

i paid off my the outstanding in the bank itself next day and i requested to terminate not just the cc card but my saving account, fd, investment and also business account. the rm of the branch engage me individually immediately but i just told her off la. im a small fry thats why bank overlook me, but sg got so many other banks why limit yrself to the usual ones. annual fee just pay lor, i paid and terminate all my services on the spot

XiaoJinLing

makes me wonder why UOB charge $18 annually for debit cards.
I ask for waiver and ask them to just give me normal atm card how to use as I use the credit card instead.... they waive it and discourage the atm card saying if u wan atm card can only go down in-person to the branch to do it...

zuppeur

Weird. I hold SC cards for so many years they never charge me annual fee before. Sometimes I wonder if somehow my account fell through the cracks. Lol

i think this only happened quite recent leh. you wait for their surprise. only smart sc no AF

hwarzoner

I ask for waiver and ask them to just give me normal atm card how to use as I use the credit card instead.... they waive it and discourage the atm card saying if u wan atm card can only go down in-person to the branch to do it...
Same i also want an ATM card, the one card need to pay annual fee. Really trouble some

Emperor_Hippo

some other big banks also have this practice and they can even guai lan and "threaten" me that i need to clear off my outstanding before i can cancel. my outstanding was big, but it was my monthly expenditure and notcarried from previous month. i guess the cso didnt do his work properly

i paid off my the outstanding in the bank itself next day and i requested to terminate not just the cc card but my saving account, fd, investment and also business account. the rm of the branch engage me individually immediately but i just told her off la. im a small fry thats why bank overlook me, but sg got so many other banks why limit yrself to the usual ones. annual fee just pay lor, i paid and terminate all my services on the spot

If u got RM, its ur RM's responsibility to settle this kind of annual fee nonsense directly with cards department.

drkcynic

Some banks waived for you, cancelled for you, but still report you to the credit bureau.

I kenna from shltty bank. Request for card cancellation due to annual fee. It was successful and nothing was said.

Then when i applied for housing loan from another bank, their operations flagged that shltty bank had reported me to credit bureau. Damn knn.

Harschow

I have been using the SC Manhattan / Unlimited card for a decade. However, my latest bill included annual fees, and I was unable to request a waiver through the app, email, or phone. I typically spend around $1500 per month with this card.

I will pay off the outstanding balance and move on.

Goodbye, SC.

koreanlover

Some banks waived for you, cancelled for you, but still report you to the credit bureau.

I kenna from shltty bank. Request for card cancellation due to annual fee. It was successful and nothing was said.

Then when i applied for housing loan from another bank, their operations flagged that shltty bank had reported me to credit bureau. Damn knn.
Did you complain to MAS ?

F3Rm1nat0r

I have been using the SC Manhattan / Unlimited card for a decade. However, my latest bill included annual fees, and I was unable to request a waiver through the app, email, or phone. I typically spend around $1500 per month with this card.
I will pay off the outstanding balance and move on.
Goodbye, SC.

same

Sent from Buhuhahahahaha

hybridz

Guys, how do you get through to a customer service rep on the phone service 6747 7000?

Reason for calling is because I just realized my SC card got annual fee charged in May. Wanted to call to cancel my card if they don't reverse the charge but unable to arrive at an option to speak to someone despite trying different options and multiple calls. Worse still, SC card is on GIRO so last month's charges including annual fee already paid so don't really think they will reverse and credit back to me but still want to try.

cybertech

Managed to get my Simply Cash CC annual fee waived using the phone apps. Next will be my Spree CC annual fee will try few days later, this Spree if cannot waive will cancel coz basically never use.

kan-kon

sc the only bank cc that i have blacklisted..

ocbc cc did the same with annual fees, oso cancelled..

addict951

Managed to get my Simply Cash CC annual fee waived using the phone apps. Next will be my Spree CC annual fee will try few days later, this Spree if cannot waive will cancel coz basically never use.
@cybertech
Keep and use the spree kard. You get c b even if you use it to make payment on the axs app. Try it
It has better c b compared to simplycash. This cc is rubbish nao

cybertech

@cybertech
Keep and use the spree kard. You get c b even if you use it to make payment on the axs app. Try it
It has better c b compared to simplycash. This cc is rubbish nao
Isn't Simply Cash 1.5% cash rebate without minimum spend per month? And yes, almost all CC payment using AXS got no rebate.

Tedicious

till date, I still dont understand y bank charge annual fee.
shldnt the bank be encourgaing ppl to hold the card as long as possible?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.