Standard Chartered - Only Online Trading in town with no minimum commission

Status
Not open for further replies.

badboi123

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
Eh just want to check if you guys
I'm interested in penny stocks.

and one of the Standard Chartered (SC) staff right
told me that
not all penny stocks below $1 can be found in NYSE or NASDAQ ?
Informed that 2015 sep onwards SC change their policy on stocks below $1

Another staff said
whatever is available under US market basically their(Nasdaq and NYSE) domain page
will be available to buy and sell through SC

Like that how siol ?
Those who already trading, ever tried looking into penny stocks ?

Note: I am still waiting for acc activation
 

limster

Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2000
Messages
9,555
Reaction score
415
Eh just want to check if you guys
I'm interested in penny stocks.

and one of the Standard Chartered (SC) staff right
told me that
not all penny stocks below $1 can be found in NYSE or NASDAQ ?
Informed that 2015 sep onwards SC change their policy on stocks below $1

Another staff said
whatever is available under US market basically their(Nasdaq and NYSE) domain page
will be available to buy and sell through SC

Like that how siol ?
Those who already trading, ever tried looking into penny stocks ?

Note: I am still waiting for acc activation


how are you planning to trade USA penny stocks on Stanchart without realtime data?
 

Asphodeli

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2001
Messages
16,830
Reaction score
57
Eh just want to check if you guys
I'm interested in penny stocks.

and one of the Standard Chartered (SC) staff right
told me that
not all penny stocks below $1 can be found in NYSE or NASDAQ ?
Informed that 2015 sep onwards SC change their policy on stocks below $1

Another staff said
whatever is available under US market basically their(Nasdaq and NYSE) domain page
will be available to buy and sell through SC

Like that how siol ?
Those who already trading, ever tried looking into penny stocks ?

Note: I am still waiting for acc activation

SC platform not for trading one...very limited in terms of features. you get what you paid for ma...:s22:
 

limster

Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2000
Messages
9,555
Reaction score
415
https://www.sc.com/sg/personal-banking/investment/online-trading/en/disclaimer.html

All the data is not realtime except that SCB gets some free data from "Nasdaq last sale". Nasdaq last sale does not display best bid or order. Surely a day trader needs best bid or order info??? How you trade without knowing this?

If you are investing and buy a slow moving ETF like VWRD / IWDA, then I would say real-time data not that critical. Can always key in a couple of ticks below the realtime last done price, and then move up till order is filled if you want.

But you can't do that for fast moving counters. to cut the long story short, IBKR, NYSE / Nasdaq lvl 1 is $1.50/mth each. Surely a day trader can earn enough to cover that....

=:p
 

badboi123

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
Actually I wanted to open up acc at SAXO but min deposit 10k
So i thought of starting with SC (slowly save up and get profit and meet target if possible)

Since some of you said that its "not in real-time" and others say in "real time". I feel unsafe to do my usual day trading or take profit within a week. You guys know about day traders right, btw 5 to 12% take profit and go.

I still blur with
-exchange rate charges
-hidden charges
-and any other charges
(That is why I gonna try out with small sum and see how it goes)

Just submitted my CAR application
Now I need to do only 2 things

Check
what companies are available (guess some will be missing) ?
and gonna see how the tool gonna function (check in real time or not) ?

Thanks for sharing guys
appreciate it

Note: I'm talking about market shares investment not about Forex trading. When i say "day trader", it means I buy and sell market shares within a fixed period.
 
Last edited:

Perisher

Great Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
68,682
Reaction score
2,579
Actually I wanted to open up acc at SAXO but min deposit 10k
So i thought of starting with SC (slowly save up and get profit and meet target if possible)

Since some of you said that its "not in real-time" and others say in "real time". I feel unsafe to do my usual day trading or take profit within a week. You guys know about day traders right, btw 5 to 12% take profit and go.

I still blur with
-exchange rate charges
-hidden charges
-and any other charges
(That is why I gonna try out with small sum and see how it goes)

Just submitted my CAR application
Now I need to do only 2 things

Check
what companies are available (guess some will be missing) ?
and gonna see how the tool gonna function (check in real time or not) ?

Thanks for sharing guys
appreciate it

Note: I'm talking about market shares investment not about Forex trading. When i say "day trader", it means I buy and sell market shares within a fixed period.

The prices quoted in SCB maybe real-time but as a trader, you shouldn't be using SCB which has limited functions and mutiple down time throughout the year. It will kill any trader. It is more for those who don't mind holding stocks.

Btw, SCB doesn't have any other charges besides comms for buy/sell. Nothing.
Exchange rate spread is quite wide though.
 

limster

Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2000
Messages
9,555
Reaction score
415
The prices quoted in SCB maybe real-time but as a trader,

I know you are using SCB to trade US shares, but are you sure that SCB displays real time BBO. The link to SCB says specifically that they only provide Nasdaq last sale which is realtime last done info not current bid-offer. To a trader, there is a huge difference, otherwise people wouldn't be paying money for the data.
 

badboi123

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
The prices quoted in SCB maybe real-time but as a trader, you shouldn't be using SCB which has limited functions and mutiple down time throughout the year. It will kill any trader. It is more for those who don't mind holding stocks.

Btw, SCB doesn't have any other charges besides comms for buy/sell. Nothing.
Exchange rate spread is quite wide though.

I considered so many things for trading
That is why I came up with the "day trading" plan and several other strategies for it.

However, what you said is really true. Most of the times, the platform we will be using must adapt to our aim. Else, the money will just go to trash.

I yet to try SC platform for online equities.
Will try it out as soon as my CAR application gets approved.
If it is not like what I expected. Then i have to move to Iocbc else SAXO.
 

Perisher

Great Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
68,682
Reaction score
2,579
I considered so many things for trading
That is why I came up with the "day trading" plan and several other strategies for it.

However, what you said is really true. Most of the times, the platform we will be using must adapt to our aim. Else, the money will just go to trash.

I yet to try SC platform for online equities.
Will try it out as soon as my CAR application gets approved.
If it is not like what I expected. Then i have to move to Iocbc else SAXO.

Why not interactive brokers?
 

Perisher

Great Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
68,682
Reaction score
2,579
I know you are using SCB to trade US shares, but are you sure that SCB displays real time BBO. The link to SCB says specifically that they only provide Nasdaq last sale which is realtime last done info not current bid-offer. To a trader, there is a huge difference, otherwise people wouldn't be paying money for the data.

I'm not sure, that's why I put a maybe. I'm actually discouraging traders from using SCB.
 

swathe

Supremacy Member
Joined
Feb 25, 2001
Messages
8,532
Reaction score
108
Can I ask if SCB holds your shares under their name instead of yours in the CDP, then if SCB gets into financial trouble, will your holdings with them be at risk?
 

yihao93

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2012
Messages
19,008
Reaction score
0
Can I ask if SCB holds your shares under their name instead of yours in the CDP, then if SCB gets into financial trouble, will your holdings with them be at risk?

Yes, you can ask.

Do u want to ask?
 

thosai

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
1,784
Reaction score
0
Can I ask if SCB holds your shares under their name instead of yours in the CDP, then if SCB gets into financial trouble, will your holdings with them be at risk?

Dont think so, cos the shares are still legally yours rite...
 

coloumbiaGames

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2008
Messages
15,948
Reaction score
77
Can I ask if SCB holds your shares under their name instead of yours in the CDP, then if SCB gets into financial trouble, will your holdings with them be at risk?

It is held under a different company..
nominee
 

badboi123

Junior Member
Joined
Nov 20, 2014
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
Just wanted to check something
there is a tab for "stop loss"

How about "Take profit" ?

I like to set a target for both stop loss and take profit. Not just for 1
 
Last edited:

Perisher

Great Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
68,682
Reaction score
2,579
Just wanted to check something
there is a tab for "stop loss"

How about "Take profit" ?

I like to set a target for both stop loss and take profit. Not just for 1

No there isn't. Even the stop loss is a daily function.
And just so you know, setting a selling price at a higher price and then a stop loss may cause you to execute 2 orders without having the shares.

e.g. You have 100 shares of ABC stock which is $100, you set stop loss at $95 and target at $105.
If ABC went up to $105 and drop to $95, both your orders will go through. Which means you sold 100 at $105 and sold 100 at $95.

I have not try it that way yet but if it really does the above, you are short-selling and need to cover back the stocks liao.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top