Starhub 1Gbps Fibre Review

vsvs24

Supremacy Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
5,971
Reaction score
442
Yes, that is what I wrote, people hardly used 2.4ghz, hardly != 100%, only 箫狼 still using 2.4ghz ☺️
Hardly = very few people use...

But still many on 2.4ghz only.

The very cheap android phone models still running on 2.4ghz only. I have a few device.

No need to look down on people using cheap or old version device.
 

vsvs24

Supremacy Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2018
Messages
5,971
Reaction score
442
wa, your english very vege lay, hardly != 100% != not very few people use, it can be 90%, 95%, 99%,
and 箫狼 != to look down on people using cheap or old version device, = bird people talking bird language
I wrote "It is often used by old/legacy devices", so what talking you ? Myna bird ?

You using not implying 50% of others are also using, who knows where you are from and what you are using ?
And if you want to quote on my post (when I am replying to others asking questions), then better get prepared to be called 箫狼
萧狼 is mad people in hokien right ? Why is it people still using 2.4ghz are mad ?

You were very helpful to advise people on this and other threads. But such language and tone is uncalled for.
 
Last edited:

Dan10

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Messages
51
Reaction score
0
1st node means the one attached to modem. It is sitting right next to modem in living room.

Are you referring to the Ethernet cable from the 1st node to the laptop I used to test? I used the new one that StarHub gave me recently for me TV set top box upgrade… so should be quite a new version.
I did a further test. This time, I used the new Ethernet cable given to me by Starhub and connected directly to my modem. Even then it still recorded about 93 mbps! Does that mean my modem is spoilt?
 

Apex

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
87
I did a further test. This time, I used the new Ethernet cable given to me by Starhub and connected directly to my modem. Even then it still recorded about 93 mbps! Does that mean my modem is spoilt?

Hard to tell if ONT or your laptop/desktop NIC issue.

What the link speed showing on Windows? 93mbps seems to be running at 100mbps speed.



Do you know your NIC card model no?
 

Spongy

Master Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2003
Messages
2,857
Reaction score
1
Wanted to downgrade my 1Gbps HomeHub bundle to just 500Mbps Fibre only @$29.90/mth but thankfully I am eligible for 1Gbps Fibre only promo with free 5 months of subscription so the cost worked out to be only $31.50/ month.

I thought for just $1 extra, it’s a no brainer to continue with 1Gbps without paying $30 downgrade fee.
I’m also on homehub currently and thinking of cutting off StarHub TV as my contract is due soon. May I know what is this effective $31.50/month promotion as I couldn’t find it in their website?
 

Dan10

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Messages
51
Reaction score
0
Hard to tell if ONT or your laptop/desktop NIC issue.

What the link speed showing on Windows? 93mbps seems to be running at 100mbps speed.



Do you know your NIC card model no?
I don’t think it’s a laptop problem. It shows 93 mbps on my laptop but also on my iphone and iPad when I use speed test.
 

uncle_josh

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
1,737
Reaction score
33
I don’t think it’s a laptop problem. It shows 93 mbps on my laptop but also on my iphone and iPad when I use speed test.
Run the following command in Windows Command Prompt to check if your network adapter is Gigabit capable.

Code:
wmic NIC where NetEnabled=true get Name, Speed

Also check that the Lan cable is Cat5e type, usually it is labelled on the cable.
 

xiaofan

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
12,713
Reaction score
925
I’m also on homehub currently and thinking of cutting off StarHub TV as my contract is due soon. May I know what is this effective $31.50/month promotion as I couldn’t find it in their website?

You have to talk to Starhub to negotiate the recontract deals. You will not be able to find such good deals from the website.
 

AMAT

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2001
Messages
1,155
Reaction score
73
萧狼 is mad people in hokien right ? Why is it people still using 2.4ghz are mad ?

You were very helpful to advise people on this and other threads. But such language and tone is uncalled for.
Ah, so you have actually following this networking sub-forum for a while and knows a bit. Then I apologised for my language to you. Usually there are just too many of these 萧狼 here in hwz, especially when they are not from SG and anyhow comment.

If it can make you chill further, you can scroll the messages that I posted (don't know how many weeks/months ago), I am also using a spoilt 5ghz router with only 2.4ghz usable (as bridge) just to do my small part to save the earth for too much e-waste, so that means I am also a 萧狼.
 

watzup_ken

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
24,491
Reaction score
1,309
Not sure what you mean by wireless or wired backhaul. How do i check?

At the slow node, the WIFI symbol actually shows full strength ... but still only recording 28mbps.

Dun have floor plan now but typical 3 bedroom 1000 sf apartment with living room leading to a passageway with 3 bedrooms. The slowest node is in the further bedroom. The 1st node (which is right next to the modem) is in the living room. The weird thing even like 2 cm next to my 1st node, I'm recording only 93 Mbps...while showing full signal strength.
Full signal does not equate to high transfer speed. It just tells you that your device's connection with the router/ mesh is good. This also applies to your satellite unit. The speed of the satellite unit will plunge if it is too far from the main mesh unit, even if it is 100% strength because the signal strength between the mesh network is weak.

My recommendation is to connect say a laptop or PC directly to the ONT, i.e. instead of plugging the LAN wire to the mesh, plug it to your laptop. If it is running much higher than what you are getting on your mesh system, then I believe the issue is with the mesh. As someone pointed out, 93 Mbps sounds like you are limited to a 100 Mbps connection.
 

watzup_ken

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
24,491
Reaction score
1,309
Hardly = very few people use...

But still many on 2.4ghz only.

The very cheap android phone models still running on 2.4ghz only. I have a few device.

No need to look down on people using cheap or old version device.
Nothing wrong with using 2.4 Ghz band. The range is better than 5Ghz, and I do switch to 2.4 Ghz from time to time. In fact, my phone will auto connect to the 2.4 Ghz band when the 5 Ghz network is not stable. For surfing net and streaming movies, 2.4 Ghz band is more than enough.
 

Dan10

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Messages
51
Reaction score
0
Full signal does not equate to high transfer speed. It just tells you that your device's connection with the router/ mesh is good. This also applies to your satellite unit. The speed of the satellite unit will plunge if it is too far from the main mesh unit, even if it is 100% strength because the signal strength between the mesh network is weak.

My recommendation is to connect say a laptop or PC directly to the ONT, i.e. instead of plugging the LAN wire to the mesh, plug it to your laptop. If it is running much higher than what you are getting on your mesh system, then I believe the issue is with the mesh. As someone pointed out, 93 Mbps sounds like you are limited to a 100 Mbps connection.
I've tried plugging my laptop directly into the ONT and it still records about 93 mbps. Also shows the same on my ipad and iphone so it cannot be a laptop issue.

But here's whats odd. I've been testing the speed every few hours. Once in a while (well, so far 2 times in the last 24 hours), I suddenly recorded 200+ mbps but most of the times, its back to around 90 mbps.
 

firesong

Supremacy Member
Deluxe Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2001
Messages
5,960
Reaction score
2,250
I've tried plugging my laptop directly into the ONT and it still records about 93 mbps. Also shows the same on my ipad and iphone so it cannot be a laptop issue.

But here's whats odd. I've been testing the speed every few hours. Once in a while (well, so far 2 times in the last 24 hours), I suddenly recorded 200+ mbps but most of the times, its back to around 90 mbps.
Something similar happened to me, and I realised it was a damaged fibre cable - my mom was cleaning the area and pulled on the ONT to get to the area behind, kinking the optical cable. Replacing it solved that problem and I went back to full speeds.

Check the cables to be sure. First, replace the ethernet cable to rule out ethernet cable damage. If that fails, it would be good to contact StarHub to check, since it is most likely on their end, or an issue with the cable, ONT or even the fibre point. Take a video of your testing, showing that you've already connected directly and are still getting poor speeds - it'll expedite the process and cut through all the troubleshooting nonsense.

Good luck!
 

loganrunning

Senior Member
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
735
Reaction score
116
I've tried plugging my laptop directly into the ONT and it still records about 93 mbps. Also shows the same on my ipad and iphone so it cannot be a laptop issue.

But here's whats odd. I've been testing the speed every few hours. Once in a while (well, so far 2 times in the last 24 hours), I suddenly recorded 200+ mbps but most of the times, its back to around 90 mbps.

was there any physical movement of the cable/ONT/router just before the speed improved?

reason is, if the contact is intermittent (could be cable connector, or socket on ONT or router), you could get a partial connection but limited to 100Mbps. If there is movement, it could momentarily make full contact and you get increased speeds.

try wiggling the cable just beyond the connection while running the test. if the speed changes, you can investigate further.

edit: is your M5 new? if the ONT/M5 socket is faulty, the problem will still be there even with a new cable. wiggling the cable/connector is a simple diagnostic action.

This may not be the cause, but good to check and rule it out.
 

Dan10

Junior Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Messages
51
Reaction score
0
Something similar happened to me, and I realised it was a damaged fibre cable - my mom was cleaning the area and pulled on the ONT to get to the area behind, kinking the optical cable. Replacing it solved that problem and I went back to full speeds.

Check the cables to be sure. First, replace the ethernet cable to rule out ethernet cable damage. If that fails, it would be good to contact StarHub to check, since it is most likely on their end, or an issue with the cable, ONT or even the fibre point. Take a video of your testing, showing that you've already connected directly and are still getting poor speeds - it'll expedite the process and cut through all the troubleshooting nonsense.

Good luck!
Does starhub replace the ONT or the fibre cable? Or i have to buy a replacement?
 

loganrunning

Senior Member
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
735
Reaction score
116
Does starhub replace the ONT or the fibre cable? Or i have to buy a replacement?

if ONT is faulty, they will replace.

fibre cable, I dunno.... i guess not, since you keep it after contract

(i think the reasoning is like: if you have to return it, it's theirs, so they will replace if faulty. if you keep it, then it's yours)
 

xiaofan

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
12,713
Reaction score
925
if ONT is faulty, they will replace.

fibre cable, I dunno.... i guess not, since you keep it after contract

(i think the reasoning is like: if you have to return it, it's theirs, so they will replace if faulty. if you keep it, then it's yours)

Actually you do not need to return the ONT when you decided to leave M1 or Starhub or Singtel. All three will replace the ONT. Last time Singtel required the users to return ONR (not ONT) but not any more.

Starhub charges the Service Call Transportation Charge of S$12.84 . In that case, the technician will come to your place and replace the old ONT and activate the new ONT. They will collect the old ONT back.

I just got my Starhub ONT replaced recently and I think the transportation charge is reasonable. I did not change the Fibre cable but I think Starhub will replace it as well if that is faulty.

Singtel will require you to go and self collect the ONT or ONR in SERV+. They do not require a site visit. I exchanged my ONT back in Sept 2018.

As for M1, I believe they will also require a site visit but I believe it is free. Need confirmation from M1 users.
 

Apex

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
2,203
Reaction score
87
I don’t think it’s a laptop problem. It shows 93 mbps on my laptop but also on my iphone and iPad when I use speed test.
Ok in this case

01. ONT port faulty
02. the cable connect between ONT and router is @ 100mbps.

Some router (like asus) can see the WAN speed connection. If you using Asus can check the WAN port speed.

gtDqbHi.png
 

*adiBOY

Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2008
Messages
7,270
Reaction score
139
I’m also on homehub currently and thinking of cutting off StarHub TV as my contract is due soon. May I know what is this effective $31.50/month promotion as I couldn’t find it in their website?
Some promos only available in their system depending on the tier of the customer.

I was lucky when I wanted to downgrade and the promo was offered to me. You might want to go down to specific store while returning your TV Box and enquire about the promo.
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top