Starhub 1Gbps Fibre Review

th3pr0

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
383
Reaction score
1
thinking of signing up for the 2gbps plan with the linksys MX4200/AX4200.

just want to check if any one have any issue/complain for this router?
 

watzup_ken

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
23,015
Reaction score
317
thinking of signing up for the 2gbps plan with the linksys MX4200/AX4200.

just want to check if any one have any issue/complain for this router?
I think there are reviews on this mesh out on the web. I read that its decent, but being a dual band mesh system, so its not going to break any records. The ratings on the respective e-sellers like Amazon, Best Buy, etc, are quite good. I've also signed up the 2Gbps plan, but I don't think I will be keeping the MX4200 in favour of my current Asus/ Mesh setup.
 

th3pr0

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2009
Messages
383
Reaction score
1
I think there are reviews on this mesh out on the web. I read that its decent, but being a dual band mesh system, so its not going to break any records. The ratings on the respective e-sellers like Amazon, Best Buy, etc, are quite good. I've also signed up the 2Gbps plan, but I don't think I will be keeping the MX4200 in favour of my current Asus/ Mesh setup.

i read that its a tri band? but not the high end kind
 

item2sell

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
10,317
Reaction score
893
Starhub 1Gbps offer me 4 months free for 24 months contract.

Effective $35.75.

Don't seem very attractive to me. Currently I paying $19.90
 

azeris10

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2006
Messages
938
Reaction score
24
Anyone having issues with StarHub fibre on weekends noon? Sometimes to the point where 4k Dis+ and Netflix doesn’t work
 

watzup_ken

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
23,015
Reaction score
317
Starhub 1Gbps offer me 4 months free for 24 months contract.

Effective $35.75.

Don't seem very attractive to me. Currently I paying $19.90
If there is no need for you to change/ renew contract, then just stick with your current plan. The problem is when you are forced to renew contract, unfortunately, you will need to adhere to the new pricing. I hesitated about signing up with Starhub for their fibre service I think its earlier this year, and when I decided to do it, they have increased their OCBC promotion price from 35.90 to 45.90.
 

SecretAgent

Great Supremacy Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
56,445
Reaction score
795
Yes, just double confirmed. Price stays at $29.90 if do nothing.

mine previously is $27.90 for 2yrs contract.. once up it increases to $39.90. I go ask and request to recontract but they say no. The guy at starhub shop says this will be the cheapest at the moment for 1gb liao..

I'll just hold on to it currently.. he says no more contract.. can terminate anytime. See down the road got any fair or promotion then I jump to the cheapest one!
 

xiaofan

Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
9,842
Reaction score
138
Starhub 1Gbps offer me 4 months free for 24 months contract.
Effective $35.75.
Don't seem very attractive to me. Currently I paying $19.90

So looks like you have a special promotion price and please check your contract. Most likely the out of contract price will be higher and possibly even at S$39.9. If that is the case, maybe you want to recontract.
 

xiaofan

Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
9,842
Reaction score
138
mine previously is $27.90 for 2yrs contract.. once up it increases to $39.90. I go ask and request to recontract but they say no. The guy at starhub shop says this will be the cheapest at the moment for 1gb liao..
I'll just hold on to it currently.. he says no more contract.. can terminate anytime. See down the road got any fair or promotion then I jump to the cheapest one!

It seems to me anything less than S$29.9 is a special promotion price (including free 1Gbps broadband with Starhub Fibre TV conversion last time for Cable TV subscribers), and usually the out of contract price is S$39.9 per month.

But there may be exceptions.

I know there are lucky people who have S$29.9 1Gbps out of contract price in this thread.

I am fine with my S$29.9 out of contract price for my 500Mbps Starhub Fibre internet plan myself.
 

lunatic_tokyo

Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2004
Messages
495
Reaction score
0
Hi Everyone,

Appreciate if you can assist to answer my queries.

Currently considering to setup a mesh network with various smart devices connection(e.g. bulbs, laptops, tv, soundbar.. control via wifi)

Consideration for broadband:

1) New Broadband Plan (considering Starhub 2GB purely for Linksys Velop router mx4200/Ax4200)

2) Another alternative will be 1GB Plan and pair it with TP-Link X20 (3 hub set):

2a) for third party router, is it just plug and play by replacing starhub OG router will do?

2b) is there any web or software configuration requirement?
not a IT savvy person, so appreciate ur help on this.

Connection and setup:

1) preferred ethernet cable connection (backhaul) to TV and Soundbar in living room.

2) wireless connection for lights, computer and all other rooms.


Currently within the DB box are fibre pt and Ethernet ports hardwired to all rooms.

Router and ONT connection via physical wiring:

1) is it connect ONT/ONR to Main router, then connect main router to switch. Thereafter all ethernet port for various location can be connected to the switch directly?

Assuming 1 x Linksys MX4200 router inside DB box:

- with 1 MX4200 is it enough to cover entire house ? Wireless for MBR and other room.

- is there a way to place the main router in the living room beside placing it in the DB box beside the ONT?

Assuming 3 x TP-Link X20(2 ethernet port on X20):

1) 1 x X20 router inside DB box >> Switch >> all room ethernet port connected to Switch.

2) Second X20 placed in living room >> connected to wall ethernet port and Directly to 2nd switch >> connect to TV and Sound bar

3) third X20 connected to MBR wall ethernet port >> all device this zone will be on wifi.

Which will be the most efficient coverage and value for money setup.
Thanks in advance.
 

Apex

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2000
Messages
1,974
Reaction score
23
Hi Everyone,

Appreciate if you can assist to answer my queries.

Currently considering to setup a mesh network with various smart devices connection(e.g. bulbs, laptops, tv, soundbar.. control via wifi)

Consideration for broadband:

1) New Broadband Plan (considering Starhub 2GB purely for Linksys Velop router mx4200/Ax4200)

2) Another alternative will be 1GB Plan and pair it with TP-Link X20 (3 hub set):

2a) for third party router, is it just plug and play by replacing starhub OG router will do?

2b) is there any web or software configuration requirement?
not a IT savvy person, so appreciate ur help on this.

Connection and setup:

1) preferred ethernet cable connection (backhaul) to TV and Soundbar in living room.

2) wireless connection for lights, computer and all other rooms.


Currently within the DB box are fibre pt and Ethernet ports hardwired to all rooms.

Router and ONT connection via physical wiring:

1) is it connect ONT/ONR to Main router, then connect main router to switch. Thereafter all ethernet port for various location can be connected to the switch directly?

Sound Ok. ONT/ONR > Router > SWitch > ethernet port for various location


Assuming 1 x Linksys MX4200 router inside DB box:

- with 1 MX4200 is it enough to cover entire house ? Wireless for MBR and other room.

Inside DB box will reduce the Signal. Too hard to guess if the WIFI signal can cover the whole house. 2.4ghps maybe yes and weak signal.


- is there a way to place the main router in the living room beside placing it in the DB box beside the ONT?

Some HDB has 2 LAN ports in Living room.

ONT / Router > Connect Living Port 1 [Sent OUT from DB] > Router WAN > Router LAN 1 > Living room Port 2 [Sent back to DB] > Switch > ethernet port for various location

- living room Port 1 Carry the internet
- Living room Port 2 carry the network back to DB so that u can provide data to switch + ethernet port for various location



Assuming 3 x TP-Link X20(2 ethernet port on X20):

1) 1 x X20 router inside DB box >> Switch >> all room ethernet port connected to Switch.
Look OK.

2) Second X20 placed in living room >> connected to wall ethernet port and Directly to 2nd switch >> connect to TV and Sound bar

If both TV and sound bar can go on WIFI I don't see a need for 2nd switch and LAN cable to TV and sound bar. (More cable , more dust and messy). Unless the 2nd X20 provide damn lousy Wifi signal.

If DB box and living room nearby, The TV and sound bar should be able to connect to 1st X20.




3) third X20 connected to MBR wall ethernet port >> all device this zone will be on wifi.

Which will be the most efficient coverage and value for money setup.
Thanks in advance.
Look ok too.
 

hereiam7788

Master Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2015
Messages
2,757
Reaction score
8
If there is no need for you to change/ renew contract, then just stick with your current plan. The problem is when you are forced to renew contract, unfortunately, you will need to adhere to the new pricing. I hesitated about signing up with Starhub for their fibre service I think its earlier this year, and when I decided to do it, they have increased their OCBC promotion price from 35.90 to 45.90.

yup the ocbc promo is damn good. and it is actually sgd34.90 previously.
 

uncle_josh

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
1,688
Reaction score
20
You can try this setting. It will be very stable
 

hosehbo?

Master Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2010
Messages
4,854
Reaction score
10
Hi guys, want to check if the Beacon 1 provided is the modem and router or is there a separate modem provided?
 

uncle_josh

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
1,688
Reaction score
20
Dey, Nokia Beacon 1 is the Mesh router. SH will provide a separate modem.
 
Last edited:

watzup_ken

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Nov 21, 2003
Messages
23,015
Reaction score
317
Hi guys, want to check if the Beacon 1 provided is the modem and router or is there a separate modem provided?
Beacon/ router and modem are separate. Out of the big 3 ISP, only Singtel uses router cum modem ONR if I am not wrong.
 
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top