Strong profile local jobless, thousands of applications

AndroidComa

I highly doubt TS's credibility. Great-grandparents live in Singapore. and is in his late 40s?

Come on. I am a 3-gen Singaporean in my mid 40s. My grandfather was from China and had been in Singapore since 1930s until his demise. What is the possibility of his great grandparents living in Singapore? :rolleyes:
orang asli maybe?
or sang nila utama is his great grandparents

the_dog

I was told I was on the retrenchment list. I resigned right before the official notice — to avoid the stigma and protect future chances.

this one is tao nao pai or what ? in what world is it better to jump the gun and resign preemptively than to get retrenchment ?

qhong61

I’m in my late 40s. Since 2020, I’ve sent out thousands of job applications. In six years, I only received one job offer — in 2023. I took it, worked hard, and was rated “exceeds expectations” in my performance review. Not long after, I was told I was on the retrenchment list. I resigned right before the official notice — to avoid the stigma and protect future chances.

I already had a strong and broad professional background when I left my permanent role at a globally prestigious firm to deepen and diversify my expertise further before 2020. I pursued a master’s degree in a different field at a top university, ranked #1 in its field worldwide, and graduated with distinction during the pandemic.

To stay connected and expand my network, I’ve been attending free public events. Often, more than half the people there were foreign professionals already working in Singapore. From what I observed, they didn’t have stronger profiles or wider capabilities than I do. Yet they had jobs. I didn’t.

I’ve been on the WSG programme for years, but they haven’t gotten me a single interview. I don’t own property, and without a salaried job, I can’t apply for a mortgage. With the cost of living so high, I’m now planning to relocate to a developing country — just to survive.

Imagine that — a highly qualified Singaporean, with a proven track record and wide-ranging skills, now has to leave the country he helped build because he can’t afford to live in it.

My great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, and I all contributed to building this nation. I served 2.5 years of full-time National Service, training and leading 60 combat personnel to protect this country throughout all my reservice duties.

So I ask honestly:
If even someone like me can’t survive here — what hope do older Singaporeans have? Can I now ask, what can this country do for us?
Why resign in first place?

krikering

I’m in my late 40s. Since 2020, I’ve sent out thousands of job applications. In six years, I only received one job offer — in 2023. I took it, worked hard, and was rated “exceeds expectations” in my performance review. Not long after, I was told I was on the retrenchment list. I resigned right before the official notice — to avoid the stigma and protect future chances.

I already had a strong and broad professional background when I left my permanent role at a globally prestigious firm to deepen and diversify my expertise further before 2020. I pursued a master’s degree in a different field at a top university, ranked #1 in its field worldwide, and graduated with distinction during the pandemic.

To stay connected and expand my network, I’ve been attending free public events. Often, more than half the people there were foreign professionals already working in Singapore. From what I observed, they didn’t have stronger profiles or wider capabilities than I do. Yet they had jobs. I didn’t.

I’ve been on the WSG programme for years, but they haven’t gotten me a single interview. I don’t own property, and without a salaried job, I can’t apply for a mortgage. With the cost of living so high, I’m now planning to relocate to a developing country — just to survive.

Imagine that — a highly qualified Singaporean, with a proven track record and wide-ranging skills, now has to leave the country he helped build because he can’t afford to live in it.

My great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, and I all contributed to building this nation. I served 2.5 years of full-time National Service, training and leading 60 combat personnel to protect this country throughout all my reservice duties.

So I ask honestly:
If even someone like me can’t survive here — what hope do older Singaporeans have? Can I now ask, what can this country do for us?

I highly doubt TS's credibility. Great-grandparents live in Singapore. and is in his late 40s?

Come on. I am a 3-gen Singaporean in my mid 40s. My grandfather was from China and had been in Singapore since 1930s until his demise. What is the possibility of his great grandparents living in Singapore? :rolleyes:
Got people who came from China to Singapore around 1900-1930 era liao, not common but do have. Plus that generation give birth very early, common to have kids before 20 one so not surprised.

Milodrink

Why not take retrenchment? Why did you resign?

You would have been laid off. Not fired. Different things.

So saying, did you consider any other job types that perhaps pay less, but allows you to survive?

How different?

Never underestimate Negative ppl will still think:

"Must be u lousy if not y so many ppl retrench u leh"

Lemonkey

if there's no path in front, create your own path

tiagong this guy also a master

coyote

My paternal great grandfather is a sinkie leh. Born around 1905. Coolie defendants

Assuming
great grand father gave birth to TS's grand father in 1905 at 30 years old,
the grandfather gave birth to TS's father in 1935 at 30 years old.
So TS father gave birth to ts in 1965 at 30 years old.
So, ts should be 60 years old this year applying 2000+ jobs for pass 4+ years? Ts should be retiree instead of a low 40 person looking furiously for jobs... There you go ... CSB.

jq1986

Assuming
So, ts should be 60 years old this year applying 2000+ jobs for pass 4+ years? Ts should be retiree instead of a low 40 person looking furiously for jobs... There you go ... CSB.
He's already been busted earlier in this thread already...someone found an old post of him saying he collected keys to SBF a few years ago.

aarontansp

So I ask honestly:
65% says yes? Or TS trolling?

anchoraz

Strong mandate of local application for jobs.

2025 recession seems real. Hold on to current job first no matter how hard.

coyote

He's already been busted earlier in this thread already...someone found an old post of him saying he collected keys to SBF a few years ago.

Collected SBF also can be jobless for 5 years right? Only needed to be gainfully employed during the application for flat 4-5 years ago? Oh wait, SBF is like instant collection of keys? So, if he collected keys in 3 years ago, he's gainfully employed and blatantly making up stories here?

dontwastetime

65% says yes? Or TS trolling?

Collected SBF also can be jobless for 5 years right? Only needed to be gainfully employed during the application for flat 4-5 years ago? Oh wait, SBF is like instant collection of keys? So, if he collected keys in 3 years ago, he's gainfully employed and blatantly making up stories here?

High chance its copy and paste one.. The real TS is out there somewhere.

fandango

Assuming
TS is CSB one.

coyote

High chance its copy and paste one.. The real TS is out there somewhere.

It could be another of those like that Charles Yeo... stirring political stuffs from overseas... for all you know, that "Collected SBF in Oct 2024" is also another fake story.

This one seemed to be lower intelligence than Charles Yeo... writing without collating his various stories...

wwenze

So I ask honestly:
This guy posts like it's LinkedIn... No wonder get rejected...

But hey at least he had affordable HDB

Joe Maya

You put your asking salary $3000 confirm tomorrow can start somewhere in Tuas.

coyote

TS is CSB one.

Actually I'm just intrigued how such people work or behave.

He registered an account in 2022 but did not do much... Then suddenly he posted in 2025 saying he was jobless since 2020, a great 2 years after he gotten his account. So why he didn't launch his stirring tirades when he gotten his account in 2022? Why suddenly after happily collected his sbf hdb in Oct 2024, then suddenly launch a tirade?

Could it be like the case of the D.I.D 12 (2025) drama? Just weird... But then again...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.