Tengah Centralised cooling system (CCS) - Go or Not to Go for it?

Clazav

Can opt out first, then after everything looks better, then opt in? Possible?

Machoman2023

Opt out, Then Opt in or vice versa is not possible. I called SPH Group, need to decide at least 6 months , better still 9 months before KEY collection. So if opt in, they will connect the piping penetrate through your main door in (start to screw in liao). If opt out, no 1 gonna screw you...the piping just stop there. This, i went to Tengah to observe myself (Aircon ledge got condenser unit, no screw in. Without, main door kena screwed). Then i read from web, those Opt in then Opt out. They need to pay a fee to uninstall the piping. This is true cos when i prepare my Cashier Order in OCBC bank for 2nd HDB appt. Happened that the bank staff was 1st batch Tengah Resident, he said his wife dont like the ugly CCS trunking, decided to cancel, paid S1k something to get the piping remove.

dreadknight

at least, there's beams for the trunking to follow.

I booked Waterfront 2rm. I know still a few years to go.
but they announced the Beamless design for this project.
so I'm thinking, how will the trunking go around the apartment?
along the wall? but the drain cant be roof level.
so it has to be as low as the indoor unit's bottom.
SP isn't responsible for boxing up so you will have industrial trunking hanging at some segments.
especially for the 2rm type2 units.
3rm and bigger, they can route the living room drain into the bedrooms (assuming they placed the units above the doors.)

thinking hard about future maintenance issue
CCS means you have to use their service technicians, its their own schedule/availability and the cost is baked into the monthly rates. even you don't use the AC for half a year, you still have to pay for the upkeep of the system.

for a 2rm/ 2 split system, the savings is probably lesser. so i didn't opt in.

Machoman2023

I m not grange nor village owner. Thanks for the "sweating" photo. Scary man, down the road, all TENGAH resident with CCS will have flooded home. Mine is Waterfront 5rm. Yes, beamless. Yes comment by DreadKnight made sense, trunkng will run along wall. But this trunking has to be as low as indoor unit for drainage purpose. Definately SP will throw this to Daikin to solve. Maintenance wise , ya even a light user will pay periodical fee. But conventional aircon, we can make our choice of maintenance date, Pay per call of visit, same a lot

kyang69

Better spend good money on good aircon system, less nightmare for you in the long run.
This whole Tengah CCS thingy only seems like nice on paper but current buyers who moved in will tell you otherwise, especially the ugly trunkings which are eye sores.

Donno which pencil-pushing scholar came up with this stupig idea, I think he/she want to copy those private condo with integrate central cooling without ugly trunkings but end up epic failed.

Machoman2023

Better spend good money on good aircon system, less nightmare for you in the long run.
This whole Tengah CCS thingy only seems like nice on paper but current buyers who moved in will tell you otherwise, especially the ugly trunkings which are eye sores.

Donno which pencil-pushing scholar came up with this stupig idea, I think he/she want to copy those private condo with integrate central cooling without ugly trunkings but end up epic failed.
Since this is the beginning. I would say if down the road, you see more n more Centralized Cooling System (CCS) being recommended in BTO, meaning they improved n successful. If no more CCS in BTO, meaning it is a failure...n they will "diam diam" already..Dont dwell for the past

alfredtan.realtor

Hi Bro out there,
I got a 5 room unit in TENGAH, project still under construction but yet to decide on Centralised Cooling System (CCS). But already heard or read many reviews, mostly negative ones. e.g ugly trunking, high reno cost to box up, water leaking, not cold enough, rates shoot up, not really a saving plan, long run maintenance issue, SPH slow responce. I am hesitate should I opt out this CCS & go back traditional aircon system?

Need advice especially those already move in & tried out this CCS system. Thanks in advance

Using Centralised Cooling Systems (CCS) comes with both advantages and challenges for homeowners. It's important to thoroughly research and address potential challenges, such as the impact of faulty fan coils and the feasibility of individual unit replacements versus system-wide changes.

In my experience, I encountered a development near Newton (don't say name) that utilised a centralised cooling system, with three home units sharing one central system. One issue that arose was the need to replace the entire system if a fan coil unit in one home malfunctioned. I recall the replacement cost being between $50,000 to $60,000. Consequently, there was a situation where a tenant complained that their landlord refused to fix the air conditioning unit because the other two homeowners didn't want to incur the replacement cost as their units were still functioning properly.
It's essential to thoroughly investigate these types of replacement scenarios to avoid future complications Bro.
While purchasing may be straightforward, encountering difficulties in selling the property down the line is a real possibility if such issues are not addressed.

Machoman2023

Using Centralised Cooling Systems (CCS) comes with both advantages and challenges for homeowners. It's important to thoroughly research and address potential challenges, such as the impact of faulty fan coils and the feasibility of individual unit replacements versus system-wide changes.

In my experience, I encountered a development near Newton (don't say name) that utilised a centralised cooling system, with three home units sharing one central system. One issue that arose was the need to replace the entire system if a fan coil unit in one home malfunctioned. I recall the replacement cost being between $50,000 to $60,000. Consequently, there was a situation where a tenant complained that their landlord refused to fix the air conditioning unit because the other two homeowners didn't want to incur the replacement cost as their units were still functioning properly.
It's essential to thoroughly investigate these types of replacement scenarios to avoid future complications Bro.
While purchasing may be straightforward, encountering difficulties in selling the property down the line is a real possibility if such issues are not addressed.
Bro...Wow your this advice making sense. Just like HBD toilet floor water leakage. HDB, neighbour on top all must consensus...I think to be safe, go back to conventional old type aircon....see a lot of ppl cancel, give up on this CCS. Better be safe than sorry later...unless 2 years + down the road when my project ready...a damn good miracle happen to this CCS. Thanks bro

V_for_Vanilla

I would go for it. The tech is simple nothing fancy. The problems so far more to do with workmanship and QC. Five years from now all the problems should be nicked. If not can always revert back to traditional aircon.

007Mi6

If you have not sign up, do not sign up first until situation stabilised.

I too terminated my CCS.

For 5rm; the dining and living add together is only 18K BTU for an area about 53sqm (open kitchen) and 43sqm (closed kitchen) which according to NEA you need 36K and 29K BTU respectively.

For 4rm, you need 18K BTU.

end up you need 5 FCU for 4rm and 6 FCU for 5rm, which is similar to the BTU provided by R32 gas aircon.

Machoman2023

I would go for it. The tech is simple nothing fancy. The problems so far more to do with workmanship and QC. Five years from now all the problems should be nicked. If not can always revert back to traditional aircon.
Bro, wondering. If you sign up CCS. 5 years usage, not happy, can revert traditional aircon? possible?

stiffs

The ugly piping can be avoided but they simply don't care.....really, really bad fengshui penetrating through the front door.

Universal routing is Aircon ledge wall, through toilet > common corridor > 1 Fan Coil Unit to Master bedroom then branch out from 1 designated bedroom to other areas. Opted in for economic reason only

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.