The most pragmatic way to solve HDB affordability issue to do reduce size and lease.

iceblendedchoc

Lease reduce from 99 to 65 years

Suggest make 3room hdb with 550sq ft
4room hdb with 800sq ft
Anyway pawrents no need much space for child dogs/cats
Housing debt is never about affordability, it is about keeping you in debt to improve the lives of elites when you are a hamster running in the wheels they created

hachi

4room hdb with 800sq ft
Later the current just MOP hdb huat again...

hachi

Housing debt is never about affordability, it is about keeping you in debt to improve the lives of elites when you are a hamster running in the wheels they created
You got a choice... And milk the system... Many did it... And many here keep whining.

hachi

nobody clear about TFR riaos rahs
just import
No choice... We got 5 uni, 5 polys and 3 ite... With yearly 35k babies... Cannot even support the schools... Need import...

jumpthepig

4room hdb with 800sq ft

Dislike - Too small….uncomfortable.

They need to build more big HDB instead….. Why? Now there are serious shortage of big size HDB in the market…. All big size resale (HDB) prices had gone up too fast and furious already…Need to pump the supply to cool it down.

There is a real demand for bigger HDB in singapore… for the 3 Gen family especially.

sanukboy

And then the future generation of Local born Singaporeans who wasted their lives doing NS end up paying the penalty because of the open leg policy of PAP?

OrLengJuz

Just bring down land value to solve everything.

Johor building material. Still cheaper.

Here use chinese material, where the money goes to?

JAson1980

No please dont. Small space less Singaporean children.

We should buck the trend and ask HDB to start building bigger again like the old EA. This will encourage more to have larger families.
juts f*cking remove land cost the prices should come down. and screw the stamp duties for HDB also.

jumpthepig

If HDB sell brand new prime BTO at 300k for 4 room and at 100 sqm size (ie late 80s/early 90s size), the market will notice and resale prices will come down almost immediately

Prime BTO 4RM at 300k at 100sqm is impossible…. 65% had agreed liao, and seem like they are willing to pay more expensive BTO, even paying above $1M Prime 5rm should ok to them…. They love the property game:ROFLMAO:

DriftKing

4room hdb with 800sq ft
People in china and malaysia laughing at us living in shoebox 'houses'. Talk about standard of living.

One big factor I'm not having another child is space constraints and the cost involve for a bigger house. Don't tell me last time police wear short pants or being strawberry.

cheesybites1

squeeze more bah. just build mini capsules for sinkies to rest. since only need to sleep and work.

Cokacola

even if you reduce it to 1sqft, contractors and profiteers will still find a way to jack up the price and sell.

you are poking the wrong hole to solve the problem

jumpthepig

People in china and malaysia laughing at us living in shoebox 'houses'. Talk about standard of living.

One big factor I'm not having another child is space constraints and the cost involve for a bigger house. Don't tell me last time police wear short pants or being strawberry.

Even if they(65%) wish to cash out or downgrade one day …they still wish the resale price keep going up and up like will never stop…. This is the game they want…. :ROFLMAO:

jumpthepig

even if you reduce it to 1sqft, contractors and profiteers will still find a way to jack up the price and sell.

you are poking the wrong hole to solve the problem
I think there is enough land for bigger HDB…. But the cost of building big size HDB is very expensive.…. :ROFLMAO:

forests_gump

4room hdb with 800sq ft
In b4, small space sex....

No lah, most pragmatic way is to reduce the demand...cut all that new local resident import, and have them take up NS privilege...then can talk buy property privilege

tsnd01

Will all the toilets be removed and residents given a communal toilet to make it cheaper?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.