The most pragmatic way to solve HDB affordability issue to do reduce size and lease.

Orionz

You are saying family 1st then BTO? lol

I think alot of families dun work that way no?

It's BTO then maybe a couple of years of 2 man world then start family?
BTO riaos then begin to piak baby before key collections....

PAP shapes sinkie life...
if they want, will make it happened
hard truths

but now they dun care riaos
import ish cheaper better faster

Whimsica

Repeat after me:

THE ONE SINGLE SOLUTION THAT WILL SOLVE > 80% OF OUR PROBLEMS IS A SMALLER, PREDOMINANTLY SINGAPOREANS, POPULATION.

chenaz

Lease reduce from 99 to 65 years

Suggest make 3room hdb with 550sq ft
4room hdb with 800sq ft
Anyway pawrents no need much space for child dogs/cats
Now prime area the 4 room hdb size already reduced from 93 sqm to 88 or 85 liao

Orionz

Why this one is cancelled? My neighbour no child buy 5 room!
our PM gotch chewrens?
our TFR boosting minister gotch chewrens?

dis gahments ish pro SINK and pro DINK
no pro families..

zamowk

our PM gotch chewrens?
our TFR boosting minister gotch chewrens?

dis gahments ish pro SINK and pro DINK
no pro families..
Then they only need stay 2 room. No need so much space for sex

keenklee

Why this one is cancelled? My neighbour no child buy 5 room!
IMHO.
The RFS scheme I think no restriction to the type of flat. I am suggesting to maybe it is a good idea to restrict the the size by the occupants. The RFS cancelled because got surplus flats.

Lss

Real solutions:

1. Do not allow 2 x PR to buy resale hdb
2. Tax profit from HDB/EC BTO sale at 50%
3. 2nd timer bto applicants pay higher hdb price than 1st time applicants, point 2 also applies
3 is already a thing. It's called resale levy.

ceestudent

just reduce the living room area lah. Many kids also go home and stay inside the bedroom. Just make living room as foyer will do.

sky00sky

Cannot use CPF to pay for housing

u see HDB BTO what pricing they dare to put to let people afford

SBC

Wrong, most effective is to increase size and reduce price. You will see the effects immediately after the BTO launch.
Wrong,
Continual price rise is the planned route.
VERS is the so-called solution to pricing decay.
do your own due diligence to assess correctness.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.