I mean if you feel comfortable with his behaviour then by all means continue to vote for him. The irony is the opposition supporters calling pap supporters daftThey all are. For now, PAP is dong the bulk of it.
That's why let's hope karma befall on the 60% fast and furious...*dear pap supporters, should anything be 95 times a graduates salary ? If no then stop justifying
*no matter how hard pap try to justify, 2025 degree holder should not lose to 1979 ITE!
PAP ibs accuse LMW of cherry picking. But they conveniently ignored LMW used the cheapest BTO prices yet it's 95 times the graduates income
If we compared using resale prices or THE RECORD BREAKING BTO AMK 877k (yes it exist) EVEN 200 times the income also I won't be surprised
Leong Mun Wai : "Based on housing affordability, the median university graduate today is worse off than the median ITE graduate in the late 1970s and early 1980s."
He added that despite an "education arms race", university graduates today can only afford "smaller and more expensive flats than what an ITE graduate could have bought 45 years ago".
He further stated, "The prospects are even dimmer" for those without a degree are even dimmer for those without a degree"
In 1979:
HDB price was ONLY equivalent to:
- Degree median starting salary was S$957 per month
- An NTC-3 graduate from VITB (now ITE) earned S$633 monthly
- BUT new four-room flat in new towns cost only $27k
BUT By 2024:
- 28 times a university graduate's median starting salary
- 43 times a VITB graduate's median starting salary
HDB price was equivalent to:
- Degree median starting salary increased to S$4,500 monthly
- The cheapest four-room BTO flat cost S$290,000 (excluding grants)
- The cheapest five-room BTO flat was priced at S$427,000
- 64 times Degree holder median starting salary for a four-room flat
- 95 times Degree holder median starting salary for a five-room flat
I mean if you feel comfortable with his behaviour then by all means continue to vote for him. The irony is the opposition supporters calling pap supporters daft

That's a false assumptionYou can continue to be affected by it. Fact is if you are not 25% of your cohort now then I teleport you back to 45 years ago you also cannot get in to ite. So what if they have it easier? Not like you can enjoy it anyway.
May I know what data has been provided?
That's a false assumption
Got plenty of pg mg relatives who are certainly nowhere in the top 70%, whether by education or profession, who led higher living standards than their children.
Those pg mg folks barely have education, some didn't even complete primary school. The jobs they held also very blue-collar, nothing outstanding. Taxi drivers, hawkers, admin clerks, technicians. Can afford to pay off 4rm, 5rm in estates like queenstown, Bukit Merah, Toa Payoh in 10 years, with 1 income. And supporting many children also.
Their children despite having higher education than them, live in smaller houses, or have to move far away to ulu towns. Among those that got married, only can afford 1 or 2 children.
Maybe you back it with some number. How much does a taxi driver from 40 years ago earn a month? Is it true that it was easier for them to pay for house or is it your assumption? If you earn 5k but pay 2.5k for the house you still will not starve and 30 years later the house is yours. Your grandkids might think it was easy back in the day that on 5k salary you can easily afford a house but is it true? I can’t speak for the rest but I saw how much sacrifices my parents had to go through to have a house and raise 2 kids. We never went on overseas holidays and seldom ate out. Whitegoods at home will try to use as long as possible and try to repair when breakdown. And my parents are I would consider better than middle class. Compare to typical lifestyle of a family with kids nowadays going on biannual holidays, eating out every weekend, only blinking when buying a new iPad and iPhone, you’re telling me that they have it better?That's a false assumption
Got plenty of pg mg relatives who are certainly nowhere in the top 70%, whether by education or profession, who led higher living standards than their children.
Those pg mg folks barely have education, some didn't even complete primary school. The jobs they held also very blue-collar, nothing outstanding. Taxi drivers, hawkers, admin clerks, technicians. Can afford to pay off 4rm, 5rm in estates like queenstown, Bukit Merah, Toa Payoh in 10 years, with 1 income. And supporting many children also.
Their children despite having higher education than them, live in smaller houses, or have to move far away to ulu towns. Among those that got married, only can afford 1 or 2 children.
Prices of things have also changed a lot hor. And should not conflate technological progress with affluence (because even broke 3rd world countries also have smartphones).Maybe you back it with some number. How much does a taxi driver from 40 years ago earn a month? Is it true that it was easier for them to pay for house or is it your assumption? If you earn 5k but pay 2.5k for the house you still will not starve and 30 years later the house is yours. Your grandkids might think it was easy back in the day that on 5k salary you can easily afford a house but is it true? I can’t speak for the rest but I saw how much sacrifices my parents had to go through to have a house and raise 2 kids. We never went on overseas holidays and seldom ate out. Whitegoods at home will try to use as long as possible and try to repair when breakdown. And my parents are I would consider better than middle class. Compare to typical lifestyle of a family with kids nowadays going on biannual holidays, eating out every weekend, only blinking when buying a new iPad and iPhone, you’re telling me that they have it better?
So you are saying singstat data is fake? Inflation is actually higher than income growth? How do you prove It? It’s very easy to say last time even taxi driver have no problem paying for hdb on single income easily.Prices of things have also changed a lot hor. And should not conflate technological progress with affluence (because even broke 3rd world countries also have smartphones).
Last time you want to fly anywhere, is all full service airline, at expensive prices. Anything outside southeast asia, return tickets minimally more than $1k. $2k to be realistic.
Now, plenty of budget airlines. Go places like europe and japan can also find cheap tickets. Go japan can find return tickets for a few hundreds.
As for repairs, even if you want to nowadays, who would even want to repair your spoilt electrical appliances? Last time got repairmen for CRT TVs, washing machine, fridge. Now, who can/will repair your LED TVs etc?
Even if can repair, economical or not?
So you also saying the salary info and hdb flat price info that LMW cited (which are derived from singstat data anyway) are fake?So you are saying singstat data is fake? Inflation is actually higher than income growth? How do you prove It? It’s very easy to say last time even taxi driver have no problem paying for hdb on single income easily.
While I really am against how they add land cost to HDB, it has always been the case where property prices outpace median salary growth. So the comparison like this is a bit unfair.*dear pap supporters, should anything be 95 times a graduates salary ? If no then stop justifying
*no matter how hard pap try to justify, 2025 degree holder should not lose to 1979 ITE!
PAP ibs accuse LMW of cherry picking. But they conveniently ignored LMW used the cheapest BTO prices yet it's 95 times the graduates income
If we compared using resale prices or THE RECORD BREAKING BTO AMK 877k (yes it exist) EVEN 200 times the income also I won't be surprised
Leong Mun Wai : "Based on housing affordability, the median university graduate today is worse off than the median ITE graduate in the late 1970s and early 1980s."
He added that despite an "education arms race", university graduates today can only afford "smaller and more expensive flats than what an ITE graduate could have bought 45 years ago".
He further stated, "The prospects are even dimmer" for those without a degree are even dimmer for those without a degree"
In 1979:
HDB price was ONLY equivalent to:
- Degree median starting salary was S$957 per month
- An NTC-3 graduate from VITB (now ITE) earned S$633 monthly
- BUT new four-room flat in new towns cost only $27k
BUT By 2024:
- 28 times a university graduate's median starting salary
- 43 times a VITB graduate's median starting salary
HDB price was equivalent to:
- Degree median starting salary increased to S$4,500 monthly
- The cheapest four-room BTO flat cost S$290,000 (excluding grants)
- The cheapest five-room BTO flat was priced at S$427,000
- 64 times Degree holder median starting salary for a four-room flat
- 95 times Degree holder median starting salary for a five-room flat
cannot compare like that. Different types of goods behave different in the supply/demand/cost curves.Maybe you back it with some number. How much does a taxi driver from 40 years ago earn a month? Is it true that it was easier for them to pay for house or is it your assumption? If you earn 5k but pay 2.5k for the house you still will not starve and 30 years later the house is yours. Your grandkids might think it was easy back in the day that on 5k salary you can easily afford a house but is it true? I can’t speak for the rest but I saw how much sacrifices my parents had to go through to have a house and raise 2 kids. We never went on overseas holidays and seldom ate out. Whitegoods at home will try to use as long as possible and try to repair when breakdown. And my parents are I would consider better than middle class. Compare to typical lifestyle of a family with kids nowadays going on biannual holidays, eating out every weekend, only blinking when buying a new iPad and iPhone, you’re telling me that they have it better?
I already type why his argument is warped so many times in this thread. Can’t believe past another day another person come and try to say he is correct. You go find my previous post sua. Lazy type out again for people like you.So you also saying the salary info and hdb flat price info that LMW cited (which are derived from singstat data anyway) are fake?
In 1987, can buy 4rm flat for $30k. A bowl of noodles back then is around $1.50-$2.
Now noodles $4-5. 4rm flat cost how much?
How much due to increased material and labour cost for constructing flats? How much of the current cost go to land?
Flats in the past were priced to recover cost nia. Desmond Lee ownself said de.
“From 1968 to 1987, in the early years of HDB, we sold flats to Singaporeans and the flat price was fixed to recover costs. So, this most resembles PSP’s Affordable Housing Scheme (AHS),” he said.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...are-worse-today-housing-affordability-4984621
So you are saying singstat data is fake? Inflation is actually higher than income growth? How do you prove It? It’s very easy to say last time even taxi driver have no problem paying for hdb on single income easily.
From all the 25 years loan… people being too overly indebted to own a hometo make matters worse, a lot of price setters in the market today
where does all the money come from ?
There is such a thing as HDB price index. Please lah it doesn’t take much effort to get a relevant data source. No need to rely on grandfather stories to justify that now housing not affordable.Singstat inflation dare not include property inflation. Whatever reasons they give, u cannot deny housing is a huge burden caused by pap under building HDB and over population
Those who lived through, will know.I already type why his argument is warped so many times in this thread. Can’t believe past another day another person come and try to say he is correct. You go find my previous post sua. Lazy type out again for people like you.
No need quote wanton mee price. CPI got breakdown food price index over last few decades. You can use the CPI number to make your argument. You like that anyhow want to say wanton mee cost 0.50 or 1.50 or 2.50 also no one can verify is real or not. Maybe this is oppo way of making argument. Have data don’t want to use or anyhow use.
Those who lived through, will know.
I don't need to refer to food index, to remember that the price of my kopi o kosong has risen from $0.50 to $1.50 at the coffeeshop that I have frequented for decades.
I don't need to refer to historical price record, to notice shrinkflation, that 1L cartons of milk, juices, have shrunk to odd sizes like 946ml, 950ml.
Don't even need to go so far back. Just recall the past few years can liao, compare pre covid prices with prices today.
I don't need to refer to singstats data to tell me that I could get a dish and drink for $5 in a coffeeshop precovid, and now I would be lucky if there's dishes below $5.
I don't need data to tell me that my $5 lunch had evolved over the past 10 years. From:
2meat 1 veg caipng + kopi c peng
become
2 meat 1 veg caipng + kopi peng
Then
2 meat 1 veg caipng + kopi o peng
To
2 meat 1 veg caipng + kopi o kosong peng
To
1 meat 2 veg caipng + kopi o kosong
And this is just for food.
Don't need singstats to tell me that inflation has worsen. Just look at bank balance can liao. Moi is BBFA no change in lifestyle (in fact going in reverse, living more and more simpler lifestyle), if rise in income outpace or matched inflation, should see savings growing at higher or constant rate. But each year I find my savings rising more slowly, saving less and less. Why ah?
There's a reason why throngs of sinkies are spending their 3.3:1 in JB every weekend.