Tips for getting the best Wi-Fi experience

renfred89

Now BTO new design layout is almost like this.
After reading no one is able to feedback the mesh? The singnet below picture also does not tally. It shows the room door is open airly without blocking at all. Thus confirm the signal is good lah

Has Singtel messaged you privately?

The last time I did post a question, they private message me to link up with relevant department for help..

As for your question, it was already answered many times in this thread.. For mesh, you have to make sure there is a line of sight. If your door needs to be closed, it's an environmental constraint mah..

Further, illustration should be taken briefly for the idea, not follow exactly.

I closed my door and my wifi still works fine leh..

Singtel

Featured Sponsor
Now BTO new design layout is almost like this.
After reading no one is able to feedback the mesh? The singnet below picture also does not tally. It shows the room door is open airly without blocking at all. Thus confirm the signal is good lah
Hi endlssorrow,

We tried reaching out to you in the other forum thread, but received no response from you.

Anyway, below is a compilation of reviews from HWZ forum users on our WiFi Mesh:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/101041129-post3.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/101041584-post5.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/103354763-post44.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/105546053-post181.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/106221809-post206.html
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/107171515-post226.html

Do let us know if you have any questions.

endlssorrow

Singtel manage to get back to me.
Fix an appointment next week. If the technician use the mesh then I see how well it can works.
If good then i get mesh lor

CuriousMind

Hi I recently bought Xiaomi Wifi Amplifier but I could not set it up and I then bought another Xiaomi wifi repeater V2 but I received the same error. It says “Device didn’t receive information from Wi-di, you can try: 1. Reduce wifi signal interference and try again”. I did try but received the same error. Pls can someone help?

xiaofan

Read the reports of negative experiences towards Singtel provided mesh solution.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/anybody-using-singtel-mesh.5354946/page-61
For anyone who wants to buy Singtel Mesh solutions like Askey and Airties, the recommendation is not to buy, unless you need to have wireless connection to Singtel TV Box. Even in that case, Netgear Orbi is a better solution.

Ref: Netgear Orbi setup guide for Singtel TV box
https://netgearstore.sg/blogs/knowledge-base/orbi-singtel-tv-vlan-tag

xiaofan

Just to add for Starhub users: Starhub Smart Wifi (Nokia Beacon 1 dual band AC1200 Mesh) is bad as well. But the Smart Wifi Pro (Linksys MX4200 tri-band) should be much better.

Asd787

Which is better? Wired or WiFi?

As shown in the comparison table below, the speed you experience on your fibre broadband connection is dependent on whether you are on a wired or WiFi connection.

WiFi connections have limitations due to its nature and you may only experience up to 230Mbps, depending on your router and device capabilities.

kkf3oFY.png

Although we strive to provide the best WiFi experience possible, we strongly recommend a wired connection to optimise your fibre broadband connection because:

Wired connections are fast and consistent. When downloading/uploading through wired connections, data are transferred on faster and consistent speed throughout the day, even for bandwidth-intensive activities (gaming, video streaming, file sharing, etc).
Best thing I did to get faster, better wifi connection is to stop using the router provided by singtel and use my own router......

GenerationX

can singtel explain to me, why BEFORE I receive the "letter of invitation to upgrade" my internet is doing well and fine now I cant even stream mewatch shows?? (always drop)

jess_sy

can singtel explain to me, why BEFORE I receive the "letter of invitation to upgrade" my internet is doing well and fine now I cant even stream mewatch shows?? (always drop)
You are currently on what plan? Price? 500 Mbps , 1 Gbps?
They ask u to upgrade to what plan?

xiaofan

currently 500 ask me go 1gbps lo

If no change of plan yet, then there should be no change from SingTel back end.

If you have issues, you may want to check your router and cable connections first. It could also be ONT or Fibre connection problem. In that case, please contact SingTel and ask them to check.

GenerationX

If no change of plan yet, then there should be no change from SingTel back end.

If you have issues, you may want to check your router and cable connections first. It could also be ONT or Fibre connection problem. In that case, please contact SingTel and ask them to check.
Lol u from the red camp is it?
No more contract == need to pay
So coincidence wan me upgrade then network have problem? Might well change provider. Is like blackmailing

xiaofan

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.