Unable to register ASUS McAfee antivirus subscription

daedalus78

Long story short,

- Bought an ASUS laptop from IT Show
- Received a free 1 year McAfee antivirus subscription code that came with the purchase
- Tried to redeem it online through the stated steps but apparently the code has already been redeemed by some one else... :vijayadmin:

Anyone having the same experience?

*Laptop was bought from Harvey Norman by the way. Can go to Harvey Norman and ask for exchange?*

Wyvern8

Oh my... I also got an Asus laptop with 1yr McAfee. When you got your laptop, the card you received should have a grey stripped over the code right..? If that's the case, then how can it be already redeem...? :(

ZrE0_Cha0s

Yes u can. But I doubt u can just go to your nearby store to ask for exchange , as they most probably ask u to look for the stores on your receipt.

Still u can try your luck ;)

daedalus78

Oh my... I also got an Asus laptop with 1yr McAfee. When you got your laptop, the card you received should have a grey stripped over the code right..? If that's the case, then how can it be already redeem...? :(

Yes the grey strip was still on thats why im damn puzzled..

daedalus78

Yes u can. But I doubt u can just go to your nearby store to ask for exchange , as they most probably ask u to look for the stores on your receipt.

Still u can try your luck ;)

It'll be difficult to prove that the card was not redeemed by me also..

i guess i'll just have to count myself unlucky

winter_lai_liao

It'll be difficult to prove that the card was not redeemed by me also..

i guess i'll just have to count myself unlucky

did u sign up for an asus account before applying the serial code? i logged in to my own asus account and it showed all my previous subscription, i was then allowed to choose whether to extend my old subscription or apply a new one, which i did. it was pretty quick and snappy.

u shud checkk with asus and refer them ur code.maybe they can assist to trace which machine it was installed to

daedalus78

did u sign up for an asus account before applying the serial code? i logged in to my own asus account and it showed all my previous subscription, i was then allowed to choose whether to extend my old subscription or apply a new one, which i did. it was pretty quick and snappy.

u shud checkk with asus and refer them ur code.maybe they can assist to trace which machine it was installed to

Its my first asus purchase and I didn't have any asus account beforehand. When I keyed in the code, the system told me it was already registered and showed the registered acc email with most parts blurred out but it definitely was not any email i know of.

Maybe I will call them and see how it goes

sci80251

Long story short,

- Received a free 1 year McAfee antivirus subscription code that came with the purchase
- Tried to redeem it online through the stated steps but apparently the code has already been redeemed by some one else... :vijayadmin:

*Laptop was bought from Harvey Norman by the way. Can go to Harvey Norman and ask for exchange?*

I thot mine was an isolated case. Similarly Bought ASUS laptop from ITSHow Challenger booth yesterday.

Same issue - I type in the brand new activation code which was covered by the silver strip, only to receive a screen saying that 'it has been previously activated, please key in the previous email used in the registration to continue'.
I never had any ASUS account in the past
I was like WTH???

Not sure who to look for (complain) , Challenger or ASUS? or both

Ah-Pin-Kor

Yes the grey strip was still on thats why im damn puzzled..
If the grey strip still on it might be the printer screwed up. Is the registration site a mcafee one or asus one?

Sent from the Salt of the Land using GAGT

winter_lai_liao

i do barcode printing for manufacturing, i did mass lucky draw campaigns for clients. it is quite normal to have repeated 'winning codes' due to excel limitations when the number of unique code entries get big. im not suprised that there are cases of collisions between various users. u guys have bad luck man, find ASUS or mcafee for followup or request one from the store u bought from

croc1977

Long story short,

Face same problem. Puchase from challager

cscs3

Long story short,

Purchase from N* shop?

ms18233

Same issue. Today brought the free anti-virus card and Asus laptop to Challenger (we bought from them at the IT Show). The staff at Plaza Sg immediately exchanged for another card. On the spot tested and could register with new set of Mcafee verification code. Good service from the staff Adil ! Many thanks !

5star_pundit

Long story short,

bought mine at IT SHOW too it comes with a 3 yrs McAfee subscription code activate no problem

atanbh91

i also kena this.. after my 30 day trial expired then i happy happy go scratch off the silver strip to activate subscription.. chua tio a bit cos the mcafee website say the product key already used.

anyway, i contacted mcafee support - i had to provide a scan of my receipt - and they sent me a new download link. it's working now

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.