Upgrading your HDB Home Network to 10Gbe Project

TanKianW

Master Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
3,742
Reaction score
108
I'm also in the midst of upgrading the home network but mine is significantly simple as I only have one NAS and my objective is more towards faster Internet versus faster internal network

So what I got so far is

Pfsense running on a used server from office with 4x sfp+ ports
H3C sfp+ switch
Asus ac5300 ap
10gb Internet from superinternet set as tier 1 gateway
1gb starhub fibre set as tier 2 gateway

Getting an Asus ax89x to connect directly to the pfsense so that hopefully my ax devices can surf past 1gb speed. 😂

Its super overkill setup for home but these hobby setups is really just for prove of concept to bring peace to our own mind and soul 🤣

Now your mind and soul is at peace!
 

TanKianW

Master Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
3,742
Reaction score
108
What should have arrive has arrived. Will make time to put all together over the long weekend.

1U pfsense chassis with Dynatron 1U 95W cooler:
r0ZEPw8.jpg

q3kw9Aa.jpg


Mikrotik CRS305 for home lab:
xRBF8HC.jpg


6x 40mm Noctua cooling fans to replace the 1U chassis and Mikrotik CRS312 internal fans:
U6HiOzQ.jpg


Connecting DAC cables for SFP+ and spill over Intel SFP+ NICs:
zOUve0t.jpg

JOAMPuj.jpg


Final setup overview:
2w9FXzl.jpg

IazeID5.jpg
 
Last edited:

TanKianW

Master Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
3,742
Reaction score
108
Replaced all the default 40mm fans on the CRS312.
hNGrNEH.jpg

YARaD01.jpg

juAvWdX.jpg


Just managed to configure the SwOS on CRS305 in my homelab. Connecting to my netgear GS110EMX switch using a SFP+ to RJ45 module, and connecting the switch to my PC using a DAC. Will connect the 10G switch to my FreeNAS when my Chelsio 10G NIC arrived.
o6hwUVb.png

t18qegS.jpg

FcIK6DD.jpg
 
Last edited:

TanKianW

Master Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
3,742
Reaction score
108
Completed the whole 10G deployment at home including the converting of my pfsense box to a 1U chassis with 2x 40mm noctua fans.
6RtJAx8.jpg

4i1b2ho.jpg


Cf0x3Ou.jpg


Overall, it is a success, but with some ups and downs. The 10G in my lab and FreeNAS in rooms worked as planned. Quite like the cleaner server rack set up. If I do upgrade to 10G internet, will change the NIC in my pfsense box.

Some unfortunate event unfold during deployment.
1) While changing the chassis, the Kingston SSD boot drive died on me. Changed it to an Intel 240GB SSD.
2) Tested all the Cat6 points around the house and found that 2 out of 6 Ethernet point could not run at 10G. Which may be due to wear and tear of connection point or cable degradation. Will get a contractor in to restore these data connection point. Now.....I just want rest!!

Before:
zYuq54l.jpg


After:
8Y8sQfh.jpg

FVA3Pgz.jpg
 
Last edited:

TanKianW

Master Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
3,742
Reaction score
108
Engaged a professional to rectify the termination of all the data point at home. Set-up and re-check all the VLANs around the home switches. All is working well.
h80DrJn.png

EejFha1.png

f9Cp6F5.png


Interested forumers could PM me on the details of the setup, especially on the configuration for the different switches and the pfsense firewall.

Answers to some PM questions:
1) Some who asked what 10G NIC I recommend. I will go with either genuine Intel or Chelsio SFP+ NIC, connect via Direct Attached Copper (DAC) which gives the best performance and low latency over short distance. Another reason is because they are well supported by FreeBSD used by pfsense and FreeNAS.

2) Though not the subject of this project. Yes, for APs I do prefer Ruckus over Unifi. With Unleashed, even without the Zone Director, you can control using the web GUI on each AP, and you do not need to buy their switches to control the APs.

3) Yes, I build my smart home backed by my network infrastructure. In fact, if you are planning to set up a smart home, give some thoughts and planning to the network infrastructure. The smart home can only be as responsive and secure as the network infrastructure you having. Seen many people complaining that their smart home are not good enough or responsive enough when their home network infrastructure is not even up to par.

4) At the moment, 2x IPS's 1G internet is sufficient for my use. But who knows, I might consider to do a short project on building your very own 10G load-balance pfsense router and share with the HWZ forum in the future.

Hope that by sharing my experience in this post, will be of great help to those interested in 10Gbe home network set up. Thanks.
 
Last edited:

xiaofan

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
10,253
Reaction score
257
Cheaper alternative:
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/131721894-post93.html
I based my 10GB network on the info from this video:



For my setup, since I am using it myself, I do not need more than 2x10GBE ports on a switch. Initially I was looking at the Netgear GS110MX. It cost somewhere about HK$1,938.00. Luckily it was out of stock when I went to the shop to get it. Instead I found the Qnap Qhora 301W. Cost about HK$2,500. It has 2x10GBe + 4x1GBe ports. A bonus is it also has Wi-fi 6. And a Cat 6A network cable that cost about HK$60.00

Now I work all my files off the Synology DS1618+ with 10GBe network card + 6 x 8TB HGST Enterprise drives. My iMac is connected to the 10G network via the Sonnet Solo 10G adapter via Thunderbolt 3. I get consistent 500MB/s write and about 900MB/s read.

Total cost of my 10G network is the lowest I have researched to date.
 

miloaisdino

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
916
Reaction score
28

xiaofan

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
10,253
Reaction score
257

TanKianW

Master Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
3,742
Reaction score
108
has anyone tried running tnsr on this :)

Tried the homelab free pricing version of tnsr on a bare metal appliance in the workplace lab. Overall it is much more optimized and better performance as compared to the conventional pfsense.

You can load up the free version to have some fun. It is very CLI based, therefore not for the faint of heart. It geared towards professionals.

Can visit servethehome website to check out more:
https://www.servethehome.com/netgate-tnsr-home-lab-edition-pfsense/

Screenshot from servethehome on the tnsr show interface:
rfFVjZN.jpg
 

TanKianW

Master Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
3,742
Reaction score
108
For those who wants to do the 10Gbe network on the cheap, can skip over my CRS312 switch at the WAN side, and go straight with a CRS305 connecting directly to your router. You can easily connect to a dumb switch if you need more ports.

10G SFP+ cards are so on the cheap online, even I am using "recycled" hardware. I use it to connect my switch to my DIY NAS and desktop PCIE slots.

My "roomlab". CRS305 on custom Noctua fan cooling secured with cable tie. :D CRS305 is a baby monster on its own!
pGm9qmz.jpg
 
Last edited:

Henry Ng

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
12,843
Reaction score
17
For those who wants to do the 10Gbe network on the cheap, can skip over my CRS312 switch at the WAN side, and go straight with a CRS305 connecting directly to your router. You can easily connect to a dumb switch if you need more ports.

10G SFP+ cards are so on the cheap online, even I am using "recycled" hardware. I use it to connect my switch to my DIY NAS and desktop PCIE slots.

My "roomlab". CRS305 on custom Noctua fan cooling secured with cable tie. :D CRS305 is a baby monster on its own!
pGm9qmz.jpg

I am quite surprise to read this. Usually for HDB a 1Gbps connection is more than enough. This project is not cheap.
 

TanKianW

Master Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
3,742
Reaction score
108
I am quite surprise to read this. Usually for HDB a 1Gbps connection is more than enough. This project is not cheap.

I am working in this line and a lot of stuff I got is much cheaper than most consumers price out there. I also has spare network hardware lying around my house and workplace store.

If not because of COVID19, I will not have the time to do such upgrade for my home in the first place. Since I have to WFH during this period, might as well put some small projects together to keep myself occupied and share with the like minded people in the forum.
 

Henry Ng

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
12,843
Reaction score
17
BTW, just wondering what prompts you to upgrade from 1Gbps to 10 Gbps for the home network. Any real use cases at home? Or is it more for future proof?

Is it possible to save some money if setting up an interim 2.5Gbps home network?

I notice that you are still using 2x1Gbps Internet (SingTel and M1). Is it really required as both are pretty reliable?

Actually many years ago i was thinking of upgrading to something more than 1Gbps but thinking back it is all about $ as 1Gbps is just $39 while 10Gbps is about $189 and need to change some hardware too. I do not think it will benefit me that much if i am to upgrade to 10Gbps and some more i have to pay more for my internet so i think not worth it to upgrade for the time being.
 

Henry Ng

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
12,843
Reaction score
17
I am working in this line and a lot of stuff I got is much cheaper than most consumers price out there. I also has spare network hardware lying around my house and workplace store.

If not because of COVID19, I will not have the time to do such upgrade for my home in the first place. Since I have to WFH during this period, might as well put some small projects together to keep myself occupied and share with the like minded people in the forum.

I see. Yes this covid is a problem for us. I am also wfh. Since covid a lot of work to do for me.
 

xiaofan

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
10,253
Reaction score
257
Actually many years ago i was thinking of upgrading to something more than 1Gbps but thinking back it is all about $ as 1Gbps is just $39 while 10Gbps is about $189 and need to change some hardware too. I do not think it will benefit me that much if i am to upgrade to 10Gbps and some more i have to pay more for my internet so i think not worth it to upgrade for the time being.

Remember Internet speed and Internal Home network do not need to match. You can always have faster home network (say 2.5G or 10G) than your internet plan (1G or dual 1G, or even 500Mbps).
 

Singrish

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2020
Messages
723
Reaction score
29
Remember Internet speed and Internal Home network do not need to match. You can always have faster home network (say 2.5G or 10G) than your internet plan (1G or dual 1G, or even 500Mbps).
Question is, even with a 10 gbps plan, what practical use is there for the average joe? Even if you’re a hardcore gamer or download lots of porn, 1 gbps is more than enough. Keeping in mind download speeds are limited by many factors and the speed of your connection is just one of many variables.

Sure, if one is rich why not? Can even wire up your house with cat 8 cables to complement your 10 gbps network. But wouldnt the money be put to better use?
 

xiaofan

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
10,253
Reaction score
257
Question is, even with a 10 gbps plan, what practical use is there for the average joe? Even if you’re a hardcore gamer or download lots of porn, 1 gbps is more than enough. Keeping in mind download speeds are limited by many factors and the speed of your connection is just one of many variables.

Sure, if one is rich why not? Can even wire up your house with cat 8 cables to complement your 10 gbps network. But wouldnt the money be put to better use?

It is a niche use case. Average users do not need 10Gbps plan and not 10G home network.

As for where you put your money, that is up to individual. It is your money and you are the one to decide. Some people will say it is worth it to buy a S$2299 iPhone 12 Pro Max 512GB version. Some people will buy a gaming PC instead, others will choose to buy a 4-Bay NAS or 10G networking stuff. And some peole will choose to save the money. All are okay choices.
 

Henry Ng

Arch-Supremacy Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
12,843
Reaction score
17
It is a niche use case. Average users do not need 10Gbps plan and not 10G home network.

As for where you put your money, that is up to individual. It is your money and you are the one to decide. Some people will say it is worth it to buy a S$2299 iPhone 12 Pro Max 512GB version. Some people will buy a gaming PC instead, others will choose to buy a 4-Bay NAS or 10G networking stuff. And some peole will choose to save the money. All are okay choices.

At first i was thinking that i can afford so nevermind can upgrade to 10Gbps but thinking back like no real use benefit and still must pay extra for the monthly bill and that time i asked M1 CSO who advise me to stay at 1Gbps. Anyway my home network is for my personal use and not important so never want to spend money. For my office we have a few 10Gbps as it is for work purpose. True la, all are okay choices.
 
Last edited:
Important Forum Advisory Note
This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.

Please refer to our Terms of Service for more information.
Top