Usually if companies merge, what is it means? What if your company is going to merge what will you do?

dango_daikazoku

Usually if companies merge, what is it means? What if your company is going to merge what will you do?

FireEmblem

Means the middle/top managers will be retrenched.

The ground workers will be safe thou as need the ground workers to handle the shite of combining the operations

buttbERry

Senior Mentor
depends

sometimes merged u get promoted

sometimes your role become redundant

addict951

Usually there is a eater and eatee one
The stronger/bigger/richer one is the eater and the newly merged organisation will retain the eater's name
then eatee's name 将会走入 历史
Example is HP & Compaq
Nao you ask millenials what is Compaq they stare at you blank :o
This is also an opportunity to chop ppl
Usually the eatee's snr management all will 全军覆没
But this is also an opportunity to move up

2Blogic

wlwlwl :s22:
If needs to move in, chiam liao, will hav two acc, sales/commercial and admin dept etc ?

dango_daikazoku

The stronger/bigger/richer one is the eater and the newly merged organisation will retain the eater's name
Example is HP & Compaq
moi ish millenials but moi noes compaq wor

Bunknifer

step 1 Merge
step 2 Re-structuring
step 3 Bye Bye

leftovers 1 person do 2-3 persons jobs :(

eggie011

Retrenchment. If lucky some will get integrated into the eater. Can stay on if the work culture is similar.

nottin

What if a small company is take over by a big company ? Is it shiok ?

For example, meta buy many small gaming companies ? The swe in those small company suddenly up salary to 10k ?

theMKR

Example is HP & Compaq
but got some ish combine mah

like dell emc

semiret

Those overlapping roles will be cut. Some will be retrenched and the one chosen to be with merged entity will have to do all the sai kang with reduced headcounts. Nowadays I heard retrenchment benefits not very good hardy still have old types 1mth salary compensation for 1yr service kind of retrenchment. So it's a lose lose situation. You kena retrench die never kena retrench also die. Somethings to add on, there will be many backstabbing going on in the merged entity as 2 groups of people from different coy comes together to work in new environment. Some fights for promotions others fight for survivors. You can witness the most ugly side of human nature. Damn messy lor.

Plow98

Following mergers
Duplicated functions will be eliminated to 'optimise resources'
Peepur in such duplicated functions is superfluous. Leetrench them.
Simpur logic.

Plow98

Those overlapping roles will be cut. Some will be retrenched and the one chosen to be with merged entity will have to do all the sai kang with reduced headcounts. Nowadays I heard retrenchment benefits not very good hardy still have old types 1mth salary compensation for 1yr service kind of retrenchment. So it's a lose lose situation. You kena retrench die never kena retrench also die.
Like SPH under 'umbrage' being makan by Keppel.
Keppel has super HR functions ... SPH HR was in jeopardy.
Same same with SPH finance.

shock

The betrayal will begin. Either I stay or you stay.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.