what is Cat 1 security clearance in SG ? is it very hard to get ?

klap_hanz

recently I applied for a new job, they told me that even if I managed to passed all the interviews, they will need me to apply for Cat 1 security clearance first, if I can get Cat 1 clearance den they will hire me, if not den they cannot hire me even if I passed all their interviews...

I tink I am only Cat 2 cleared during NS time and why so rigid about the Cat 1 clearance ? very hard to get Cat 1 security clearance in SG ? can a foreigner can cat 1 clearance in SG now ??

reddevil0728

recently I applied for a new job, they told me that even if I managed to passed all the interviews, they will need me to apply for Cat 1 security clearance first, if I can get Cat 1 clearance den they will hire me, if not den they cannot hire me even if I passed all their interviews...

I tink I am only Cat 2 cleared during NS time and why so rigid about the Cat 1 clearance ? very hard to get Cat 1 security clearance in SG ? can a foreigner can cat 1 clearance in SG now ??
You applied for Mindef/SAF job? you are a foreigner?

Calander

if a foreigner cannot be given Cat 1 clearance, why would they waste time interviewing? therefore, this left with only the screening process for clearance.

marigoldhl

PRs and foreigners can never ever get cat 1...

even so cat 1 or 2 depends on the job requirement thats why. if you only do typical clerk restricted stuff even if your grandparents parents all chao sinkie also will never get cat 1...

Sent from The Eevee Sanctuary using GAGT

ahbock

If your spouse is a foreigner, you are also unlikely to clear CAT 1. PRs and foreigners won't be clear for sure. Unless the 'open legs' policy kicks into restricted and highly sensitive work related agencies.

limjq44

Hi, I am also applying a job with MINDEF, will I get a security clearance if my grandparents are foreigners? Like malaysian?

mgx-alander

cat 1 is access to TOP Secret.. so no if u are a foreigner or 1 of ur parents is/was a foreigner u are unlikely to clear.

klap_hanz

Both me and my wife are local born sinkies..

But I kenna charged b4 a few times for being a IPPT/RT defaulter at CMPB...

can I still I get my G.50 cat 1 clearance ??

klap_hanz

What the big deal about Cat 1 clearance anyway...

I see so many ABNNs and ATs working inside NCS and ST supporting gahmen projects now anyway too

klap_hanz

Heng ah...both me and wife parents are all local born sinkies too

reddevil0728

Both me and my wife are local born sinkies..

But I kenna charged b4 a few times for being a IPPT/RT defaulter at CMPB...

can I still I get my G.50 cat 1 clearance ??
what kena charged a few times somemore. Why u keep defaulting leh?

Whether you can still get clearance or not, your Guess is as good as the rest. It's up to the people doing clearance to decide and not up to anyone of us.

Nobody without revealing the actual procedure of clearance will be able to say for certain what exactly they consider when they do the clearance.

So trust those people who say they know exactly at your own peril.

mgx-alander

What the big deal about Cat 1 clearance anyway...

I see so many ABNNs and ATs working inside NCS and ST supporting gahmen projects now anyway too

they are cat 2 maximum, i failed CAT 1 for intel project at ST cos my mom was previously a malaysian citizen

zuoom

Wait till you see the CAT 0 ibm mainframe one punch special force guy...

limjq44

Are you a singaporean? Did you serve NS?

Yes, I am a Singaporean and I am currently serving NS. I plan to take up a CSIT scholarship and it has a 3 years bond, which means I have to work at CSIT for 3 years...when I applied for the scholarship, they made me fill in a MINDEF Job Application form so I guess CSIT is related to MINDEF... and i was told that I will have a security clearance check. The problem is .... my mum is born in Malaysia and now she is a Singaporean, my dad is a Singaporean, so what are the chances of me clearing the security clearance?

reddevil0728

Yes, I am a Singaporean and I am currently serving NS. I plan to take up a CSIT scholarship and it has a 3 years bond, which means I have to work at CSIT for 3 years...when I applied for the scholarship, they made me fill in a MINDEF Job Application form so I guess CSIT is related to MINDEF... and i was told that I will have a security clearance check. The problem is .... my mum is born in Malaysia and now she is a Singaporean, my dad is a Singaporean, so what are the chances of me clearing the security clearance?
What about this, there's no more in speculating. Regardless of what any of us say here, your circumstances wouldn't change. So why don't you just apply and don't think about it anymore.

If you get it, then good for you. If you don't then well maybe you aren't fated...

No point thinking day and night worrying about something that's beyond your control.

leehuaqing

Recently applied for Auxiliary Police but the HR said i failed my CAT 2A Clearance? What does it means? One of them said i'm unfit to carry fire arms.. Like i'm able to carry rifles in army but no go for Taurus revolver?!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.