What is diff bet "Flat White" and "Cafe Latte" and "Cafe au lait"?

Hisashiburi

Seems to be all espresso with milk?

What is the diff bet "Flat White" and "Cafe Latte" and "Cafe au lait"?

tks

buttbERry

Honorary Mentor
flat-white-vs-latte.jpg

Latte-vs-Cafe-Au-Lait.jpg

lalalalalala

Seems to be all espresso with milk?

What is the diff bet "Flat White" and "Cafe Latte" and "Cafe au lait"?

tks
By right

Flat white is latte with microfoam (very thin layer)

Cafe latte is espresso shot in then pour milk over with normal foam

Cuppuccino is same as latte but thicker foam

Cafe au liat is just milk and coffee in general (foam not needed)

But in sg all these just mean the same thing

Shutterbox

By right

Flat white is latte with microfoam (very thin layer)

Cafe latte is espresso shot in then pour milk over with normal foam

Cuppuccino is same as latte but thicker foam

Cafe au liat is just milk and coffee in general (foam not needed)

But in sg all these just mean the same thing
i dun frequent starbucks and even %arabica, so i dunno how good they do this

if u got more coffeeholic cafes, they are specifically done.

bochup84

Starbucks don't do this properly. They scope foam into the cups, shortcut de. :cry:
% is ok, and most small cafes do better flat white than starbucks.

lalalalalala

majority of sg cafes dont have real baristas, so you order any of these you just get a latte

lalalalalala

I only knew

Kopi oh = black, no milk, with sugar
Kopi = with milk and sugar
Kopi siew dai = milk with less sugar
Kopi oh kosong = black. No milk, no sugar.

Too lazy to learn the ang moh terminology.
ang moh one is easier actually.

everything start with espresso shot.

then you add milk.

americano - espresso shot add water
long black - water add espresso shot

latte - espresso shot add milk
macchiatto - milk add espresso shot

sg one starts with default of kopi which is coffee + condensed milk

then you specify which one you want to exclude

kopi o - exclude milk
kopi si - change to evaporated milk + sugar
kopi si kosong - exclude sugar

then you have all the density of coffee, milk sugar

sugar dosage
gar dai - add
siew dai - less

coffee dosage
gao - more
poh - less
tiloh - no add water

there is no control over the milk dosage because you control the sugar and coffee dosage to determine the milk dosage

note: there is no kopi kosong because condensed milk is assumed to have sugar and cannot be separated

then you combine the o kosong si with the gar siew gao poh to decide the beverage, which is why its so ***** confusing and non systematic

Dracky

It's all coffee with milk. Taste the same to me.

hardwaregone

Flat white there are two types. The familiar type we have in Singapore is the aussie version. It is basically latte which is hot milk without foam. Or at best very little foam. It is basically very liquid with weak texture.

Latte is more foamy, about 2 cm of milk froth on top. The milk itself is also slightly texturised with foam.

Cappuccino is cappuccino. No wet cappuccino or dry cappuccino. Definitely cappuccino is not the Italian name for latte.
Cappuccino is froth till it is like total foam, it appears all foam but after you pour in, a huge part of it becomes back liquid. You put your espresso in. You will see the three layers of froth, milk and espresso almost evenly defined.

Some idiots call dry cappuccino as not good, claim wet cappuccino is correct. Wet cappuccino is basically a latte because the froth on top is only about 2 cm. Cappuccino foam is lighter than espresso, it will float much of the milk on top and not mix as much. Meaning cappuccino is a stronger coffee flavoured drink.

Those that draw exquisite latte art, draw with very fine thickness, are often basically flat whites because it has very thin froth.

Cafe au lait is filtered coffee with French press with milk. Coffee produced with French Press is thicker than kopi because the filter don't hold back the coffee oil as much like socks do but it has more sediment.

:o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.