where to get help for this family issue?

Taloona

Why parent no retire save ?

Every thing dump on chewren to tank ?
I believe his parents belong to the older generation. That generation, many are uneducated and held very low paying jobs, some even without CPF. Their daily struggle was to put food on the table, let alone savings. After this generation passed on, the next generation of parents are slightly better off financially. They are more educated and would have planned for their retirement.

BlackWing1977

this part easier said then done, father keeps insisting bo daiji. go see doc for what? he very stubborn don't want to go see then got mood swings...sian
It is entirely up to you to persuade him, it is your life... no point telling me difficult as that would not make it any more simpler. I can empathize with you as my mum is wheelchair bound after she have several toes amputated from her both foot.. due to diabetes, even after amputation, due to neuropathy in her legs.. even with a serious pressure sore developing she also cannot feel it.. by the time I noticed it was quite bad.. and it end up become a deep hole reaching her bones in her toes.. luckily after the past month daily changing dressing and now with advice from podiatrist... her toes is getting better... it was visibly very dark in color when I first noticed it.. now is much better and the hole is becoming smaller... but it is deep as measured by the podiatrist. :sick:

I really do not want to go through another amputation surgery.. very tiring.. to bring her to hospital every 2 to 3 days, not to mention long hospital stay, maybe 1 to 2 weeks for surgery, then 1 month in community hospital and you still have to make visit to community hospital to bring her for appointment to the main hospital just beside.. they can help you send her for appointment but they charge.. and not cheap... so ownself do lor. Then when she is back home, you still have a long period of follow up until she fully heal... and I am talking about months... :sick:

And now my mum also have dementia, she is diagnosed as unspecified dementia with psychosis.... so it is quite bad as she kept talking and quarreling with people that is simply not there... now with medicine she is much more stable, but requires working closely with the doctor.

And yeah I am only son, got no siblings to fall back on. :sick:

Taloona

this part easier said then done, father keeps insisting bo daiji. go see doc for what? he very stubborn don't want to go see then got mood swings...sian
Your mum too? Is she the one whom you think might have dementia? How old are your parents?

Taloona

It is entirely up to you to persuade him, it is your life... no point telling me difficult as that would not make it any more simpler. I can empathize with you as my mum is wheelchair bound after she have several toes amputated from her both foot.. due to diabetes, even after amputation, due to neuropathy in her legs.. even with a serious pressure sore developing she also cannot feel it.. by the time I noticed it was quite bad.. and it end up become a deep hole reaching her bones in her toes.. luckily after the past month daily changing dressing and now with advice from podiatrist... her toes is getting better... it was visibly very dark in color when I first noticed it.. now is much better and the hole is becoming smaller... but it is deep as measured by the podiatrist. :sick:

I really do not want to go through another amputation surgery.. very tiring.. to bring her to hospital every 2 to 3 days, not to mention long hospital stay, maybe 1 to 2 weeks for surgery, then 1 month in community hospital and you still have to make visit to community hospital to bring her for appointment to the main hospital just beside.. they can help you send her for appointment but they charge.. and not cheap... so ownself do lor. Then when she is back home, you still have a long period of follow up until she fully heal... and I am talking about months... :sick:

And now my mum also have dementia, she is diagnosed as unspecified dementia with psychosis.... so it is quite bad as she kept talking and quarreling with people that is simply not there... now with medicine she is much more stable, but requires working closely with the doctor.
I can empathize with you. I was a caregiver from age 13 onwards. Mum had a stroke when I was in Sec One. Overnight, I also had to take care of my disabled sister too when Mum got a stroke. That was in the early 80s and no government help was available, at least not that my family knew of at that time.

qhong61

staying with my parents, 1 got mobility issue, another suspected got dementia, haven't gone for check up. managed to hire a helper but my savings very low liao and subsidies like not enough, i don't know what else to do. anyone got suggestions?
No siblings?

BlackWing1977

I can emphasise with you. I was a caregiver from age 13 onwards. Mum had a stroke when I was in Sec One. Overnight, I also had to take care of my disabled sister too when Mum got a stroke. That was in the early 80s and no government help was available, at least not that my family knew of at that time.
While government is doing something for people like caregivers.. but I do think they can do more and better.

Their ComCare have very strict criteria and are simply out of reach for most people in our situation, they say your bank account still got some savings.. so cannot... then I never even bother asking the CDC for help after... :sick:

Joseph12

staying with my parents, 1 got mobility issue, another suspected got dementia, haven't gone for check up. managed to hire a helper but my savings very low liao and subsidies like not enough, i don't know what else to do. anyone got suggestions?
I think you already know

The social welfare ministry
And maybe call up the respective charities etc and ask
Otherwise that's about it

Don't believe all the PAP propaganda
If you hit a certain income and live in a certain way , you won't get welfare from them

BlackWing1977

I think you already know

The social welfare ministry
And maybe call up the respective charities etc and ask
Otherwise that's about it

Don't believe all the PAP propaganda
If you hit a certain income and live in a certain way , you won't get welfare from them
First he need to get the father diagnosed first.. without that difficult to apply for any assistance also...

MajiMax

Consider getting your parent to agree to apply for Lasting Power of Attorney and appoint you as their donee. In case, they lose their mental capacity and you don’t have access to their bank accounts/govt payout.

Joseph12

First he need to get the father diagnosed first.. without that difficult to apply for any assistance also...
No matter what diagnosis , won't get shite

Firstly if he wants to put father in home etc, he can do but they won't give him subsidies
It will be cheaper no matter what when he sees doctors etc I think

addict951

bro is overseas with japanese wife, sister got 4 children...all busy with their lives
This is the 2nd time you’re telling us liao
Seems you’re trying to shield them from the issues you face at home.
Do you feel you’re solely responsible now cos you’re FA and living wif your parents? And you feel you shouldn’t ask your siblings for assistance cos you think they got their own issues too? :look:

happycamper_222

my father will blow up everytime i try to bring him go see doctor. i might need to ask someone to come down to check on him, but first thing i did was to sell the car. he keeps insisting on driving and nearly got into an accident.

MajiMax

No matter what diagnosis , won't get shite

Firstly if he wants to put father in home etc, he can do but they won't give him subsidies
It will be cheaper no matter what when he sees doctors etc I think
Putting in a nursing home can be a double edge sword.

It may provide a relief to the caregiving burden, but on the other hand, it can create financial stress due to lower subsidy if TS is working full-time.

menthol28

It should be very easy to get help. Just need to go polyclinic get an appt with hospital for your parents. Every gov hospital will have a social care cum financial support, approach them from they. They will also guide you and also lead the way to other source of gov subsidies for FDW and etc.
Have you started doing anything or just procrastinating

Joseph12

Putting in a nursing home can be a double edge sword.

It may provide a relief to the caregiving burden, but on the other hand, it can create financial stress due to lower subsidy if TS is working full-time.
Yes
So many factors to consider
In worse case scenario TS have no choice if staying at home is not doable at all
Like stay at home , turn on gas, violent, run away from home etc

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.