where to get help for this family issue?

JAson1980

staying with my parents, 1 got mobility issue, another suspected got dementia, haven't gone for check up. managed to hire a helper but my savings very low liao and subsidies like not enough, i don't know what else to do. anyone got suggestions?
See your MP lo

BlackWing1977

Got caregiver grant if one of them needs help for maybe 2 or 3 daily activities. I blur blur didn't know and didnt apply for years.

Is 400 per month. If pioneer plus another 100.
It started couple of years back lar... I think around 5 years or less...

BlackWing1977

Last time maid levy was $240, now only $60 , although maid salary is now $600.
Need to apply for the Home Caregiving Grant to help to offset lor...

That is why I also dare not hire maid... got levy got salary, still have to provide food and daily necessities... and Singapore COL is getting more and more scary... :sick:

Ethan_

It started couple of years back lar... I think around 5 years or less...
Think vaguely remembered only recently saw and come to know of something similar (not sure if same), thinking perhaps as pre election thingy, as they paste inside lift asking people who need it apply. Thought its something localised as part of their 5 year plan or something. So, this is actually applicable to everyone and have been there for some time?

BlackWing1977

Just now went to FairPrice.. walk one round buy some groceries like plain ramen noodles, some seasoning fried onions, garlic and chilli for cooking noodles, some dried ingredients like mushrooms.. some frozen mixed vegetables, and 1 honey chicken on promo, $90+ gone.. lucky can use CDC to pay. :cry:

BlackWing1977

Think vaguely remembered only recently saw and come to know of something similar (not sure if same), thinking perhaps as pre election thingy, as they paste inside lift asking people who need it apply. Thought its something localised as part of their 5 year plan or something. So, this is actually applicable to everyone and have been there for some time?
The Home Caregiving Grant (HCG) was officially introduced by the Ministry of Health (MOH) in Singapore on October 1, 2019. It replaced the Foreign Domestic Worker (FDW) Grant. The HCG provides a monthly cash payout to help families cover the costs of caring for loved ones with permanent moderate disability. According to HealthHub, the HCG can be used for eldercare, caregiver support services in the community, or hiring a Foreign Domestic Worker (FDW).

https://www.moh.gov.sg/newsroom/new...e-care-to-support-caregiving-in-the-community

Introduced in 2019, I remember I chiong to apply after it started about few months.... I heard of it before it started. I also share in one of the thread for people who care for dementia family member.

The original grant was for people who hire maids... but this new grant is more open to apply.

Ethan_

Need to apply for the Home Caregiving Grant to help to offset lor...

That is why I also dare not hire maid... got levy got salary, still have to provide food and daily necessities... and Singapore COL is getting more and more scary... :sick:
Just curious, as long as got elderly at home to take care can get something or really need to go here go there have doctor certification of something serious then can get? The criteria and qualification is it troublesome?

coyote

staying with my parents, 1 got mobility issue, another suspected got dementia, haven't gone for check up. managed to hire a helper but my savings very low liao and subsidies like not enough, i don't know what else to do. anyone got suggestions?

Do your parents have eldershields and they cannot perform 3 out 6 activities on their own?

Mephist0pheLes

Go to supportgowhere portal and see which subsidy/grants apply to you

coyote

Skip to content
Open sidebar
ChatGPT

You said:​

How to qualify for ElderShields Claim

ChatGPT said:​

To qualify for an ElderShield claim in Singapore, you must meet specific eligibility criteria and follow the application process outlined below:

✅ Eligibility Criteria​

1. ElderShield Coverage:
    You must be an ElderShield policyholder. ElderShield was automatically offered to Singapore Citizens and Permanent Residents with MediSave accounts when they turned 40 years old in 2019 or earlier.
  2. Severe Disability:
    You must be assessed as severely disabled, defined as requiring substantial assistance with at least three of the six Activities of Daily Living (ADLs):
    • Washing: Ability to wash in the bath or shower, including getting into and out of the bath or shower, or do a sponge/bed bath.
    • Dressing: Ability to put on, take off, secure, and unfasten all garments and, as appropriate, any braces, artificial limbs, or other surgical or medical appliances.
    • Feeding: Ability to feed oneself after food has been prepared and made available.
    • Toileting: Ability to use the toilet or manage bowel and bladder function through the use of protective undergarments or surgical appliances if appropriate.
    • Mobility: Ability to move indoors from room to room on level surfaces.
    • Transferring: Ability to move from a bed to an upright chair or wheelchair, and vice versa. AskGov+1Wikipedia+1

📝 How to Apply​

1. Schedule a Disability Assessment:
    Arrange for an assessment with a Ministry of Health (MOH)-accredited severe disability assessor. The assessment fee is $100 for a clinic visit and $250 for a house call. These fees are reimbursable if you are assessed to have a severe disability.
  2. Submit Your Claim:
    Log in to the Agency for Integrated Care (AIC)'s eServices for Financing Schemes (eFASS) Application Portal using your Singpass to submit your claim. If you do not have Singpass, a caregiver can assist with the submission.
  3. Processing Time:
    The claim processing may take up to four weeks. If approved, payouts will be made to your nominated bank account in the following month, potentially including payouts from the month the application was submitted.

💰 Payout Details​

🔍 Additional Information​

• Check Your Coverage:
    To verify if you're covered under ElderShield, log in to the CPF website with your Singpass, select "My Messages," and check under the "Healthcare" section.
  • Further Assistance:
    For more information or assistance, you can contact AIC at 1800-650-6060 or visit www.aic.sg/eldershield.
If you need help locating an MOH-accredited assessor or navigating the application portal, feel free to ask!
Favicon

Favicon

Favicon

Favicon

Favicon

Sources

ChatGPT can make mistakes. Check important info.

BlackWing1977

Just curious, as long as got elderly at home to take care can get something or really need to go here go there have doctor certification of something serious then can get? The criteria and qualification is it troublesome?
When you fill in the application form there is a section that requires you to find a doctor to prove the patient required assistance for 3 or more ADL...

888blancgmail

Through the Lease Buyback Scheme (LBS), you will be able to monetise your flat to receive a stream of income in your retirement years, while continuing to live in it.

You can sell part of your flat’s lease to HDB and choose to retain the length of lease based on the age of the youngest owner. The proceeds from selling part of your flat’s lease will be used to top up your CPF Retirement Account (RA). You can then use your CPF RA savings to join CPF LIFE, which will provide you with a monthly income for life.

https://www.hdb.gov.sg/residential/...your-flat-for-retirement/lease-buyback-scheme

MajiMax

Through the Lease Buyback Scheme (LBS), you will be able to monetise your flat to receive a stream of income in your retirement years, while continuing to live in it.

You can sell part of your flat’s lease to HDB and choose to retain the length of lease based on the age of the youngest owner. The proceeds from selling part of your flat’s lease will be used to top up your CPF Retirement Account (RA). You can then use your CPF RA savings to join CPF LIFE, which will provide you with a monthly income for life.

https://www.hdb.gov.sg/residential/...your-flat-for-retirement/lease-buyback-scheme
TS mentioned he/she saying with parent, so if parent do LBS, next time TS got no house (not enough remaining lease) to stay.

BlackWing1977

TS mentioned he/she saying with parent, so if parent do LBS, next time TS got no house (not enough remaining lease) to stay.
Better make sure parents add his name as co-owner.... or else next time siblings come back want a share also... nowadays HDB worth a lot of money... :sick:

888blancgmail

Really not easy.
Downgrade yr hdb?
Look for social worker in hospital?
Must get yr siblings to help too.

Good luck n must take good care of yourself too.😊
Looking at TS current financial etc situations, we dont know TS n parents are eligible for any assistances.

TS must weigh n decide.

TS should still hv cpf.
If no house by then, can rent from HDB 1st.

diequick

AIC would be best.

Helper under whose name? Put helper under mobility issue parent's name, u be sponsor. I think levy is $60 (if already $60 then dont need).

Mobility issue. There is this Seniors’ Mobility and Enabling Fund, got mobility and assistive devices, the other is home healthcare items (2k / year), use it to buy diapers.

Suspected dementia, need to get appt. Need a geriatrician to certify. If cannot go, dont want to go, headache. Send helper for course under "Eldercarer FWD scheme" if not already trained. Most impt, she knows simi dementia, sometimes v hard to handle them one. If hired with prev experience, ok, if nt, some may just quit.

conure

Some grants at AIC require a Functional Assessment Report (FAR) issued by doctor or occupational/physio therapist from a gov hospital. It certifies whether an elderly is capable of doing basic 6 self upkeep activities. Keep this report safely on file. Very troublesome if have to redo. Takes about a week's stay in hospital to get this report done.

https://www.aic.sg/wp-content/uploads/2023/05/Functional-Assessment-Report.pdf

MajiMax

AIC would be best.

Helper under whose name? Put helper under mobility issue parent's name, u be sponsor. I think levy is $60 (if already $60 then dont need).

Mobility issue. There is this Seniors’ Mobility and Enabling Fund, got mobility and assistive devices, the other is home healthcare items (2k / year), use it to buy diapers.

Suspected dementia, need to get appt. Need a geriatrician to certify. If cannot go, dont want to go, headache. Send helper for course under "Eldercarer FWD scheme" if not already trained. Most impt, she knows simi dementia, sometimes v hard to handle them one. If hired with prev experience, ok, if nt, some may just quit.
SMF-Consumables, the recipient has to be enrolled in the Home Nursing services then can get the subsidy.

wanderandwondered

I can emphasise with you. I was a caregiver from age 13 onwards. Mum had a stroke when I was in Sec One. Overnight, I also had to take care of my disabled sister too when Mum got a stroke. That was in the early 80s and no government help was available, at least not that my family knew of at that time.
Thirteen years old!!! That must have been a really trying time for you. I can't imagine how difficult it must be for you to take on that kind of responsibility. Speaks volumes about your resilience and strength.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.