why did liu thai ker again bring up this 10m population again? do you agree with how he thinks?

Śūnyatā

Population growth is one of the quickest ways to boost the economy. Every migrant brings along consumption (everyone needs to eat, drink and live somewhere). Consumption means more commercial activity. It is a shortcut (albeit temporary because space is finite) solution, an alternative to a more grounded robust but challenging strategy that requires boosting the economic output of existing residents many-fold.

needhelpbadlynow

moi think sinkapore need to follow caina do reeducation of new sitizen before giving them pink isee.

anyone wana convert to be sinkies must go thru a concentration camp for 6 months at least to daily say

i love sinkapore!!! sinkapore ish best!!! we must suckport sinkapore!!! then write 100k times i love sinkapore. 🤭

sinkapore can ask caina send some reeducators to help conduct the training. 🤭

yoongf

He is right to say we shd be planning for a 10mil population.
He is an infrastructure guy, not a sociologist. A city BUILT for 10mil means a lot more housing and transport options, and SG can feel like other more spacious cities.
It does not mean SG shd hv 10mil ppl living here.

Coffeemate

He is right. People just uncomfortable with numbers. If you plan for 5 million, and you get 5 million, it will be very short-sighted of Sinkieland. I'd rather a space that's planned for 10 million and we have actually 6 million.
Except this won't happen. If you plan for 10million, that 10million plan will be a self fulfilling prophecy.
Because that's what all policy is based on. Don't forget our govt is used to squeezing out kpi numbers no matter what it takes. They have no problems with importing people as a resource to fulfill numbers.

AndroidComa

boomer generation

they believe the pyramid one
for every 10 men must have 1 sgt for every 10 sgt 1 officer and so on
so they need a lot of lower end ppl to justify their top end salaries

elmohootbigbird

what he thinks is his business. what has it gotta do with us? unless there are other entities which think like he does.

hatredhollow

SG heading toward Venice ending

not enough local, all source out to FT even population also.
when SG start to decline, you see all the chao FT run to airport first.

tJ3333

EDMW is confirm never do project before. During project planning you always oversize the thing to factor in potential growth and excess budget. The larger the project, the more likely the budget is going to run over budget. The longer term the project, the more likely your estimation is too low. Population planning is an extremely long term project and extremely large in scope so they need to overplan. Or do EDMW prefer to go back to 2011 where MRT breaks down and HDB is not enough

Is HDB still enough now, since we have planned for 6.9mm only, and we have much less than 6.9mm now?

Plow98

why did liu thai ker again bring up this 10m population again?​

He did it once long time ago and it made him famous.
Since then his greatness faded away
Time for a revival
So a repeat broadcast.

Gunnerspirit

Last erection he caused a huge debate and may be paid some political cost to pap.
Now bring up again.
He pro or trying to sabo

kimsix

EDMW is confirm never do project before. During project planning you always oversize the thing to factor in potential growth and excess budget. The larger the project, the more likely the budget is going to run over budget. The longer term the project, the more likely your estimation is too low. Population planning is an extremely long term project and extremely large in scope so they need to overplan. Or do EDMW prefer to go back to 2011 where MRT breaks down and HDB is not enough

dont tok cock lah. you build infra for 10m, but only 6m using, who pays to maintain them?

today mrt still break down, hdb still not enough.

160 test balloon already, 10m is a need, infra for 10m is not about giving sinkies better lives. everything leads to pap ponzi for economy growth and their gdp bonuses

at 5.8m, your hdb already smaller, your estates already more crowded, mrt alread packed. cost of living is up, work longer hours.

This is particularly so, given the city-state's need to ramp up economic growth to keep pace with neighbouring countries that are progressing faster than before.
"We must be prepared for possibly faster economic growth to stand tall among them," said Dr Liu. "And to do so, we must accept population growth. And partly because of that, a few years ago, I said, 'Let's plan for 10 million people'.

xdivider

test balloons lai de. some people keep insisting this is planning excess capacity but 4G MIW always build to order. only reason why they start this again is to see if they can whole sale import a peasant class in..........

xdivider

dont tok cock lah. you build infra for 10m, but only 6m using, who pays to maintain them?

today mrt still break down, hdb still not enough.

160 test balloon already, 10m is a need, infra for 10m is not about giving sinkies better lives. everything leads to pap ponzi for economy growth and their gdp bonuses

at 5.8m, your hdb already smaller, your estates already more crowded, mrt alread packed. cost of living is up, work longer hours.
precisely. even for project planning if u plan 10 mil and end up only using 5mil, u are going to be sent to the board for qning on your resource planning skills and decisions. which is why b4 end fy, u see all those TC and stat board go on mass spending sprees.........

trevlim

maybe he can explain why hdb flats are getting incredibly smaller and smaller too

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.