Why do boomers like to behave like that?

cyke69sg

Its the Singapore system that is difficult to change. It's a 'box' system with an ultra rigid definition of 'success'.

I avoid having my family follow the 'system' which I find it miserable.
Me too. I reject the Singapore way of life.

I am realistic and know money is important
But it should not be the only thing in life.

The SIngapore flat and condo is already SO TINY and yet need someone else to clean? It's a joke.

Cowbellc

1. Very kaypoh. Like to ask where you stay, marriage status, job, where you work. 2.will feel sorry for you if you tell them you are single and try to matchmake you as if I want to get married 3. Like to give advice and think ownself is big ****. 4. Very entitled and kiasu. Expect people to por them. 5. Very loyal to company. Many work in same company until retirement. I told them I quit job to rest and switch industry and they thought I am siaolang
Youngsters oso beri d kpo1 leh
got 1 edwer ask 4 divorce procedures advice, instead of giving, keeps questioning why divorce🤣, then giv worldly adv hw to maintenance rs, how work affect marriages🤣
really 20k🤣

mummynew

Often we say mum has the best food even when we go out to eat.

Whenever I cooking for my kids, I often think about my late mum. How she once needed to cook for a family of more than a dozen pax, how much food ingredients she needed to prep, the heavy weight of the pots and pans to handle, etc. My heart filled with thankfulness whenever I am cooking in the kitchen and thereby cooking my food with love = intangible.

MoeLanYong

It's a good deal.

You still get what I am saying.

There are some things that to me are things I should do ony own and not delegate it. I take responsibility.

When I start delegating and thinking someone else can do it for me. Cheap. Convenient. That's where my values and priorities will change.

Where do you draw the line? Right?

Anyway bro I totally understand where you are coming from. All my relatives in SGhave maids
Friends in SG have maid.

But sometimes I hear their complaints about the maid I chuckle.

Something cannot find? Ask the maid. Maybe she stole it?
Clothes damaged by washing machine. Scold the maid.
Car Not clean enough tell maid clean again.
Wear and tear in house. Faucet broken. Furniture show wear. Blame the maid. Bad maid.

Aiyo. There is no such thing in my household.
And I like it this way.

Your values are 15 degrees weather and 50% humidity.

Our values are 35 degrees weather and 99% humidity

I step out of my air con bedroom already got sweat dripping down.

Big difference. When I stay in Oz, no problem everyday got energy run to Bunnings buyed things to fix.

cyke69sg

Whenever I cooking for my kids, I often think about my late mum. How she once needed to cook for a family of more than a dozen pax, how much food ingredients she needed to prep, the heavy weight of the pots and pans to handle, etc. My heart filled with thankfulness whenever I am cooking in the kitchen and thereby cooking my food with love = intangible.
Lovely sharing.

cyke69sg

Your values are 15 degrees weather and 50% humidity.

Our values are 35 degrees weather and 99% humidity
Is excuse
I lived in SG and had kids too. But our condo only 1000+sqft 2 toilets. So fast clean finish. I would even go back home during lunchtime to vaccum and mop. Then night time wash toilet. Done. So simple.
I step out of my air con bedroom already got sweat dripping down.

I know the feeling and hate it too. But that's life in SG
Choosing not to do housework is a choice. Not a necessity.
Big difference. When I stay in Oz, no problem everyday got energy run to Bunnings buyed things to fix.
In Oz you clean your own house? Wash toilet? Why not hire maid applying the same logic and reasons you used in SG? Who wash toilet in your house in Oz?

Mountainnodew

Moi don’t mind someone to be interested in moi’s life sometimes. Even if you share with them, they won’t remember it and save it inside their long term memory. Some ask so that to start a conversation going or being concerned for you.

tokong

1. Very kaypoh. Like to ask where you stay, marriage status, job, where you work. 2.will feel sorry for you if you tell them you are single and try to matchmake you as if I want to get married 3. Like to give advice and think ownself is big ****. 4. Very entitled and kiasu. Expect people to por them. 5. Very loyal to company. Many work in same company until retirement. I told them I quit job to rest and switch industry and they thought I am siaolang
Umm, they have a reason to question you because even I find it weird. I wonder why you did that. You should take unpaid leave to rest, not quit totally. I do have subordinates who want a good rest, they just take one month unpaid leave, go back Myanmar/Thailand rest and see family. After one month come back loh.

Raitei-Q

Boomer like to call me å°é²œč‚‰ and try to matchmake me. They say I don't look my age and treat me as ginna and order me around
Boomer aka lao 38 aunties base on the what u have mentioned🤣
If you wish to entertain them by all means go ahead😌

weiess

got nothing better to do...
thats y sinkie boomers cannot reitire... must continue to work work work..

Roid Rage

Sounds like some BBFA got hurt by boomer :crazy:

coyote

Sounds like some BBFA got hurt by boomer :crazy:

It just everyday chitchat at work where colleagues taking things light heartedly... Don't see why anyone needs to get unhappy or frustrated...🤷

messidona

Boomer unker still ok. I like to talk with them. It is the boomer aunties. Sibei entitled and kaypoh. Like to ask personal questions which invade my privacy. Expect me to help them

blankies

Why you so low self esteem. Ppl talk abit ask abit. Need to come here open thread. One of the thing hit your nerves har.
Chill lah. You will grow old also...

~sabaisabai~

äøŠę¢äøę­£äø‹ę¢ę­Ŗ

ęœ‰å…¶ēˆ¶åæ…ęœ‰å…¶å­

é¾™ē”Ÿé¾™ļ¼Œå‡¤ē”Ÿå‡¤ļ¼Œč€é¼ ēš„å„æå­ä¼šę‰“ę“ž
Ai seh your Chinese quite power sia :p

messidona

Why you so low self esteem. Ppl talk abit ask abit. Need to come here open thread. One of the thing hit your nerves har.
Chill lah. You will grow old also...
Sinkie aunties very kaypoh. Boomer aunties in other countries not so kaypoh and entitled

davidtkl76

No point posting this kind of things la.

They also think your generation are weaklings and cant take hardship.

Its an issue of generational perspectives.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.