Why no action so far to combat the rising property prices?

jericho75

just stop loan deferment for those that cannot pay. usa also stop eviction moratorium liao.

greentiger

Pasir Ris 8's multiple price hikes of up to S$2,000 psf may raise expectations for suburban condo pricing​

recruit

Because many still can afford it. Look at the HDB prices? I remember Clementi 4BR was asking for $700k! It seems like the norm and apparently sellers can still get buyers at sky high prices.

Kunkka

just stop loan deferment for those that cannot pay. usa also stop eviction moratorium liao.
Singapore didn’t even have eviction moratorium . Landlords still collecting rents and now have huge warchest to buy more properties

focus1974

I think govt will not do any drastic measures as long as HDB BTOs and Resales are still within reach of the majority.

Actually, govt has no incentive to make PRIVATE Condos/Landed affordable to the majority.

it is supposedly for the rich people... but last time market very bad ..that's why condo are priced so cheap.

Thats why the key thing is HDB prices.

roflolmao

Desmond Lee is in charge now right?

Before that was Lawrence Wong.

because if you make it cheaper, then 80% of the population will lose paper gain

if you make it go up, 80% of the population will make paper gain

in a democracy, you need >50% of the votes to get into parliament.

you say leh?

questsohai

fence sitters will lament why govt never stop prices from spiralling up.
owners are rubbing their hands with glee.
moral of story - if one wait for fire sale, be prepared to be burnt 😄😄

Mechafanboy

fence sitters will lament why govt never stop prices from spiralling up.
owners are rubbing their hands with glee.
moral of story - if one wait for fire sale, be prepared to be burnt 😄😄

Don't be so certain hor...Once covid dust settles, and the region stabilizes, chances are, you will see an outflow of capital from sg, into neighboring lands...

Eost002

Don't be so certain hor...Once covid dust settles, and the region stabilizes, chances are, you will see an outflow of capital from sg, into neighboring lands...
But will bring another assumption, how you know covid will settle down?

jericho75

Singapore didn’t even have eviction moratorium . Landlords still collecting rents and now have huge warchest to buy more properties

because owe banks and hdb money still can defer now.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.