With 9% GST, many F&Bs and cafes still displaying GST-excluded prices to mislead customers

tokiya

If you go Starbucks or coffee bean, what you see on the menu prices is what you pay. This is honesty.

But when you go those atas cafes and FnBs, menu show one price then you go cashier they chut stun apply GST make you pay more.

IRAS need to clamp down on all these illegal cafes and FnBs.

It is illegal to show GST excluded prices without informing the customer with a statement that GST and service charges wiill need to be applied.
https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/goods...-record-keeping/displaying-and-quoting-prices

Ye_Rongtian

Anything wrong? Hmm... as long as they are GST registered they are allowed to charge GST?

Turalyon

Agreed. Realised a lot of f&b outlets are not displaying the net price customers have to pay. I suspect some are not even eligible to charge gst.

tokiya

Anything wrong? Hmm... as long as they are GST registered they are allowed to charge GST?

But they must show in the menu the price is subject to service and gst.

Many FnBs exclude the statement or fail to include the ++ to trick you.

sinkie886

If you go Starbucks or coffee bean, what you see on the menu prices is what you pay. This is honesty.

But when you go those atas cafes and FnBs, menu show one price then you go cashier they chut stun apply GST make you pay more.

It is illegal to show GST excluded prices without informing the customer with a statement that GST and service charges wiill need to be applied.
https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/goods...-record-keeping/displaying-and-quoting-prices
I once go to a place that charge svc charge 10% first , then on top of that count the 7% gst.. (become 7.7%)… really knn!

tokiya

becos service charge what.. govt got provide this exception

According to IRAS

"
However, they must still prominently display a statement informing customers that the prices displayed are subject to GST and service charge.

Please note that the exception does not apply to hotels and F&B outlets that do not impose a service charge. Such businesses are still required to display GST-inclusive prices.
"

Many of these cafes and FnBs don't have this statement.

They make you queue up go buy your coffee or bread then apply GST at the cashier.

Phen8210

pay $10+ for coffee honesty ah LOL

MyWill

Loll. Err... most restaurants do that what? Prices without gst and service tax.

djkopikat

what kind of fish can live in a bowl

They r exempted... u have no case

TopGun

They r exempted irrc.

1982-1994

Sushi xpress lor
Don't ever think one sushi is really $1.50 ,plus GST and service charge ,$1.77

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.