XiaoMi Tri-Band Mi AX9000 Gaming Wi-Fi Router with WiFi 6

skpuppy

Just received my 1 unit from China. Freaking beast. I can’t imagine meshing 2 AX9000. $500 for 2 units. Lol! Just slightly more ex than 1 x AX88U and not even enough $$$ to pay for 1 x AX11000.
Haha! It was a breeze doing the setup using the mihome app.

watzup_ken

Just received my 1 unit from China. Freaking beast. I can’t imagine meshing 2 AX9000. $500 for 2 units. Lol! Just slightly more ex than 1 x AX88U and not even enough $$$ to pay for 1 x AX11000.
Enjoy man. In terms of performance vs value, its imposible for Asus to match. ;)

jasonho

Congrats ! Time to get the 2nd AX9000 😂

skpuppy

For my test, I use a lan cable to connect the lan (from my AX88U) to the wan of the AX9000. With both routers in the corner of my living room, my furthest room got 150mbps download but only 50mbps upload (when using AX9000). I am on 500mbps m1 plan. My old AX88U hitting about 110mbps upload and download at the same place. Maybe need to either get 2 x AX6000 to mesh or 1 more AX9000 to mesh.
Actually the unit looks quite solid. App also easy to use

xiaohanhan

When setting up the router using the app, does the router needs to be connected to the internet?

skpuppy

I didn’t try before but I don’t think so la. As long as your mihome app can connect to your router, it can be setup

tak3shi

AX3600 guest wifi does not work.
Is the Guest Wifi working for AX9000?

iMac

Congrats ! Time to get the 2nd AX9000 😂
Hi, I realise quite a number of ppl need to get a 2nd AX9000 here.

Is it the range of this AX9000 is bad? Unable to cover the whole house with just 1x set?

skpuppy

Is it the range of this AX9000 is bad? Unable to cover the whole house with just 1x set?
I would say range is like AX88U and AX11000. I doubt it can go further than that. However the pricing model makes it super attractive. Furthermore the app is so easy to use compared to Asus. Just use mihome app to mesh and done. If u buy 1 x9000 and 1 ax6000, can totally trash 1 set of AX88U

jasonho

Pricing is the key factor here. If you dont mind the size + the chinese UI, both AX9000 and AX6000 are probably the best value for money AX router you can find in the market now.

2 units of AX9000 costs similar or slightly cheaper than a AX88U now.

skpuppy

Personally unless ur router can be smack in the centre of the house, 1-2 nodes are recommended. No harm adding more nodes via ethernet or wifi to make the internet more consistent. My 1 unit of AX88U can do about 480+ mbps in my living/ dining. When I go into each bedroom, it drops to 300mbps. The furthest bedroom will get about 120mbps. Toilet almost no hope at 5-10mbps. Adding another node makes the whole house have internet of about 200mbps. My home is those old HDB where I converted my phone line to lan port. Although they are limited at 98mbps, very very stable if I hook them up via Ethernet as compared to wireless. However the trade off is 98mbps super stable vs 200mbps (sometimes fluctuate a bit due to wifi)

iMac

Personally unless ur router can be smack in the centre of the house, 1-2 nodes are recommended. No harm adding more nodes via ethernet or wifi to make the internet more consistent. My 1 unit of AX88U can do about 480+ mbps in my living/ dining. When I go into each bedroom, it drops to 300mbps. The furthest bedroom will get about 120mbps. Toilet almost no hope at 5-10mbps. Adding another node makes the whole house have internet of about 200mbps. My home is those old HDB where I converted my phone line to lan port. Although they are limited at 98mbps, very very stable if I hook them up via Ethernet as compared to wireless. However the trade off is 98mbps super stable vs 200mbps (sometimes fluctuate a bit due to wifi)
Bro, yours is old HDB how many room flat? My understanding is HDB is not very big, if still need to mesh...Means router power really cmi....I using the free Linksys router given by StarHub, all room got no problem leh...

skpuppy

Bro, yours is old HDB how many room flat? My understanding is HDB is not very big, if still need to mesh...Means router power really cmi....I using the free Linksys router given by Starting, all room got no problem leh...
120 sqm. My router is at the corner of the house. 4 walls to reach my toilet. Not say 1 cannot. The toilet after 4 walls left only 5-10mbps. No point la. I am on 500mbps plan. I am happy for you that the free router works. Even Asus AX88U doesn’t work for me. Once it reaches my last bedroom, the Wi-Fi is unstable already. Sometimes 140mbps, sometimes 80mbps

Xiaomi AX9000 beats AX88U slightly in terms of range but if you compare price:

(1) Xiaomi AX9000 - $220-240 including shipping
(2) Asus AX88U - $350-420?
(3) Asus AX11000U - $599-649

If those foc router works then shiok. U save a lot of $$$

xiaohanhan

I just got mine. Can this use with viewqwest's ONT if I wants to jump over from my current m1 next month?

skpuppy

I just got mine. Can this use with viewqwest's ONT if I wants to jump over from my current m1 next month?
How many units have u bought? I don’t think ViewQwest is a problem. U need to ask them. Why go ViewQwest? Not stable one

xiaofan

Bro, yours is old HDB how many room flat? My understanding is HDB is not very big, if still need to mesh...Means router power really cmi....I using the free Linksys router given by StarHub, all room got no problem leh...

Each flat is different. Floor plan varies a lot. Placement of the ONT and main router is really important.

Old HDB tends to have thick walls and it is not easy to have a single router if you can not place the router in the centre of the flat.

On the other hand, yes there are big differences among different routers. Xiaomi AX3600/6000/9000 China version are among the good ones with regard to wifi transmission power.

Asus RT-AX82U/86U/88U/AX11000 are also good but the price is higher.

I was able to place the router in roughly the centre of the flat. But my previous routers could not cover the master room and corner bedroom well. In the end I got the Asus RT-AX82U China version last year and it is able to cover my 4 room older HDB at 106 sqm well enough (5GHz wifi in the flat).

skpuppy

Each flat is different. Floor plan varies a lot. Placement of the ONT and main router is really important.

Old HDB tends to have thick walls and it is not easy to have a single router if you can not place the router in the centre of the flat.

On the other hand, yes there are big differences among different routers. Xiaomi AX3600/6000/9000 China version are among the good ones with regard to wifi transmission power.

Asus RT-AX82U/86U/88U/AX11000 are also good but the price is higher.

I was able to place the router in roughly the centre of the flat. But my previous routers could not cover the master room and corner bedroom well. In the end I got the Asus RT-AX82U China version last year and it is able to cover my 4 room older HDB at 106 sqm well enough (5GHz wifi in the flat).
I am told China version got higher transmission power? Can set to Australia or something. Is that true?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.