YTD 2025 Networth tracking thread

OngHuatHuat

I bought Meta shares last year when it first fell from nearly usd400 to usd 228 but didn't expect it to keep falling. Just held on to it and finally it recovered and reached usd 400 after laying off staff and reporting healthy earnings.
Only other shares I have is in my SRS, SIA and OCBC which are profitable and Golden Agr which is in the red but lucky only bought one lot.
https://finance.yahoo.com/quote/MET...3jWWjwG-ulUDPvXdiAqKU4CGSdR-dVtqbAN5MQqgsrh4S
It is at USD 240 now,one year high though

Barbiedoll

Thinking of decoupling with hubby and buying another condo for rental with low or no loan. Good for passive income, capital appreciation and legacy planning. After we r gone, can leave one condo each to our 2 boys. Think will be difficult for them to own private property in future.

Problem is hubby very stuck on landed and dislikes condo.

If we have 2 Sg condos , can rent one out and stay in the other. Now rental very good, we actually put up our place for rent and sale to gauge market response and there were viewers for rental at $5500 and sale at $2 million.

Can retire in Sg already like that with 2 condos.

bo_tak_chek_bbfa

mind sharing ur investment strat and next target?
Hmm no investment strategy really. I just have a goal that I set at the start of the year and try to hit it. This year, it is to hit 3k in passive income (achieved). Stretch goal is to have a net worth at 1/3 of a million and increase my investments in iwda from 45k invested -> 60k.

Still thinking of my goals for next year, but I think my focus will be to increase equity allocation.

DevilPlate

Thinking of decoupling with hubby and buying another condo for rental with low or no loan. Good for passive income, capital appreciation and legacy planning. After we r gone, can leave one condo each to our 2 boys. Think will be difficult for them to own private property in future.

Problem is hubby very stuck on landed and dislikes condo.

If we have 2 Sg condos , can rent one out and stay in the other. Now rental very good, we actually put up our place for rent and sale to gauge market response and there were viewers for rental at $5500 and sale at $2 million.

Can retire in Sg already like that with 2 condos.
JB landed also count towards absd…..take note

**correction: overseas properties excluded towards absd property count.
https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/stamp...property/additional-buyer's-stamp-duty-(absd)

revhappy

I just read about Forest city in JB, it seems it is the world's worst wasted real estate project, lol. The ironic thing is it is just a stone throw away from where I live in Jurong and here we live in a crazy 60% ABSD world. If Malaysian authorities could get their act together and somehow work out a visa(without the stupid MM2H rules) for Singapore locals or EP holders to live in JB and commute to SG few days and remaining days WFH, they could solve the property overhang crisis there and Singapore also would have its housing shortage crisis solved. I can see a win win right there.

DevilPlate

I just read about Forest city in JB, it seems it is the world's worst wasted real estate project, lol. The ironic thing is it is just a stone throw away from where I live in Jurong and here we live in a crazy 60% ABSD world. If Malaysian authorities could get their act together and somehow work out a visa(without the stupid MM2H rules) for Singapore locals or EP holders to live in JB and commute to SG few days and remaining days WFH, they could solve the property overhang crisis there and Singapore also would have its housing shortage crisis solved. I can see a win win right there.
Their locals are complaining sinkies pushing up their cost of living.

RTS delayed to end 2026
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...d-transit-system-completion-date-2026-3371166

Barbiedoll

DevilPlate

Thx for clarifying.

Actually we can also rent out our condo now and retire in JB house. Younger kid doing online homeschooling so no prob. Only prob is older kid in poly now. He prob will have to stay with grandma.
I got it mixed up with buying of HDB flat. Need to dispose overseas properties if buy HDB. haha

How are u going to stay in JB on a long term basis?

Barbiedoll

I got it mixed up with buying of HDB flat. Need to dispose overseas properties if buy HDB. haha

How are u going to stay in JB on a long term basis?
Apply for MM2H Sarawak scheme. Criteria is much simplier. The only problem is I might not pass the medical as have a few chronic problems.

Check out their criteria for above 50 years old. Many of u guys can prob retire in Msia. Only need RM 10k income instead of rm40k for the West Malaysia scheme which they r reviewing now.

revhappy

Apply for MM2H Sarawak scheme. Criteria is much simplier. The only problem is I might not pass the medical as have a few chronic problems.

Check out their criteria for above 50 years old. Many of u guys can prob retire in Msia. Only need RM 10k income instead of rm40k for the West Malaysia scheme which they r reviewing now.
Malaysia is very unpredictable, they suddenly change rules. But maybe that's why Malaysia is cheap. If Malaysia was governed as well as Singapore then prices also will be like Singapore. So I guess we need to decide whether the risk is worth it.

OngHuatHuat

They will revise MM2H rules soon, will make it more lenient. Given the huge increase in rental in sg, I think more people will opt to rent or buy in JB in the near future. Keep my fingers crossed

OngHuatHuat

Malaysia is very unpredictable, they suddenly change rules. But maybe that's why Malaysia is cheap. If Malaysia was governed as well as Singapore then prices also will be like Singapore. So I guess we need to decide whether the risk is worth it.
Malays don’t fry properties like Chinese and they are the majority race in Malaysia. Most of them very low income, like 1000 to 2000 ringgit kind.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.