YTD 2025 Networth tracking thread

Jirachi

Also coupled with their population having little financial knowledge, frequently speculate only so trying to predict the market response is ridiculously hard.
This is so true. Chinese financial literacy is quite bad.

Jirachi

I personally don’t find China attractive as a holiday destination.
Been to Beijing once long time ago…..js to visit the Great Wall

Which cities in particular do u recommend?
I think the best places to go are the historical places and suburban areas. Otherwise, going to Tier 1 cities is going to be like going to Singapore.

DevilPlate

Celebrated it too soon. It's down now
But yr timing quite impeccable leh…..
Sold took 240k profit liao song song gao zoolong

Return abit to market OK lah.

so far only managed to sell my heavy bag XiaoMi whahahaha
Still got 9988 which i has written off from my portfolio whahahaha

DevilPlate

I think the best places to go are the historical places and suburban areas. Otherwise, going to Tier 1 cities is going to be like going to Singapore.
But i have weak stomach…..and i find their food either too salty, too oily or too spicy

Jirachi

But yr timing quite impeccable leh…..
Sold took 240k profit liao song song gao zoolong

Return abit to market OK lah.

so far only managed to sell my heavy bag XiaoMi whahahaha
Still got 9988 which i has written off from my portfolio whahahaha
Not only Xiaomi. A lot of Chinese stocks are heavy bags that only gotten slightly lighter in the past 2 weeks.

hwmook

I personally don’t find China attractive as a holiday destination.
Been to Beijing once long time ago…..js to visit the Great Wall

Which cities in particular do u recommend?

Go for holidays is to explore and enjoy different food and scenery. Shanghai, Beijing, Qingdao all have nice places to explore, I particularly like those old places, buildings which you don't find in Singapore. I also like to try new food, something different from what we have over here. I plan to visit Harbin next month and maybe Chengdu next year.

DevilPlate

Go for holidays is to explore and enjoy different food and scenery. Shanghai, Beijing, Qingdao all have nice places to explore, I particularly like those old places, buildings which you don't find in Singapore. I also like to try new food, something different from what we have over here. I plan to visit Harbin next month and maybe Chengdu next year.
Maybe their food suits yr taste buds.
i generally find their foods taste bad (with reference to those china restuarants sprouting all over SG)….maybe js me.

Jirachi

i generally find their foods taste bad (with reference to those china restuarants sprouting all over SG)….maybe js me.
Food is acceptable to me, but cannot eat often. They can be really oily, salty and really spicy for Sichuan style dishes.

DevilPlate

Food is acceptable to me, but cannot eat often. They can be really oily, salty and really spicy for Sichuan style dishes.
Ya especially i eat mainly plain steam/boil whole food stuff post retirement

So now my taste buds react very strongly to smthing sweet, salty and spicy.

I only enjoy wasabi as much now…..other food flavoring taste yucky to me… i prefer to taste the original natural food by itself with little seasoning

limster

I like fresh salad to substitute for carbs but the only place in Asia I dare to order fresh salad is Japan. I know so many people got food poisoning in certain Asian countries.

I never been to India and not intending to whahah
I've been there once when younger and more adventurous, went for Tiger Safari across a few of their parks. But not my idea of a relaxing holiday. When it comes to Asia, Japan is still my favourite destination (the less crowded areas).

DevilPlate

I like fresh salad to substitute for carbs but the only place in Asia I dare to order fresh salad is Japan. I know so many people got food poisoning in certain Asian countries.

I've been there once when younger and more adventurous, went for Tiger Safari across a few of their parks. But not my idea of a relaxing holiday. When it comes to Asia, Japan is still my favourite destination (the less crowded areas).
Taiwan still my top goto destination ….i know many will say kinda boring hahahha
Their vegetarian food is superb especially if u like veges

Japan, Korea, Oz, NZ are my fav too (all within 8h flight hahaha)
No food poisoning incident occurred to me and my family so far for those places above (y)

highsulphur

Ibkr portfolio ytd twr is just above 16%. Probably less than S&P and not alot over 3 years (since 2022 was a massive drawdown) but happy with the gains.

Jirachi

Ibkr portfolio ytd twr is just above 16%. Probably less than S&P and not alot over 3 years (since 2022 was a massive drawdown) but happy with the gains.
I got some Chinese holdings. Today down from 48% to 41% 🤦‍♂️

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.