Vietnam

Techadd

NTB2DO said:
What so special abt this place? Actually I hv enjoyed my trip to Vietnam and I don't mind going again..

best beaches in vietnam ;)

skilled

somebody has ans your qns..its the best beach in VN..must take plane go..

Inix

jqpooling said:
so shouldnt change money in singapore? change a little of dong? the bulk change in jewelly shops and banks in vietnam?? later attract attaction from strangers.....?
Vietnam is one of the safest place in the world. Even more so for foreigners. The viet cong (did I spell it correct) is more afraid of foreigners getting into trouble then locals....

Inix

skilled said:
actually, personally, i feel changing money is not much of a problem. i changed over 5k there under many people watchful eyes. Never never change in Singapore for VND. For travelling within Vietnam, can try pacific airlines. admin charge of $20 over the counters.
VND is actually controlled currency and its quite difficult, and hence expensive to change directly in Singapore.

I've always changed at the Airport for small amounts. Not much difference...

khee

skilled said:
somebody has ans your qns..its the best beach in VN..must take plane go..
ya.. but bloody 8 hrs bus trip from HCMC... went to Mui Ne during my last trip... it is not as nice as it claim although the sand dune is quite unquie...

Techadd

khee said:
ya.. but bloody 8 hrs bus trip from HCMC... went to Mui Ne during my last trip... it is not as nice as it claim although the sand dune is quite unquie...

yup, its unique alright, closest thing u'll get to feel how its like being in a desert.. oh avoid going there in noon.. the sands so freaking hot.. it could cook an egg and if you placed it there... not joking.. and if u do go there in noon.. avoid wearing sandals unless u feel like some 'toe-tan'... :D :D

Techadd

khee said:

its not as bad it sounds actually, if u go by coach, you'll get an occasional stopover for toilet breaks, buy local snacks.. and you'll get to see beautiful scenaries that any SLR users would love to take a shot at.. :)

khee

Techadd said:
its not as bad it sounds actually, if u go by coach, you'll get an occasional stopover for toilet breaks, buy local snacks.. and you'll get to see beautiful scenaries that any SLR users would love to take a shot at.. :)
The seats are not so comfortable and jam is quite bad when it near HCMC... the toliet break stop is amazing... there is slipper provided and someone to clean the slipper before the next use...

saigonblack

Vietnam is underrated. I prefer Vietnam anytime over bangkok. Cheap and good food, nice beaches and nice people.

Na Trang is good for their beaches. Seperately, visit Danang, Hoi An and My Sno for historical visits to the marble mountain etc. Over at Dananh, I rented a bike with diesel for 1 think $1 for 2 hours :s13: Best still, we rode off just like that and meet him at the same spot we rode off 2 hours later. He did not request any documentations nor deposit. People are nice and warm,. The girls are extremely nice too, most will lite up with they know u r a foreigner and from Singapore :o

lestervan

khee said:
I think u got not good bus already. Normally I go only 3,4 hours. Or maybe the tour u went with is not good at all.

Anyway, agree with you the services in Vietnam are not good at all, especially in provinces or countryside like Mui Ne. But good thing there is scenes there are damn nice.

Its not safest in the world. I dun say its dangerous but better take care, dun take valuable things with you when walking on the street, dun go quiet places @ night. When you are in troubles like being theft, I dun think the local polices can help much. I am Vietnamese but I dun like the polices' procedures there, its damn long to process your case. Haha, but dun be scared lah, just take care and you will have a nice trip.

Btw, I suggest you go by trains. Get a good train since there are many kinds, not big differences in $$ loh. Going by train is safer and faster IMO. Along the way, you can enjoy the scenes also (if you go during the day).

Also beaches are most famous in Vietnam since vietnam got a long long beach lines. So if got time, should go and enjoy the beaches there.

MarcoPolo

Just to share my experience on my solo VN trip during DEC/JAN.
I was quite fortunate to be able to see how they celebrate Xmas and New Year.
9days trip cost be exactly $700 inc airfare via Garuda.
Totally Free and Easy. No reservations. No idea where to go. No idea what to do. Basically no idea where i am going and what i am doing as well.
Only thing i knew was i called Garuda office to book ticket in the morning. Collect ticket in the afternoon and my flight is 3days later.

Shopping bag at the end of trip
1. 2 bag of coffee powder $2
2. 1 Adidas shoe $15
3. 1 Nike sandal with 'MADE IN SINGAPORE' tag $10 (But look exactly like those $100+ in World of Sports)

Day1
Arrive in HCM afternoon. No idea where to head to. No map. Hop on to taxi and said Cheap Hotel. Along the way, realized i have no money. Oh Sh**. Quickly say Money changer. Taxi drove me to Tourist Office and i changed some dongs at pretty good rate. Only to realize the dark sleazy 'dunno sell wat' shop 2 shop down offer better rates. Taxi driver say is robber shop. I will go back to the tourist office cos the girls are so pretty. Wonder if i could ask them out after knock off. Oh yeah. Free MAPs and coffee here too. Some robbers i met later tried to sell me a map for US1.

Came to Bui Vien Street i think. hop off and paid 80K for the taxi. supposed to be 70K but i gave 80K for the extra mile to the money changer. Roam around for a room and came upon a US5 bed. A/C?? US7. So i paid $7 and blast till the next morning. Provide nothing except creaky bed and a small toilet. Not too bad for US7.

Walk around and a motorist said he could bring me around for US2 for 2hrs. I counter 3hrs and he say ok. Basically need someone to warm me up. Nothing interesting in HCMC except the post office looks interesting. The Notre Dam looks so ko ya compared to the one at paris. The habour port looks like our habourfront 10yrs ago. Maybe more. and lots of high rise. Boring... Starting to regret and think how to spend the next 9days. Only thing that keeps me interested is the girls. No wonder so many viet brides nowadays.

Saw a bookshop selling the latest edition of Lonely planets. FOR US3!!! Nicely photocopied and binded. I took a older edition for US1. Decided HCM is a boring place. Look at next chapter of the book. DALAT??? Na Thrang?? Flowers vs Beach. Plants vs Bikinis. I choose Dalat and never regret the choice.

Bought a bus ticket from the bus station. Next morning 6am. Had coffee at 1 of the coffee house and chat up with some local girls. Managed to got the tel no. of 1 of the prettier one. Went back to hostel at around 10pm to get ready for tomorrow trip. For a moment, i tot TV broadcast porn movies. So i tune tune tune. Only to realized the sound i heard from the other rooms around me were live performance. cause i recognize the creaking sound of the beds. very similiar to my own. @*@^^@)(@+_

TBC...

MarcoPolo

Day 2
At 4am, 1/2 the city is already awaken by the park exercising. Grabbed a baguette from a road-side store. Was initially turned off by the handling of the ingredients and a red sauce they put in my bread. But it turned out to be 1 of the most delicious bread i eaten. Way more delicious than any of our delifrance or breadtalk. And it cost less that 50c, I gave 5000dongs and forgot abt the change when i took my 1st bite.

The freaking bus journey took hell long. But it gave me the opportunity to chat up with a local Vietnamese lady who was on the same bus. From hanoi, work in HCM and going to Dalat for a short getaway. Since we are going to the same place. I suggested we travel together. Reach Dalat last afternoon. Hotel is way cheaper than in HCM. For US$5, i get a room with 2 queen size bed with a big bathroom.

I asked for 2 separate rooms since i hardly knew the lady and both to play it safe. Dalat is very cooling and fresh air all around except at the city square where the bikes are. Dalat wine is famous all over vietnam. And yes. Its XMAS. Live performance at the city square at night. Road closure after 7pm. Its a beautiful and warm community. Although the program is comparative to our countdown, the environment, people and noise level makes the difference.

Take a horse-ride with the lady around the dalat lake. Quite a rip off at US$10. But a good experience. Since its xmas, i took the tabs for the whole night's activities. Not a big sum to me, but i think it meant alot to her and most local i believe from the "oh my goodness" look each time a bill is presented. Felt i am having a holiday with my mistress. Wah haa haaa..

Back to hotel room to rest for the night.

Day 3
Asked the reception for a map. And neg from US1 to FOC. Very helpful reception. Pointed to us the places of interest. Basically waterfalls, plantations, gardens and parks. But bad thing is, they are all different direction. North, South, East, West. And each is 1hour from the city centre where we are. Receptionist suggested we rest their bike at US$5/day.

Without think i said yes. Both bad but also excellent choice. The only license I have is 4 wheel. And the only 2 wheel i know is bicycle. Cannot lose face leh. Told the receptionist to give me a 5mins crash course on the switches and paddles. 1st try. Almost fell down. 2nd try. Not as hard as i thought. 3rd try, i am zooming here and there around the hotel.

Now come the excellent part. Up came my lady partner and u imagine the rest. Went to nearby cafe for breakfast. Nice western food for abt 10000. Thats SG$1. There is beef. Pork, Egg and bread. Paid 40000 for 4 breakfast set and 2 coffee. Lady suggested we go to nearby market first to get some lunch. I was HUH???? But just have it her way. 2 big chunk of ham meat, 4 crispy baguette, 1/2 lettuce, some spices and cheese. 15000. I was dumbfounded.

elynny

Wow, marcopolo, ur schedule sounds great...I'm actually heading towards Hanoi early January...will be going there for 9 days...hve no idea what to do, but though or making a triip to Detian Waterfall, China, hve anyone been there b4?

eez_enegue

MarcoPolo said:
Day 2
At 4am, 1/2 the city is already awaken by the park exercising. Grabbed a baguette from a road-side store. Was initially turned off by the handling of the ingredients and a red sauce they put in my bread. But it turned out to be 1 of the most delicious bread i eaten. Way more delicious than any of our delifrance or breadtalk. And it cost less that 50c, I gave 5000dongs and forgot abt the change when i took my 1st bite.

The freaking bus journey took hell long. But it gave me the opportunity to chat up with a local Vietnamese lady who was on the same bus. From hanoi, work in HCM and going to Dalat for a short getaway. Since we are going to the same place. I suggested we travel together. Reach Dalat last afternoon. Hotel is way cheaper than in HCM. For US$5, i get a room with 2 queen size bed with a big bathroom.

I asked for 2 separate rooms since i hardly knew the lady and both to play it safe. Dalat is very cooling and fresh air all around except at the city square where the bikes are. Dalat wine is famous all over vietnam. And yes. Its XMAS. Live performance at the city square at night. Road closure after 7pm. Its a beautiful and warm community. Although the program is comparative to our countdown, the environment, people and noise level makes the difference.

Take a horse-ride with the lady around the dalat lake. Quite a rip off at US$10. But a good experience. Since its xmas, i took the tabs for the whole night's activities. Not a big sum to me, but i think it meant alot to her and most local i believe from the "oh my goodness" look each time a bill is presented. Felt i am having a holiday with my mistress. Wah haa haaa..

Back to hotel room to rest for the night.

Day 3
Asked the reception for a map. And neg from US1 to FOC. Very helpful reception. Pointed to us the places of interest. Basically waterfalls, plantations, gardens and parks. But bad thing is, they are all different direction. North, South, East, West. And each is 1hour from the city centre where we are. Receptionist suggested we rest their bike at US$5/day.

Without think i said yes. Both bad but also excellent choice. The only license I have is 4 wheel. And the only 2 wheel i know is bicycle. Cannot lose face leh. Told the receptionist to give me a 5mins crash course on the switches and paddles. 1st try. Almost fell down. 2nd try. Not as hard as i thought. 3rd try, i am zooming here and there around the hotel.

Now come the excellent part. Up came my lady partner and u imagine the rest. Went to nearby cafe for breakfast. Nice western food for abt 10000. Thats SG$1. There is beef. Pork, Egg and bread. Paid 40000 for 4 breakfast set and 2 coffee. Lady suggested we go to nearby market first to get some lunch. I was HUH???? But just have it her way. 2 big chunk of ham meat, 4 crispy baguette, 1/2 lettuce, some spices and cheese. 15000. I was dumbfounded.
continue leh. .dont stop!!! :o :D

Techadd

glad you are having a good time marco!! :D

be sure to inform your friends when u come back to singapore, vietnam is not as 'bad' as some people make it out to be.. :s8:

saigonblack

Techadd said:
glad you are having a good time marco!! :D

be sure to inform your friends when u come back to singapore, vietnam is not as 'bad' as some people make it out to be.. :s8:

Vietnam is SO good that I have just booked myself a trip there in early Jan. Couldnt resist when I saw the $3 air promo on Jetstar :s13:

Techadd

saigonblack said:
Vietnam is SO good that I have just booked myself a trip there in early Jan. Couldnt resist when I saw the $3 air promo on Jetstar :s13:

make sure u make accomodation arrangements early also.. :s13: :s13:

saigonblack

Techadd said:
make sure u make accomodation arrangements early also.. :s13: :s13:

still deciding where to stay. Anyone have reasonable accomodation not exceeding $60 per nite to recommend? I prefer staying near ben thanh area.

Techadd

Elios Hotel might just fit your bill, new 3 star hotel, walking distance to ben thanh market & backpackers alley

saigonblack

Techadd said:
Elios Hotel might just fit your bill, new 3 star hotel, walking distance to ben thanh market & backpackers alley

Thanks! Let me do a search and take a look. :) My original plan was ti stay at a hotel just across the road from Ben Thanh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.