烟雨濛濛忆江南 - My Hangzhou Trip in May/June 2016

cdrom85

Oh but the Xiamen flight stops over in Fuzhou while Scoot is a direct flight right? The stopover is about an hour.

Steyr69

Day 9 - Weather super Hot...like SG

This is the first time I experienced such a hot day in Hangzhou.
Bad day to travel around.

I havent been drinking enough water in Hangzhou.....partly due to the nice cool rainy weather....so when it gets hot....kind of get sick.

Originally I plan to go for a short 1 day trip to Shanghai.
But I reach the train station late....and the next one starts at 0945 and due to multiple stops, reach Shanghai about 11pm....which kinds of leave me not much time.
I think it is best to reserve 2 days for Shanghai....stay overnight....
But since I already book my room....ah well....
Furthermore....due to the hot weather, wasnt feeling that great. So, I didnt go to SH in the end.

Since I already at the train station....it is 城站 metro.....one stop away from 定安.
Take some pictures for the rest of you guys for reference...for better preparation.
37yf2fe.jpg

It is a pretty busy station and the ah tiongs will be pushing big luggages here n there. A bit like Luohu in Shenzhen.
There is a big escalator...and it will lead you to the Departure Gate.
But you need to get tickets.
Going to Shanghai, there is a HSR 沪杭高铁. There are 2 early trains.
Miss the 0748hrs one....the next one is 0943hrs.....
The left side of the big escalator will be the automated ticket selling machine.
Dun expect friendly officers on hand....none...you are on your own.
Right side is the human counter.
Both sides also need some walking...not very near to the Big escalator.

Seemed like not many queues at both ends.....lol.

This is the automated ticket selling machine....those who frequent Shenzhen to Guangzhou and had taken the HSR....all too familiar.
Unfortunately, there isnt a swiper....so seemed like Sinkie PP cant work....
need to have the ah tiong IC where you put on the scanner then can.
I tried putting my PP on the scanner....nope....no response.
So, have to talk to human counter liao for the tickets.
ierkwpO.jpg

Done.....

Kind of lost on what to do next...so wonder off to find a PC market and a well known clothes market....
But both arent near to metro....after busy for the entire hot afternoon...failed to find both....
Quite an unfruitful day, perhaps.

Steyr69

Day 10 - Raining entire day n cool.

Talking about weird weather....Hangzhou has it all.
I had been hearing locals saying about 湘湖 for some time when taking the metro.
This place wasnt mentioned on my travel guide book...(but it is mentioned in the latest Hangzhou Travel Guide which I get from a 3 star hotel later)
So I didnt know this place exist before coming Hangzhou.

I saw there is a station with the same name as the southern last stop on Line 1.
So decide to go there n look see.
New place.....means a bit of time wasted on recce...
I was close...but as bad luck has it...I exited the wrong exit....and I attempted to walk to 湘湖景区.
After walking for 45 mins...I was block by a massive construction way....totally no way getting across....although I can see 湘湖景区....on the horizon.
Seemed to be many construction around this area.
Well...decide to turn back.....encountered 2 ah tiongs who also ask me whether possible to go 湘湖 via walking.....told them the path in front block by construction.....but they still went ahead.....
Shows that ah tiongs only listen to their own kind.....

On the way back reaching the metro...then I saw a group of ppl on the opposite exit of the metro....going a certain way....crossing over....i saw the interchange...darn....湘湖公交站
Metro Exit B....interchange just near the corner....take 405....
t9n33fx.jpg

I alight at 跨湖桥 stop.....about less than 10 mins from interchange.
This is the stop where many will alight.....hence I just follow.
And they are not going to 湘湖....opposite is this 极地海洋公园 which is extremely popular with the kids.....
I believed every kid in Hangzhou will know this place.....lol.
ticket price not cheap RMB230......wow!
Obviously I didnt go in....hahaha.

First time I see 湘湖...wow....perfect weather.....misty drizzling rain....
This place best describe the title.
vcUQgiT.jpg

This is a must see.....should not miss....go there before this place gets internationally publicized...and trampled by tourists n locals.
(I spotted some locals plucking flowers n pulling up lotus roots.....haiz)
This place still not heavily guarded as Xihu.

I can count with my fingers the total number of ppl inside this area.
All my shots is FREE of human.....!
I got to kick myself my Canon Powershot cam got spoilt.....well....all the images are taken by my hp.....Redmi 1S.....haiz.

r8DmP2X.jpg

Steyr69

lLmIdDU.jpg

Unpon94.jpg

Actually also not that small......I didnt cover the entire lake.

Steyr69

Day 11 - Weather cool

I made another trip to 湘湖 to cover some parts I didnt fully explore.
Being a clear day, there are more visitors.

tFjAM7j.jpg

FX04B6U.jpg

See many couples taking wedding shots....=:p
PRZy9Mr.jpg

Steyr69

i2GX8fU.jpg

Safety issues...so cannot go up the pagoda.
Seemed like they will tear down and rebuilt the pagoda...:(
dN5bJkU.jpg

Day 12 - Raining

Decide to treat myself better with a 3 night stay at a 3 star hotel.
Check into this hotel. Had recce a few hotels around...this one fits my budget.
杭州香溢浣紗賓館
HI226442217.jpg

Steyr69

Very nice room.....looks old but floor was real clean and the mirrors and everything was wiped real clean. There is a safe and fridge....free usage of umbrella.....
O3zpZmj.jpg

After settling down.....went to Xihu again.
I didnt explore this 孤山 which is in 中山公园 last time.

Anyway nothing much also....
QdtyeXc.jpg

Walk around Xihu again to take some pics again...

Very soon....night fall....
Have dinner at this outlet at a food court at 龙翔桥 metro. Price quite good.
Looks like this area is happening place....and there is an Apple store.
UthCjal.jpg

Steyr69

Day 13 - Weather Good

Fire Engine parade....
5xeBhjx.jpg

Went to visit 净慈寺.....main thing see the 南屏晚钟.

Had been hearing this song since young....so must at least go see in person.
Too bad need to pay RMB10 as entrance fee....and to gong the bell...need to pay...it is by per gong....didnt gong...
1qmn3Gd.jpg

Nothing much in this temple.....

Proceed to 六和塔....
Unfortunately, as expected, also need entrance fee....like RMB30...
Find not really worth it...so didnt went in.
yITNTs5.jpg

Steyr69

Walk walk nearby and went in this 月轮山 scenic area.
Not too bad....but didnt went too deep in....guess tired with all the walking.
tMs4Osc.jpg

Came out and walk along 之江路.
I saw this 白塔公园 that day when walking along Qiantang Jiang.

Great thing....free entry.:s13:
It's a Saturday...so quite a lot of ppl.

The defunct railway station reminds me of our Tanjong Pagar Railway Station.
CEHcuyk.jpg

AG9lZZR.jpg

Steyr69

This is the White Pagoda. 白塔.
Seemed like got some history....if interested there is a small museum there.
Repair works going on the original pagoda...so can only see the replica in the museum.
QFyYQA5.jpg

Enquire from the guard about 八卦田 since from the map looks nearby.
He was honest to tell me it is the approx direction but not sure how long it will take by walking coz he never went there before....

I tried walking but the sun came out and it become hot....
I was close (I found out later)....so took my lunch and went back hotel.

Night time decide go Xihu to see how it looks at night.
Probably not a good idea becoz really crowded since Saturday night.
PVpdMke.jpg

Steyr69

Day 14 - Hot day

This is my last full touring day....
After checking the map and everything....bus routes....
I went back 白塔公园 again.

Maybe Im lucky...with the help of some big promo posters...managed to locate the place.
wqe8C6E.jpg

Steyr69

Basically, just a crop plantations in the Eight Trigrams.
Hard to see from the planar pictures.
There is a 玉皇山 which can go up and should be able to get a good aerial view.
Unfortunately, there is a RMB30 entrance fee.....no point going in....
So just walk around n take some pics.

There is this round stone chart which is interesting....in a different way.
I was trying to take a pic and got this small gal suddenly barge in and start to do some "ballet". She seemed to like it alot.....she just wont leave.
So, I went some other areas n when I came back, she was just going to leave with her mum.
Ok, took the chance to take a pic....
As I walked off....I saw her pulling her mum back to the stone chart.....yelling she wants to urinate......on the stone chart!!!
Her mum told her she is not suppose to do that.....but the girl "sai nai"....
And her mum actually proceed to pull down her pants.......:eek:
Of course I just walk away.
This is terrible.....there is a toilet just nearby.....and yet....even then she can do it at nearby bushes.....why must do it on a historical stone chart?
Well, this is ah tiong for you.
QzHx1t2.jpg

With nothing much, I leave the place....there is a porcelain centre nearby.....nothing much....mostly sell very atas bathtubs.

It is quite a hot day...so went back hotel.

Evening went to 龙翔桥 metro the foodcourt to have my dinner....Sunday and the Q quite long.
rbf3Ngn.jpg

Steyr69

Day 15 - Hot Day

Finally my last day......I guess it is about time to leave.
Pack my luggage and laze around until check out time.
I took a peek at one of the drawer and it appears they also have a rechargeable torchlight....nice touch...great for hiking.
I like the LED table lamp.....and the black high back chair....enjoy typing on my laptop when sitting there.
View from my window wasnt that great and it faced some apartments...but the horizon view at the back was nice.
87KGPBV.jpg

Check out and deposit my luggage at recep.....went to have lunch n walk walk to Xihu.....extremely hot day.....and quite a number of tourists too.
Even went to the Apple store.....didnt take any pics though.

With nothing much, I collect back my luggage n proceed to Airport.

I was early....flight was 2245hrs.....haha....
So walk around and bought some food stuffs.
Departure Hall seats full so I went down to Arrival Hall to rest.
96kVilq.jpg

Anyway, just want to hilight not to put any powerbank inside your check-in luggage.
I check in my luggage and proceed to have a bite at McD....
Then proceed to go inside Departure RZ.....I was refused entry when the officer scan my boarding pass.
Say I need to do safety clearance on my check in luggage.
Went there and my luggage was on the counter.....identify myself and the officer told me to remove the powerbank from my check in luggage.
Have to carry on board. Strange, I was probably lucky becoz I also have a tablet n mini laptop in the luggage as well.....but they didnt ask me to hand carry.....hahaha.
Finally able to go in....and the security check was stringent.
Must declare all HP and powerbank.....coins, metallic stuffs, lighters (definitely thrown away).
The officer at the back took a look at the rating on my powerbank. 12k...pass.

Finally enter RZ....nothing much here.....my flight was delayed slightly.
Only took off 1115hrs......many ah tiongs going SG.
Reach Changi about 0430hrs......
Waited a bit for the train to start at 0530hrs and home sweet home!

Steyr69

Here is the booklet n map I get from the Sunny Huansha Hotel lobby area.
Probably good enough info to get you started if you land at Hangzhou.
31yEmiV.jpg

(Let me know if you need a clearer picture for the 5 star tour agencies)

Finally here are some interesting pictures I taken.
JYkdVij.jpg

Left pic : Took me a while to figure it is saying the metro is 150m from your back...
Right pic : Charging station....very common since bikes are running electric. No fuming exhaust....n less noisy...except the horning sound.

FvKM3xG.jpg

All public buses are running electric....even more satki than Sinkie land.
China preparing for G20 summit.....wonder what will happen when this thing ends....:s22:

Steyr69

Last pic....

Every designated bus stop will have this....I guess it makes things a little bit more easier....when you can find the destination you are going to....that is.

CXLmJAC.jpg

Conclusion

I finally came to the end of my 15 day report in Hangzhou.
Thanks for all the patience in reading through.
I must say I really enjoy my time in Hangzhou....strangely somehow....I tend to remember n cherish the initial few days where i made so many mistakes.
I guess thats what makes travelling memorable.

Having been to Shenzhen and Guangzhou, I must say Hangzhou is way way better in terms of better air quality n cleanliness (might be due to G20, Im not sure).

I hope this thread will help newbies who are planning trip to Hangzhou.
I try to be detail n concise as possible.
Do feel free to post comments or any queries you might have, I will try to answer to the best of my knowledge....afterall it is my first time in Hangzhou.

Thanks and adios! Now Im planning which city in China to go next......
China is getting so interesting.

cdrom85

Thanks again for sharing bro. I'm half hoping it wont be too hot or too wet when we get there in about a week's time.

durachip

Thanks for the narrative of your trip to Hangzhou. It will certainly help me as I am planning to visit Hangzhou, Huangshan, Wuzhen, and probably a day trip to 绍兴 to visit 沈园 and 鲁迅 Memorial Hall.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.