SQ Redemption Devaluation

dahnoob

Hi Dahnoob,

Is it possible to add free stopover on return ticket redeem star alliance ?

f. One complimentary en route stopover is permitted for round-trip awards, unless otherwise stated below. Up to three additional stopovers are also permitted at USD100 each, regardless of class of service.

g. Complimentary stopovers are not permitted in a purely domestic itinerary , or within the country of departure in an international itinerary.

h. Complimentary stopovers are not permitted if an itinerary contains only European cities, or is between the United States, Canada, Puerto Rico or U.S. Virgin Islands.

i. Complimentary stopovers are not permitted for one-way awards.

https://www.singaporeair.com/en_UK/ppsclub_krisflyer/termsconditions-kf/

RT yes, OW no.

fone

f. One complimentary en route stopover is permitted for round-trip awards, unless otherwise stated below. Up to three additional stopovers are also permitted at USD100 each, regardless of class of service.

g. Complimentary stopovers are not permitted in a purely domestic itinerary , or within the country of departure in an international itinerary.

h. Complimentary stopovers are not permitted if an itinerary contains only European cities, or is between the United States, Canada, Puerto Rico or U.S. Virgin Islands.

i. Complimentary stopovers are not permitted for one-way awards.

https://www.singaporeair.com/en_UK/ppsclub_krisflyer/termsconditions-kf/

RT yes, OW no.

This is for *A award of KF award? I was reading the bottom of *A award chart, it says for stopover, each sector counted individually. So instead for SIN - NRT (stopover) - LAX, you pay for SIN - NRT + NRT - LAX, instead of just the SIN - LAX mileage.

bladez87

Not too sure about linking blogs, but yes that is the line of thinking, with a bit of tweaking. I just bought 800k Avios for 5.6k usd, which further gives another 150k UR+MR points for minimum spend across various US cards. What a steal :s12::s12::s12:

I disagree. The source of obtaining your miles doesn't matter, unless you do not have any other credit card spending and solely rely on buying miles at 2.5% fees. If I follow your line of reasoning, I can buy miles for 0.625 cents a piece, which makes every single redemption viable because 0.625 is less than 2. Clearly not the case.

In one of my examples few pages back, SIN-TPE Y is actually cheaper after 23Mar if each KF mile is valued at 2cents. It really depends on YQ of individual routes.

OMG how did you buy 800k avios? the author of the blog mentioned that the addons dont get miles and if using multiple accounts to trf into 1 avios account might get flagged.

bladez87

Just got off a call with a KF agent, and here's what I found out.

1. Date change. If the change only involves a change of date, there will be no further charges/recalculations for as long as the ticket is valid (1 year from issuance). If there is a date change after 1 year from issuance date, it has to be re-issued. In this case, the ticket will follow the new TNCs, any YQ paid will be refunded, and you are required to top up any miles difference.

2. Flight change. If there is a change in flight, but to the same destination and in the same cabin, point 1 applies. If there is a change in destination or cabin class, and you request it after 23Mar, new TNCs apply.

3. Upgrade. For upgrades on a paid ticket, any upgrades after 23Mar will not have the 15% discount, and nothing is refunded. For 'upgrades' on a redemption ticket, you are required to top up the miles difference, and any YQ paid will be refunded to you.

So nope, you cannot pre-book travel more than 1 year ahead and hope to change the date after the desired dates are open for booking. You can however speculate travel plans within 1 year, issue the ticket and make free date changes using old TNCs anytime.
Hi guys

this is my first time redeeming miles from SQ. i just joined the game 1 year ago and did my first trf from dbs to SQ 1 week before this announcement.
so please kindly guide me along for my 1st and probably only chance to redeem a biz class for my honeymoon. thanks

from your post, i understand that we can choose any dates now that are not on waitlist to get the tickets issued, which has a validity for 1 year starting from the date of issue. then subsequently, if we need to change the departure date, we can do so without any additional cost right?

i was hoping to use the biz class to japan for my honeymoon later this year, but with this new announcement and my unfamiliarity to how this redemption and changing of departure dates work, i was thinking maybe i should bring my honeymoon forward, to before the ROM. haha, like pre wedding honeymoon.

so what i have to do is redeem the biz saver award to tokyo on a non waitlist date, get SQ to issue the ticket. then subsequently request to change the departure and return dates to the preferred dates right?
However I only have 144k miles, so once SQ issues the tickets @ 140k, I will not have enough miles to join the waitlist for the preferred dates. Is that a limitation for me?
I have 144k miles in my account, and 64k miles in my gf account. so my intention is to book 2 econ tickets to tokyo using her krisflyer, and 2 biz tickets back to sg using mine.

thanks for your help guys. really appreciate if anyone can provide some guidance.

i was thinking if i shld biz class to tokyo or taiwan, but it seems the bros here have calculated that this change is beneficial for taiwan trip.

Spk307

so what i have to do is redeem the biz saver award to tokyo on a non waitlist date, get SQ to issue the ticket. then subsequently request to change the departure and return dates to the preferred dates right?
However I only have 144k miles, so once SQ issues the tickets @ 140k, I will not have enough miles to join the waitlist for the preferred dates. Is that a limitation for me?

Yes, you can get it ticketed now to avoid further miles requirement. No extra miles will be required in the future for date changes.

However, you may find it difficult to change dates in the future - if you cannot find a saver award now, how do you expect to find one later? all awards upto 1st March 2018 should be available now.

And yes, you are right that you cannot waitlist after ticketing now as you wont have enough miles.

rVn_mUfC

Hi guys

this is my first time redeeming miles from SQ. i just joined the game 1 year ago and did my first trf from dbs to SQ 1 week before this announcement.
so please kindly guide me along for my 1st and probably only chance to redeem a biz class for my honeymoon. thanks

from your post, i understand that we can choose any dates now that are not on waitlist to get the tickets issued, which has a validity for 1 year starting from the date of issue. then subsequently, if we need to change the departure date, we can do so without any additional cost right?

i was hoping to use the biz class to japan for my honeymoon later this year, but with this new announcement and my unfamiliarity to how this redemption and changing of departure dates work, i was thinking maybe i should bring my honeymoon forward, to before the ROM. haha, like pre wedding honeymoon.

thanks for your help guys. really appreciate if anyone can provide some guidance.

i was thinking if i shld biz class to tokyo or taiwan, but it seems the bros here have calculated that this change is beneficial for taiwan trip.

Change is better for Taipei, Shanghai and Beijing due to high carrier surcharge and also not much changes in miles needed.

Seoul wasn't better off as the miles increase is just too much. HK and japan are worse off since they don't have carrier surcharge.

U should do all your waitlist first before redeeming a confirmed ticket. You can waitlist as much as you want as long as there's miles in your account. Once it's cleared, call krisflyer to get your date change.

bladez87

ooo. so waitlist the dates before i get the tickets issued.

edit
PS, in my gan chiong, i didnt realized that i selected ticket for 2 pax hence the miles requirement doubled.
i will be sticking to 2 return biz class to Tokyo. phew
possible to have open jaw tickets redemption made in 1 txn?
how to include stop over for redemption of return tickets?
was thinking maybe fly to tokyo, return from osaka. thanks

dahnoob

This is for *A award of KF award? I was reading the bottom of *A award chart, it says for stopover, each sector counted individually. So instead for SIN - NRT (stopover) - LAX, you pay for SIN - NRT + NRT - LAX, instead of just the SIN - LAX mileage.

SA award. KF award has no such restrictions, you can have stopovers on any ticket, with the exception to OW saver where you will be charged USD100.

OMG how did you buy 800k avios? the author of the blog mentioned that the addons dont get miles and if using multiple accounts to trf into 1 avios account might get flagged.

Family accounts :)

Hi guys

I have 144k miles in my account, and 64k miles in my gf account. so my intention is to book 2 econ tickets to tokyo using her krisflyer, and 2 biz tickets back to sg using mine.

1. If your honeymoon is scheduled for later part of this year, what's stopping you from confirming the dates and ticket the correct flight? It's better than ticketing a dummy date and hoping for a date change thereafter. This change only affects those whose travel is beyond 13 Mar 18.

2. Given that it's Japan you're talking about, the availability is not that restricted. I've just briefly searched up flights for Aug, and most of the days there are J saver available for immediate confirmation, both to NRT and HND.

3. J saver prices at 68k each, so 144k is sufficient.

4. Japan has indeed taken quite a hit due to zone 7 adjustment, but if you're issuing the ticket before 23 Mar (I assume you do, since you're asking about possible date changes after issuance), you are not affected. It's still 136k KF + $315 in YQ+taxes for 2. If you're only issuing the ticket after 23Mar, it may be less 'worth it', but it's still not horrible.

ooo. so waitlist the dates before i get the tickets issued.

edit
PS, in my gan chiong, i didnt realized that i selected ticket for 2 pax hence the miles requirement doubled.
i will be sticking to 2 return biz class to Tokyo. phew
possible to have open jaw tickets redemption made in 1 txn?
how to include stop over for redemption of return tickets?
was thinking maybe fly to tokyo, return from osaka. thanks

KF prices RT award the same as 2 OW, so you don't need an open jaw ticket. You can issue SIN-NRT/HND as 1 ticket, and KIX-SIN as another. Stopover does not apply to you as well.

bladez87

SA award. KF award has no such restrictions, you can have stopovers on any ticket, with the exception to OW saver where you will be charged USD100.

Family accounts :)

1. If your honeymoon is scheduled for later part of this year, what's stopping you from confirming the dates and ticket the correct flight? It's better than ticketing a dummy date and hoping for a date change thereafter. This change only affects those whose travel is beyond 13 Mar 18.

2. Given that it's Japan you're talking about, the availability is not that restricted. I've just briefly searched up flights for Aug, and most of the days there are J saver available for immediate confirmation, both to NRT and HND.

3. J saver prices at 68k each, so 144k is sufficient.

4. Japan has indeed taken quite a hit due to zone 7 adjustment, but if you're issuing the ticket before 23 Mar (I assume you do, since you're asking about possible date changes after issuance), you are not affected. It's still 136k KF + $315 in YQ+taxes for 2. If you're only issuing the ticket after 23Mar, it may be less 'worth it', but it's still not horrible.

KF prices RT award the same as 2 OW, so you don't need an open jaw ticket. You can issue SIN-NRT/HND as 1 ticket, and KIX-SIN as another. Stopover does not apply to you as well.
so for the open jaw i have to make 2 separate bookings right?
thanks bro!
5.6k USD for 800k miles is a lot of value.
thats like 7.5k SGD for 800k miles 1 shot. and i think 800k miles can take a few times FC so it is quite worth it.

Sinkie

So now it is a devaluation. If we consider a 10k mile increase, is it still at 2c a mile now?

dahnoob

so for the open jaw i have to make 2 separate bookings right?
thanks bro!
5.6k USD for 800k miles is a lot of value.
thats like 7.5k SGD for 800k miles 1 shot. and i think 800k miles can take a few times FC so it is quite worth it.

2 separate OW does not require calling KF. This is important because prior to 23 Mar you still can get 15% online discount. Complicated tickets can only be booked by an agent, meaning you lose the discount.

I'm still shuttling between the States and back for the upcoming year, so I could definitely use some CX F @ 320k avios + 300sgd when I can't get SQ25 F. In terms of cash 'price' it's around 2.5k usd, which is more than acceptable for a F product.

bladez87

2 separate OW does not require calling KF. This is important because prior to 23 Mar you still can get 15% online discount. Complicated tickets can only be booked by an agent, meaning you lose the discount.

I'm still shuttling between the States and back for the upcoming year, so I could definitely use some CX F @ 320k avios + 300sgd when I can't get SQ25 F. In terms of cash 'price' it's around 2.5k usd, which is more than acceptable for a F product.
where to read up on all this F or seat grades? thanks
I have no idea what this F class is, but I am guessing it is for First class.

chopra

Dahnoob can share whats e conversion from avios to cx? 1:1? Tks for e lobang.

dahnoob

where to read up on all this F or seat grades? thanks
I have no idea what this F class is, but I am guessing it is for First class.

F is first, J is business and Y is economy. These are commonly used terms, of course there's R for suites etc.

Dahnoob can share whats e conversion from avios to cx? 1:1? Tks for e lobang.

There's no conversion. BA is in Oneworld, just like CX. You can redeem CX flights directly on BA website using Avios. This is only good for CX flights in general, because most other Oneworld carriers charge YQ.

For CX flights, the good routes are US and HK bound, because most other destinations (Asia, Europe, A&NZ) have direct flights served by SQ. It makes 0 sense to do SIN-HKG-SYD, for example. For US flights, since most flights require a connection (I'm aware of SQ32 SIN-SFO direct, but that is only 1 flight), having the connection at HKG is not that bad. The alternative possibility is BKK, as it is the only other destination CX flies out of SIN to.

I have done SIN-BKK-HKG, with BKK as a stopover, essentially paying same number of miles (slightly higher taxes) to visit 2 destinations. The other way SIN-HKG-BKK also works.

elnewbie

To clarify, my company uses CX for all business trips so all my asiamiles were accumulated via actual "ass-in-seat". And I fly on business usually at last min notice so very hard for me to plan for vacations.

For all credit card spending, I've only transferred to SQ.

That sounds like poor planning. You had 3 years to use your miles and you left it until the last minute? thats not even considering the 2 or more years your points sit in your credit card rewards program.
And you booked economy that gives the poorest value. And never got priority passes that are easy to get nowadays.
If I had made all these mistakes I'll blame myself.

louist

Oh! Can I confirm - no additional miles required to add the HKG or BKK stopover?

(If that's the case, since SIN-BKK costs less miles than SIN-HKG, doesn't it make more sense to add HKG as a stopover? Though maybe the taxes are higher.)

I have done SIN-BKK-HKG, with BKK as a stopover, essentially paying same number of miles (slightly higher taxes) to visit 2 destinations. The other way SIN-HKG-BKK also works.

dahnoob

Oh! Can I confirm - no additional miles required to add the HKG or BKK stopover?

(If that's the case, since SIN-BKK costs less miles than SIN-HKG, doesn't it make more sense to add HKG as a stopover? Though maybe the taxes are higher.)

Yes, you save 10k in Y and 20k in J. I did the other way round because I was en-route to the States on SQ2, and had to visit my friend in Bangkok back then. Hence I decided to start SQ2 at HKG, since SIN-BKK-SIN-HKG-SFO sounded pretty dumb, so did SIN-HKG-BKK-HKG-SFO. This was however done using AM instead of Avios, you gotta call BA up to see if they could ticket such an itinerary. Even AM can't issue the ticket online, you gotta call their agent as well.

To clarify, my company uses CX for all business trips

Does your company have some special fares with CX :p I actually dislike flying on CX for any route other than HK/USA because of the connection. Unless I want to include HKG as a stopover, I would usually find a direct flight.

laurent_rio

is it true for star alliance award with stopover ,kf will count miles per sector ? i dont see this clausul in star alliance award chart leh ? dahnoob can clarify ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.