Official Diablo 3 Thread

eminus

522737_2924023498918_1210773413_43797747_1877700008_n.jpg

got mine :) hehehehe

pixma618

If you want to check your ping to the US servers, the closest estimate you can get is probably 12.129.193.250. Would be nice if several people could try it and let us know their ping, isp, connection type (cable, fibre) and home environment (wired lan, wireless).

I'm getting around 185-188 with M1 cable on a wired lan.

how to check

pixma618

If you want to check your ping to the US servers, the closest estimate you can get is probably 12.129.193.250. Would be nice if several people could try it and let us know their ping, isp, connection type (cable, fibre) and home environment (wired lan, wireless).

182-184 with starhub fiber, but on usb wireless adaptor

hansen6

178-179ms, on starhub (fibre) max infinity home premium, wired connection.

is this going to be the diablo 3 ping? i get around 150-200 in WoW also, after swapping to fibre. better than 350+ on cable

VampyMage

178-179ms, on starhub (fibre) max infinity home premium, wired connection.

is this going to be the diablo 3 ping? i get around 150-200 in WoW also, after swapping to fibre. better than 350+ on cable

Would it lag badly for 150-200ms in WoW?

VampyMage

not really, feels pretty good. But of course i've never had 50ms on WoW so i can't compare. In fact it was playable at 350-500 also, just not good for PVP.

if thats the case I believe 180+ms should be playable for D3 as well if it's the US server. Unless there are SEA servers which I doubt will be.

Gr3yham3

i was getting ard 200-220ms for d3 beta.. my connection is starhub maxonline express..

edit: just to tell bros who dont know this: combat in d3 is handled client side, which means that even when latency is high, there is no lag in hitting monsters... e delay comes when there are items to pick up, chests to open etc..

VampyMage

i was getting ard 200-220ms for d3 beta.. my connection is starhub maxonline express..

edit: just to tell bros who dont know this: combat in d3 is handled client side, which means that even when latency is high, there is no lag in hitting monsters... e delay comes when there are items to pick up, chests to open etc..

As long as hitting mobs no delay = shiok! If not hit every mob then wait 5-10secs for it to die will be very pek cek :s8: Item and chest all that delay abit should be ok ba since now is individual drops right?

arcana75

Scientific studies have shown that the average human feedback-response time is ~200ms. Meaning for someone to notice REAL delay, the latency has to be around ~200ms or more. This applies to anything, not just online gaming.

Otherwise the "lag" is imaginary and psychological.

2ms latency is amazing tho. Does this suggest the server is in Taiwan?

VampyMage

Scientific studies have shown that the average human feedback-response time is ~200ms. Meaning for someone to notice REAL delay, the latency has to be around ~200ms or more. This applies to anything, not just online gaming.

Otherwise the "lag" is imaginary and psychological.

2ms latency is amazing tho. Does this suggest the server is in Taiwan?

Wow looks like you've done lots of homework eh arcana :s13: By the looks of it, seems like hte server resides in Taiwan :s11:

di_andrei

Arcana, human response time being limited doesn't mean lag is irrelevant, think about it. If your ping is 0 and you react in 200ms, your input to something on the screen gets to the server in 200ms. If your ping is 200ms, your reaction to an in game action is 600ms (200ms from the server to you, 200ms for you to react, 200ms from you to the server). Ping is not a big deal for wow, but anyone who has played a competitive FPS online can tell you that there is a MASSIVE difference between 10ms ping and 200ms ping.

The IP address mentioned above is the closest estimate you can get for the ping to the current beta servers (in California). The live servers might be based somewhere else in the US - Blizzard has capacity in several US data centres. Any location other than California will result in higher pings for SEA users, but the difference should be relatively small.

Oh, and 3-5ms ping from Taiwan to California is impossible, it would break the laws of physics.

arcana75

I did a traceroute, seems like the IP is in California leh... how can someone in Taipei get a ping of 2ms?!

arcana75

Arcana, human response time being limited doesn't mean lag is irrelevant, think about it. If your ping is 0 and you react in 200ms, your input to something on the screen gets to the server in 200ms. If your ping is 200ms, your reaction to an in game action is 600ms (200ms from the server to you, 200ms for you to react, 200ms from you to the server). Ping is not a big deal for wow, but anyone who has played a competitive FPS online can tell you that there is a MASSIVE difference between 10ms ping and 200ms ping.

The IP address mentioned above is the closest estimate you can get for the ping to the current beta servers (in California). The live servers might be based somewhere else in the US - Blizzard has capacity in several US data centres. Any location other than California will result in higher pings for SEA users, but the difference should be relatively small.

Oh, and 3-5ms ping from Taiwan to California is impossible, it would break the laws of physics.

andrei I din say lag is not important la... anyway I was trying to be brief dun wan to type too chim, so mixed alot of words together into a short summary. I was trying to say that for online gaming lag to matter, the online latency should be around 200ms for gamers to feel real lag.

In other words if a gamer has 50ms packet latency and shouts LAG LAG LAG, it's most likely imaginary.

To detail what I mean, the real speed of human body sensory function, eg the speed electrical pulses run through our body, got medical name I dunno what liao, is on average about 50 METRES PER SECOND, and the speed reduces based on age, nerve damage, etc. 50 metres per second is roughly 40ms for a signal to travel say from the hands to the brain (2 metres). This is a one-way trip, so from brain back to hand is 80ms. This is pure transfer, not accounting for age, nerve damage, health, brain function etc. I think is called nerve conductivity or something.

So add here add there, some scientists come out with a figure that for a human to notice a delay in something, ie from no delay to have delay, the delay is around 200ms for the human to say "hey got delay leh".

I suppose some very free people did some tests to prove this ba... I read only I am not a scientist :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.