info for beginners

WindBoi

Not sure if the lao jiaos here have mentioned, but IPO are usually benefit the people IPOing and the directors and owners listing the company. It is the way of getting money out of their hard work.

Now if you were them would you IPO at a cheap price?

What does that mean as an investor? It is likely that majority of them will be overpriced.

Sinkie

Not sure if the lao jiaos here have mentioned, but IPO are usually benefit the people IPOing and the directors and owners listing the company. It is the way of getting money out of their hard work.

Now if you were them would you IPO at a cheap price?

What does that mean as an investor? It is likely that majority of them will be overpriced.

Not necessary and largely depends on what company and who is listing.

yihao93

Ya. Listed oredi.

You really have alot to learn.....:s22:

The prospectus is like a marketing tool to attract investors to buy the company stocks. Machiam shouting "Lelong Lelong!!!!!Come and look ah!!!!!" at pasar malam market.

Dun waste your time looking at past prospectuses. :D

Stay tuned for future IPOs. Hearsay MapleTree going to IPO a China REIT next year. :eek:

慢慢来啦大哥

=10 char

Sinkie

慢慢来啦大哥

=10 char

For beginners to sgx investment, for a start or first stage of learning, research the following;

-What are the various sectors or industry?
-What are the listed stocks in each sectors?
-From the listed stocks, identify the bluechips that are in each sectors?
-Identify and split the other listed stocks that have daily liquidity and without liquidity into 2 groups
-now you have these 2 groups of stocks, identify which board are they listed on, mainboard or catalist,
-then read about their fundemental, their owner, their track record, their nationality, where most of their business are located
-use yahoo or google or sgx announcement read their historical news and how it influence the price.

by then you should be familiarised with a handful of companies and also the interface of sgx.com.

at this stage, off the hand you must be able to identify and name some of the listed company when discussing with your friend, you should be able to travel around singapore and see some of these listed companies business everywhere like for example, you should be able to identify comfortdelgo taxi, sbs buses, smrt mrt, dbs atm, uob bank, plaza sing shopping center in reits, your telco bill etc

once you have these informations, you will proceed to the 2nd stage of learning, that will be to go into the market and start to test water but before you go into the market. knows what is the
1) operating hours of various global markets especially singapore market.
2) the different order types that you can use to send in orders
3) understand what does bid/ask price means, what do open, day high, day low, and close price means
4) understand about market depth and how it influence the bid/ask spread you see.
5) learn about times&sales, trade summary
6) learn basic charting to time entry and exit.
7) learn how to navigate your broker platform interface
8) understand what is t+5, how to make payment, how to read your cdp statement etc
9) choose a company from your own virgin research and buy small small to have a feel of owning a listed company and monitor it, losing money or making a profit from it is not the primary motive at this stage now.
10) by now you should be very motivated to wake up early to see the market, read about other companies news and start reading the business time and money section :D

3rd stage of learning will be more abit advanced which will require alot of intensive reading. you need to learn how other global or local news will affect a stock market etc singapore market, and each of their sector and industry. know who is the big brothers, how these big brother fiscal or monetary policy will affect the global fund movement across all different asset classes, and how these asset classes will in turn affect each global market and how asset classes movement will in turn affect each market sectors/industry and its companies etc

4rd stage of learning will be to understand and appreciate the conspiracy theory and the dark side of the market but this is not applicable to everyone :s7:

it is an ongoing and lifelong process lah.

i always tell my virgin newbies clients, you spend 6 years in primary school to prepare for your secondary school education, after which you spend 4 years in your secondary school to prepare for 3 years poly or 2 years in jc to prepare for 3 years of university (total of more of than 10 years of learning) before you really step out to the working world to earn your first month salary.

so dont expect to just pick up a couple of book, invest for a few weeks and then start to believe you can become the next warren buffett or george soros and start making a living out of it.

enjoy your journey :o

Genesisz

For beginners to sgx investment, for a start or first stage of learning, research the following;

-What are the various sectors or industry?
-What are the listed stocks in each sectors?
-From the listed stocks, identify the bluechips that are in each sectors?
-Identify and split the other listed stocks that have daily liquidity and without liquidity into 2 groups
-now you have these 2 groups of stocks, identify which board are they listed on, mainboard or catalist,
-then read about their fundemental, their owner, their track record, their nationality, where most of their business are located
-use yahoo or google or sgx announcement read their historical news and how it influence the price.

by then you should be familiarised with a handful of companies and also the interface of sgx.com.

at this stage, off the hand you must be able to identify and name some of the listed company when discussing with your friend, you should be able to travel around singapore and see some of these listed companies business everywhere like for example, you should be able to identify comfortdelgo taxi, sbs buses, smrt mrt, dbs atm, uob bank, plaza sing shopping center in reits, your telco bill etc

once you have these informations, you will proceed to the 2nd stage of learning, that will be to go into the market and start to test water but before you go into the market. knows what is the
1) operating hours of various global markets especially singapore market.
2) the different order types that you can use to send in orders
3) understand what does bid/ask price means, what do open, day high, day low, and close price means
4) understand about market depth and how it influence the bid/ask spread you see.
5) learn about times&sales, trade summary
6) learn basic charting to time entry and exit.
7) learn how to navigate your broker platform interface
8) understand what is t+5, how to make payment, how to read your cdp statement etc
9) choose a company from your own virgin research and buy small small to have a feel of owning a listed company and monitor it, losing money or making a profit from it is not the primary motive at this stage now.
10) by now you should be very motivated to wake up early to see the market, read about other companies news and start reading the business time and money section :D

3rd stage of learning will be more abit advanced which will require alot of intensive reading. you need to learn how other global or local news will affect a stock market etc singapore market, and each of their sector and industry. know who is the big brothers, how these big brother fiscal or monetary policy will affect the global fund movement across all different asset classes, and how these asset classes will in turn affect each global market and how asset classes movement will in turn affect each market sectors/industry and its companies etc

4rd stage of learning will be to understand and appreciate the conspiracy theory and the dark side of the market but this is not applicable to everyone :s7:

it is an ongoing and lifelong process lah.

i always tell my virgin newbies clients, you spend 6 years in primary school to prepare for your secondary school education, after which you spend 4 years in your secondary school to prepare for 3 years poly or 2 years in jc to prepare for 3 years of university (total of more of than 10 years of learning) before you really step out to the working world to earn your first month salary.

so dont expect to just pick up a couple of book, invest for a few weeks and then start to believe you can become the next warren buffett or george soros and start making a living out of it.

enjoy your journey :o

Thanks for sharing.

musicwhiz55

The prospectus is like a marketing tool to attract investors to buy the company stocks. Machiam shouting "Lelong Lelong!!!!!Come and look ah!!!!!" at pasar malam market.

Dun waste your time looking at past prospectuses. :D

Stay tuned for future IPOs. Hearsay MapleTree going to IPO a China REIT next year. :eek:

On the contrary, a prospectus reveals a wealth of information about a Company, as it would contain not just historical financial statements pre-IPO, but also a laundry list of industry characteristics and risk factors which an investor can use for research.

Remember that purchasing an IPO is not different from purchasing shares in any listed company - shares merely represent part ownership of a company. The difference is the VALUATION - what is encompassed in the IPO price would probably capture all known factors about the Company including its perceived future growth. Investment bankers have good reason to price the IPO expensively so as to raise the maximum amount of money for their client; which is why there are so few IPOs during bear markets.

IPOs are a subtle indicator of the bullishness of the market. In 2006 and prior to the 2007-peak, IPOs were being churned out so quick you could not even utter "IPO". Most if not all were severely over-priced, and many were low quality businesses which made use of a bull market as a listing vehicle.

Incidentally, a prospectus can be lodged but the IPO may still not go through, which means you may find a prospectus with the MAS but the company may not proceed with the IPO. This has happened a few times before to my knowledge - M&L Hospitality Trust pulled its IPO at the last minute and so did M+W Zander a few years ago. If a listing has taken place the status of the prospectus will change to "registered".

Regards.

yihao93

hi guys , just like to say that i have read your replies and i have learnt a lot. thanks!

yihao93

just a very quick update... have been saving up.. its a slow process and i have undeniably missed out on some things in life because of that, have no idea whether it is good or not.

and have attempted to follow sinkie's list
am not so glad to say i only have a fundamental knowledge of investing
-sigh-

i hope all have been well and rolling in money !

regards,
yihao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.