How to Open a Stock Trading account in Singapore-Updated 2015

Sinkie

I already got cdp account holding stocks purchased via SGX. Need to do anything else in order to trade in catalist?

:s11:

catalist and mainboard are the same leh.. it is like in the mrt, there are reserved seat, there are normal seat leh, got pay money can sit down any seat

Sinkie

whats a recommended brokerage for non SG/PRs to open trading account with? preferably with less buy/sell limit restriction. currently with KE and its so restrictive (successfully applied ipo but have to inform broker everyday to increase sell limit inorder to sell off allotment)

for non SG/PRs, go scb or remiser

tiny

catalist and mainboard are the same leh.. it is like in the mrt, there are reserved seat, there are normal seat leh, got pay money can sit down any seat

So I just use my existing Brokerage platform to trade as per normal? Brokerage fee and clearing fee is same hor? :)

Sinkie

So I just use my existing Brokerage platform to trade as per normal? Brokerage fee and clearing fee is same hor? :)

same, buy as per normal..

What is the difference between catalist and sgx?

sgx is a company that 'host' the stock market, then there are 2 seperate boards on it too, catalist and mainboard,

companies can choose to list on either the catalist or mainboard, catalist has more relaxed requirement compared to mainboard.

in term of buying or selling, there is no difference lah.

http://www.hlf.com.sg/download/corp_fin_listing.pdf

lovelybaby

how u did that?
I fill up the form from dbsvickers,print it out, signed and bring to posb bank at the front desk for them to counter check everything if its completed and they will sign and submit the application for me.

But im still waiting for the letter.. no response no call yet..

Sinkie

I fill up the form from dbsvickers,print it out, signed and bring to posb bank at the front desk for them to counter check everything if its completed and they will sign and submit the application for me.

But im still waiting for the letter.. no response no call yet..

Oklah, they will just be delivering the forms for u

twister0

Hello just to check

I already have a cdp account opened at sgx service centre.

Now if I want to open a trading account with dbs for example, do I just go to the dbs Vickers website and download all the forms, complete and sign it, verify it with the bank and send it to dbsvickers. Or I can just go down to dbsvickers branch to do all of the above. Am I right?

Thanks in advance.

Sinkie

Hello just to check

I already have a cdp account opened at sgx service centre.

Now if I want to open a trading account with dbs for example, do I just go to the dbs Vickers website and download all the forms, complete and sign it, verify it with the bank and send it to dbsvickers. Or I can just go down to dbsvickers branch to do all of the above. Am I right?

Thanks in advance.

Go down to the dbsv branch directly to do everything lor

Easier ahh..

DrSheldonCooper

Hi guys thinking of opening a trading account. Which company is the best? I know Phillips (POEMS) is quite popular.

Btw I'm a fresh grad, 25 this year. Hoping to learn some trading in terms of both forex and shares. Would be great if anyone can point me to some good resources as well. Will be meeting a friend in a couple of days to learn a bit about forex.

Thanks!

EvAEstique

just wondering bro Sinkie,

1. Any good books to recommend to learn about investing?

2. Is there any good place to get info/research about companies so that we can select our stocks?

Thanks!

Sinkie

just wondering bro Sinkie,

1. Any good books to recommend to learn about investing?

2. Is there any good place to get info/research about companies so that we can select our stocks?

Thanks!

1. http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/stocks-shares-indices-92/books-newbies-read-up-4318003.html

2. For Announcement
Company Disclosure & Information | SGX

For company information

SwNpw5e.png

type the reuters code of the company on top right corner :D

Singapore Telecommunications Ltd (STEL.SI) Quote| Reuters.com

or else you can usually find fundemental information of the companies from your brokerage account

:s12::s12:

Sinkie

Hi guys thinking of opening a trading account. Which company is the best? I know Phillips (POEMS) is quite popular.

Btw I'm a fresh grad, 25 this year. Hoping to learn some trading in terms of both forex and shares. Would be great if anyone can point me to some good resources as well. Will be meeting a friend in a couple of days to learn a bit about forex.

Thanks!

forex and shares are 2 different type of play

Sinkie

This changes has been postponed le and so it's not applicable till further notice

viQPRsl.png

due to the new change above, all member companies will not have access to your cdp number and account informations anymore. (client IC, mailing address and CDP account)

when u walk in to any brokerage account to open a trading account, please remember to bring your CDP statement along now !

impact:
1) Brokerage house no longer has access to CDP system
2) CDP linkage may be rejected if the information on the cdp linkage form differe from CDP record

To expedite account opening processing, wed 12/8/2013, client now has to bring/attach his CDP statement, only the top part of the CDP statement which shows name, mailing address and CDP account number will do.

NINJA91

viQPRsl.png

due to the new change above, all member companies will not have access to your cdp number and account informations anymore. (client IC, mailing address and CDP account)

when u walk in to any brokerage account to open a trading account, please remember to bring your CDP statement along now !

impact:
1) Brokerage house no longer has access to CDP system
2) CDP linkage may be rejected if the information on the cdp linkage form differe from CDP record

To expedite account opening processing, wed 12/8/2013, client now has to bring/attach his CDP statement, only the top part of the CDP statement which shows name, mailing address and CDP account number will do.

sinkie i dont quite get it.. last time i open my dbs vicker and cdp tgt at dbs vicker...do i have to do anything now? i very lost seeing this lol

Sinkie

sinkie i dont quite get it.. last time i open my dbs vicker and cdp tgt at dbs vicker...do i have to do anything now? i very lost seeing this lol

You do not need to do anything now unless you want to
1) update cdp particular
2) apply/reset for cdp pin
3) open new trading account + linked it to cdp account

You will now need to "attach" a copy of your cdp letter that shows your "name, cdp number, mailing address" to perform the above activities le

These are not applicable to those with no cdp or want to open a new cdp.

Because in order to link your cdp account to your brokerage account, all the details must be correct like name, signature n address etc, (last time brokerage can still see these details for you to fill up these information for u, but now cdp is going to "shift" the responsbilities to investor) and so if any part of the information is wrong, it will be rejected which will result in alot of time wastage to resubmit again

NINJA91

You do not need to do anything now unless you want to
1) update cdp particular
2) apply/reset for cdp pin
3) open new trading account + linked it to cdp account

You will now need to "attach" a copy of your cdp letter that shows your "name, cdp number, mailing address" to perform the above activities le

These are not applicable to those with no cdp or want to open a new cdp.

Because in order to link your cdp account to your brokerage account, all the details must be correct like name, signature n address etc, (last time brokerage can still see these details for you to fill up these information for u, but now cdp is going to "shift" the responsbilities to investor) and so if any part of the information is wrong, it will be rejected which will result in alot of time wastage to resubmit again

oh thx for the clarification..i see u post that i kena stun..thought got new thing will affect me...

harky

one person can open how many broker account from diff company?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.