The new Frank Card by OCBC... any good?

OCBC Bank

What's up with all these free for life thing? Is there something I don't know?? The annual fee for this card cannot be waived??

Hi Kcusts, the perpetual lifetime waiver is a branch exclusive promotion strictly for new principal applications of OCBC Core Cards – FRANK Credit Card, OCBC Titanium, OCBC Platinum, OCBC Cashflo and OCBC Arts Card – from the period 20 July to 31 December 2013. This does not apply for roadshows – but fret not, there will be other equally if not more attractive promotions up for grabs!

^Gin
For OCBC Bank

arctician

Hi Kcusts, the perpetual lifetime waiver is a branch exclusive promotion strictly for new principal applications of OCBC Core Cards – FRANK Credit Card, OCBC Titanium, OCBC Platinum, OCBC Cashflo and OCBC Arts Card – from the period 20 July to 31 December 2013. This does not apply for roadshows – but fret not, there will be other equally if not more attractive promotions up for grabs!

^Gin
For OCBC Bank

Hi you have yet to answer my question..can we request for waiver of annual fees for frank cc? I am serious in asking this

iCube00

Hi OCBC Team, i didnt know abt the lifetime waiver, else i would have applied at the branch instead of online. kindly advice! its not fair to the rest of us who don't get it waived off for life.. :( information asymmetry issue here

*Extract from the email*
Dear Mr xxx

We are sorry that you did not manage to speak with our customer service
executives as we are currently experiencing high call volume.

Please be assured that we have forwarded your feedback to relevant
department for their attention and future enhancement where possible.

Lifetime Annual Fee Waiver promotion

We advise that the promotion period is from 20 July to 31 December 2013.

This is applicable for:

* OCBC Titanium, FRANK credit card, CashFlo MasterCard, Platinum
and Arts Platinum MasterCard
* New application sign-ups at any OCBC branches
* Only applies to principal card holder
* Applicant who cancelled an existing card within the last 6
months prior to this promotion and re-applies for it will not be
eligible for this promotion

As your FRANK credit card applied via Internet, it is not eligible for
lifetime waiver.

We seek your understanding on this matter.

Yours sincerely

xxx xxx xxx
Customer Service Executive
Contact Centre
OCBC Bank

The_Davis

So I just send a ibanking secure mail to request for lifetime waiver?

yashirob

Hi there. We will arrange for our officer to call and assist you. Thank you.

^Eric
For OCBC Bank

hi, i think the frank auto activated nets pay is a very gd trick for making people make their first transaction haha. ingenious and creative indeed. i also kena.

would like to know, are there any charges for my frank card automatically topping up this 50 bucks?

can this 50 bucks be used as cashcard in my car for erp?

this 50 bucks will be charges to be my next bill right?

if i wan to get this 50 bucks out of the card without spending, how do i go abt doing so.

pls advise. Thank you. :s13:

NsR

Hi OCBC, I applied for Frank Card on 19/11 and sent my docs to your email. So far only one guy called and verify my docs after that no one or yet to recieve my card. Pls advise what i should do.

arctician

Hi OCBC Team, i didnt know abt the lifetime waiver, else i would have applied at the branch instead of online. kindly advice! its not fair to the rest of us who don't get it waived off for life.. :( information asymmetry issue here

*Extract from the email*
Dear Mr xxx

We are sorry that you did not manage to speak with our customer service
executives as we are currently experiencing high call volume.

Please be assured that we have forwarded your feedback to relevant
department for their attention and future enhancement where possible.

Lifetime Annual Fee Waiver promotion

We advise that the promotion period is from 20 July to 31 December 2013.

This is applicable for:

* OCBC Titanium, FRANK credit card, CashFlo MasterCard, Platinum
and Arts Platinum MasterCard
* New application sign-ups at any OCBC branches
* Only applies to principal card holder
* Applicant who cancelled an existing card within the last 6
months prior to this promotion and re-applies for it will not be
eligible for this promotion

As your FRANK credit card applied via Internet, it is not eligible for
lifetime waiver.

We seek your understanding on this matter.

Yours sincerely

xxx xxx xxx
Customer Service Executive
Contact Centre
OCBC Bank

I see double standards here, why cards applied online are not eligible for lifetime waiver? Its time consuming for us to call in every year to request for waiver, which will be given eventually anyway. Every bank do a waiver of annual fees nowadays so OCBC should apply common standard and provide lifetime annual fee waiver regardless of the channels used in applying.

lyndonmaxewell

I see double standards here, why cards applied online are not eligible for lifetime waiver? Its time consuming for us to call in every year to request for waiver, which will be given eventually anyway. Every bank do a waiver of annual fees nowadays so OCBC should apply common standard and provide lifetime annual fee waiver regardless of the channels used in applying.

Its to compensate the effort for the person walking into the branch mah. (maybe?)

Its like comparing those who bothered to call in to ask for waiver annually versus those who pay annual fees without calling in. Why should those who don't take effort to call in be waived annual fees?

Kcusts

^Gin
For OCBC Bank

Thank you for your reply. I am asking this because I seriously don't know what the big deal is? People can KPKB about the flashpay and things like that but annual fee?!?! Maybe it's their first CC or something. :s22::s22:

arctician

Thank you for your reply. I am asking this because I seriously don't know what the big deal is? People can KPKB about the flashpay and things like that but annual fee?!?! Maybe it's their first CC or something. :s22::s22:

For your info frank credit card annual fee CANNOT be waived, different from other cc. Otherwise I wouldn't spend time commenting on this.

socketer

For your info frank credit card annual fee CANNOT be waived, different from other cc. Otherwise I wouldn't spend time commenting on this.

Piang eh cannot be waived?!?!

Reading the thread on how to get perpetual free waiver now

ChaOrEn

I applied it in early August 2013 through the branch, so I don't understand why if its my turn in August 2014, it can not be waived?

itedino

must spend 200 online to get 7% cos I spend 150 on KFC and MAC Delivery. Hence, banned them to my cold palace.

itedino

I applied it in early August 2013 through the branch, so I don't understand why if its my turn in August 2014, it can not be waived?

I got a instalment in place for 1 year. I Supported them. dun tell me they will charge me.

arctician

I got a instalment in place for 1 year. I Supported them. dun tell me they will charge me.

I also applied in aug then cancel wrongly..in the end i requested to reinstate e card and they told me annual fee cannot be waived due to the 6% cashback it provides

zachary123

quote OCBC website,

"S$32.10 (2 years waived for Principal and Supplementary Cards). A minimum of S$6,000 annual Visa spend is required for subsequent annual fee waiver."

Most people should get perceptual waiver anyway since they would spend $500 a month on the card to get the 6% cashback

wts2013

quote OCBC website,

"S$32.10 (2 years waived for Principal and Supplementary Cards). A minimum of S$6,000 annual Visa spend is required for subsequent annual fee waiver."

Most people should get perceptual waiver anyway since they would spend $500 a month on the card to get the 6% cashback

Good point, so I shld get perpetual waiver as I charge 1k per mth for CPF, hurray!

wts2013

Ocbc should explain why those that applied online is not eligible for lifetime waiver. Furthermore, it helps to reduce crowding at your ocbc branches. It is really double standard!

Agree, talking about cost cutting or cost saving initiatives from the bank's perspective, why aren't the bank rewarding customers who apply online, but instead rewarding customers who apply at the branch? Dun make sense!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.